Blog-tember: Day 7 – Reading

Day7-reading

Hia, day 7!

Today’s challenge:

What’s on your current reading list? Or what have you read that you recommend?

I’m an avid reader, always with several books on the go. Thankfully friends from home have been sending me care packages (books, lots of books, and mint chocolate Aeros and Earl Grey tea), so my reading obsession is in fully fuelled mode.

I’m such an avid reader, we’re such avid readers, I’ve broken it down in to categories (all very organised!):

Physical books for pleasure:

– Anna Karenina, Tolstoy. The thinking woman’s soap opera. Can see why it’s called the perfect novel.

Stoner by John Williams. Flawless. Knocked my socks right off and kept me up all night last night (it’s blinding in its beautiful simplicity).

Ingenious Pain, Andrew Miller. So deliciously, delicately, perfect!

Physical books for work:

The happiness of pursuit, Chris Guillebeau. Great concept.

The law of divine compensation, Marianne Williamson. She is a hero. And I don’t use that word lightly.

One simple act, Debbie Macomber. Beautiful, beautiful, book about discovering the power of generosity.

– The gift of thanks, Margaret Visser. Immaculately researched.

Internets for pleasure:

brainpickings – delightful articles by Maria Popova. Another hero and, again, I don’t use that word lightly.

Does an audio book count?

I know why the caged bird sings, Maya Angelou. The mother of all my heroes. Read by Dr. Angelou herself. My, what wings she gives me.

Bedtime books for the littles:

One fish two fish. Oh, Dr. Seuss. The belly laughs you provoke!

The Little Prince, Saint Exupery.  Read, to me, chapter by chapter, by my eight year old. It takes on a whole new meaning when it’s read to me in the sweetest little voice I ever did hear.

And, last but certainly not – as the saying goes – least:

The Bible. I very recently had my first very powerful ‘encounter’ with God and am starting to dip in to the Bible [I’m a deeply spiritual person and was a non believer until recently]. I’ve found great solace in some of the Psalms.

Rumi’s poems. My, the man was a Genius – with a capital G. [And I certainly don’t use that word lightly ;)]

Can’t wait to see what all you Blog-tember girls are reading!

8 thoughts on “Blog-tember: Day 7 – Reading

  1. Jeanie T says:

    nice! where would you suggest for audio books?
    I always try to keep my eyes open and that totally wreck my sleeping pattern.. slipping into sleep with a story doesn’t sound bad at all!

    Like

    • Helen says:

      Hia, I got the Maya Angelou one from Audible (it was free): I haven’t purchased any myself, but Audible have a really good collection (I will be buying the Maya Angelou one when I can – I feel bad about not having paid for it!)

      Like

  2. I love the little prince book. I think that is the first book I owned when I was a kid. 🙂

    Like

  3. Lizelle says:

    The Psalms are my favourite I wont lie. The beauty and poetry of the Bible never ceases to amaze me! Love it! Great about your encounter with God!
    Yay mint oreos, we don’t have them here so rarely i can find someone coming here on vacation and might be able to score some. They are so good!

    Like

  4. Lizelle says:

    P.S. you were saying you wanted to find a way to follow my blog in a comment you left this week, I forgot which but I wanted to mention, you can always follow me via bloglovin’ via https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/4041750 That’s actually how I followed you via https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/12812169 Do you use bloglovin’? It’s pretty easy and I kind of love it for following blogs, especially when they’re on different platforms from me. Ah bloglovin’ bringing us all together *cue piano advertising music*

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia, I’m a total techie-phobic and have heard of bloglovin but haven’t set it up. Have it in my ‘to do’ diary…thanks for the recommendation! [that piano advertising music sounded good ;)].

      Like

  5. I love that there are so many books on your currently reading list! I could definitely stand to add a few more to mine, I made a resolution to read 25 books this year… so far I’m only at 12. I’ll get there one day! Thanks for sharing Helen!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      12 is better than none! (I have to read a lot for my work and I’ll let you in to a little secret – most of the ones for work, I don’t actually read all of them a lot of the time!) Thanks for your comment xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

