Blog-tember: Day 10 – Self love!

Day10-SelfLove

LOVE the prompt today (can’t wait to read everyone’s responses!):

List 10 things that you love about yourself! Let’s kick that negative self-talk outta here!

1. My history. It’s made me who I am.

2. My future. It looks rosy. Mighty fine.

3. My bum – it’s peachy! And still looks good in jeans. Hell yeah! [It may fall down that little bit further than it used to, minus the jeans, but I’m happy with that]

4. The little (well, quite large, actually) flap of flab that hangs down from my arms – my son calls it his special cushion and even if I had a personal trainer a la Gwyneth Paltrow, I’d specifically ask him never to take that special cushion away.

5. My smile. It’s radiant and magic: it makes people feel good about themselves.

6. My outlook on life. I’m my own personal cheerleader.

7. My lips. They look good in red lipstick. Equally good au naturelle.

8. My whole body, really: it’s held me up through thick and thin; hardly ever failed me; borne – and nourished – two healthy, wonderful, children and housed a third (God rest her little soul).

9. My mind. (Should have been first)…it’s crazy fast, crazy talented and makes me proud.

10. My ability to run 10K, pushing through being literally about to die of exhaustion to the other side of that exhaustion, to the sheer joy of achievement.

Can I have an eleventh?

My nails. They let me have a flash of happy colour, every day, right where I can see it. Like little hummingbirds darting in front of me as I type. Happiness guaranteed.

12 thoughts on “Blog-tember: Day 10 – Self love!

  1. 10k? Wow!!! That’s a pretty sweet accomplishment. Good on you. I could never do that. Maybe I’ll try someday. And yes, I love my bum too. I should put that down. lol I love all your answers. Self Love ❤

    Like

  2. Tamzin says:

    Good for you that’s a lovely ten oops sorry eleven! Definitely a post we all need to think about and remind ourselves daily x

    Like

  3. Rachel G says:

    I absolutely love the tone in which you wrote this post. Your confidence is inspiring. And….you make me want to paint my nails. I don’t own any nail polish right now, which is quite unusual for me…

    Like

    • Helen says:

      Thank you! (I started buying nail polish as a mini act of rebellion and because I *needed* a treat sometimes and it was the cheapest ‘just for me, pick-me-up’ treat I could find!!!

      Like

  4. Zoe says:

    Love this! I am so quick to criticize my body, but you’re right, it has done some awesome things!

    Like

  5. Lizelle says:

    Now you’ve made me wonder what your radiant smile looks like lol
    Who doesn’t like having a nice rump? You go girl!

    Like

  6. Liane says:

    I love your list! Your outlook on life makes me smile every time I read one of your posts 🙂

    Well done on running 10K.. I couldn’t even imagine doing that!

    Like

  7. Leah Mancl says:

    This list really made me so happy. It is so evident that you really, honestly love yourself. It’s such a good example to set for your children! They are so lucky.

    Like

  8. Jill says:

    Love this! I just finished my second official 5k but my guy and I are thinking we can move on to 10k’s now. And nail polish is my fave! I love the pop of color too!

    Like

  9. You inspire me every single day! I love the honesty in this list, and the obvious love you have for yourself. If we don’t love ourselves how can others love us? You are awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

