Blog-tember: Day 8 – Music

Day8-Music

Day 8, here we are!

The challenge for today:

Music that moves you.

There’s a few pieces of music I can’t listen to without the tears flowing freely: Louis Armstrong’s It’s a Wonderful World; Miles Davis’ Some Day My Prince Will Come (kinda ironic, that one!); Christina Aguilera’s Beautiful, Black Eyed Peas Where is the Love?, Alicia Keys & Jay-Z  Empire State of Mind, Michael Jackson’s Earth Song (it actually hurts me somewhere inside when I see that stretch of forest being cut down at the start of the video), anything by Chet Baker, The Carpenters or Don McLean (and more, many more).

And then there’s those songs that just make me smile, or even laugh out loud: Rick Astley’s Never Gonna Give You Up (I’ve never stopped being ribbed, by my best friends from school, about liking this one and every time I hear it, I crumple in hysterics and have to do the ‘Astley’ dance in our honour!), Pharrell’s Happy (I can’t hear it without remembering my two beauties dancing like crazy happy things, laughing their heads off), Nirvana Smells like teen spirit (I’m 20 again, beautiful and free!), Beyonce’s All the Single Ladies (one can but dream! OMG, oh to have even 1/20th of that woman’s swagger!), Robbie Williams doing the Jungle Book song…and many, many more.

And my ‘every day’ music? Jazz, mainly: Chet, Bill Evans, Billie Holiday, Ella, Count Basie, anything easy on the ear with lots of layers to keep my interest but not such noisy layers that I get distracted. A bit of classical: Bartok, Gershwin (I am an ignoramus – what a cool word! – when it comes to classical music).

Love that my son has now discovered the joys of music and is madly Spotifying his world. I feel simultaneously proud he’s developing his own – very eclectic! – tastes and scared because I seem to be getting old! I live with the next generation and it’s scary! I don’t understand their culture! Help me, someone, help me!

Imagine for a moment, if you will, the following scene, playing out on an otherwise serene Tuesday afternoon…

The dance he’s been learning at school is for Pitbull’s Timber. Homework assignment: watch Timber on youtube and practice the moves. OK. Seems easy enough. Bear in mind, at this point, I don’t know who Pitbull is (though my mother’s instinct, which I chose to ignore, automatically put me on alert mode from the name). We sit down to watch it. OK. Going well. All going well. “OMG? OMG?? WTF is this?” I – silently – scream out loud – in my head – whilst trying to appear calm and collected on the outside…”big-boobied girls in a strip club, gyrating in ass-cheek revealing shorts with those big Hoochie mommas spilling out all over the place?”…me, still trying to remain calm and collected…”OK, show me the moves” (trying to steer him away from the screen)…”but, Mama”, he says, “I’m enjoying it” (Bet you are, matey, bet you are!)….

Let’s just say that we’ve downloaded Pitbull’s Timber on Spotify now and he practices from that nowadays. And Pitbull, mate: sorry I judged you, for your name, you’re one cool dude (do people even say that anymore?!) and I love your songs but – please – you seem to be a fairly modern guy – what is it with the semi-naked women (they’re in every video of yours – I had to check!)? You seem to have enough innate talent – and influence – that you don’t need to use naked women as a prop to sell your songs and I’m sure you’re way big enough now not to have to listen to company execs when they tell you you should do that. Respect to the ladies, man, respect to the ladies, please…..not every girl in show business is – or could be – Beyonce, who shakes it all about from a position of power, but that doesn’t mean you have to take advantage of them and their lack of power…

3 thoughts on “Blog-tember: Day 8 – Music

  1. Liane says:

    I love so many of the songs that you’ve listed here! Beautiful by Christina is such a lovely song 🙂

    Like

  2. Kristy Lynn says:

    I love getting Rick Roll’d 🙂 Everyone thinks I’m weird for liking that song. And I’m so glad to see someone who enjoys jazz! Anytime I hear jazz or see any familiar artists, it brings a smile to my face because it is my Dad’s favorite music.

    Like

  3. Leslie says:

    I’ve never used Spotify, my boyfriend likes it though. I agree with you, there is no need for a half naked chick in every video. I do love that song though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

