Blog-tember: Day 3 – When I Grow Up

Day 3-GrowUp

Day 3 of Blog-tember.

Hello ladies! [Wow, you guys are a creative bunch! So much inspiration in all of your blogs (and Pinterest links!) Thank you all xxx]

Right…the challenge for today:

“When I grow up I want to be….” Feel free to answer as your 5-year-old self or as of now.

I had to have a little chuckle at this one!

When I was 5, I wanted to be a vet.

When I was 10, I wanted to be 12.

When I was 12, I wanted to be a teenager.

When I was 13, I wanted to be able to drive.

When I was 18, I *desperately* wanted to go to University.

When I was 22, I wanted to do my Ph.D.

When I was 26, I wanted to have children.

When I was 30, I wanted to have children.

When I was 34, I wanted another child.

When I was 39, I wanted another life, for a while.

Now I’m 40, I’m happy being me.

Now, when I think of growing up, I want to be:

– a Mama who always, but always, listens to her children, so they’ll continue to want to talk to me as they grow older

– a woman who’s made peace with herself and the world and who’s known for her kindness and compassion

– a woman who ages gracefully, proud of her every interaction and achievement and who can safely say she has no regrets

– a woman who manages to do everything she wants to do in her life (because life is so very very short and there’s precious little time!)

– a woman who grabs life by the balls and wrings every last drop of joy – of life – from it

– me! The real, messy, mistake-making, honest, vulnerable, beautiful, amazing me. 

As Dr. Seuss says, “There isn’t anyone who’s you-er than you!”

And as my Dad used to say, “Go forth and conquer”.

9 thoughts on “Blog-tember: Day 3 – When I Grow Up

  1. Dr. Seuss really was so wise. I love these ideas, considering you said you found this post trickier I think you nailed it!

    Like

  2. “A woman who’s made peace with herself”. I always try to remember that whenever I’m a bit of down in the dumps. Thank you for your kind words. Your post never fails me. ❤

    Like

  3. Lizelle says:

    I love your goals lady! It fascinates me how our goals change and manage to narrow but generalise all at the same time as we grow…if that makes any since lol I too want many of those things.

    Like

  4. Mandie says:

    Yes! Dr. Seuss always has a great word 🙂

    Like

  5. This is AWESOME!! I love that you love who you are right now! And those red shoes remind me of ruby red slippers.. there’s no place like home!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Jamie – I’m having to take photos of things we have round the house and my daughter’s red shoes just jumped out at me because, yes, there’s no place like home…thanks for your comment xx

      Like

  6. Lacey says:

    Awesome! I love that you shared your frames of mind from various stages of life! How true, from your post I can conclude what we all really want to be when we grow up is happy! Thanks for the great post!

    Like

  7. chelslamb says:

    I love the way you write things and your general perspective on things! My favourite blogtember blogger so far 🙂 thank you for sharing these things with us

    Chels
    xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

