Blog-tember: Day 14 – Blogging

Day14-Blogging

Our 14th day of daily blogging for Blog-tember and today’s prompt is:

When did you start blogging and why?

I started blogging back in April 2011, via another WordPress blog (now defunct), because I’m a scrapbooker: I blogged my pages, my Project Life spreads and craft-related things. I loved it, but it fizzled out because of the ‘problems’.

I re-started blogging on September 1st 2014, a few hours after I’d seen – on Pinterest, I think – Bailey Jane’s Blog-tember prompts.

It started as a whim – I knew I wanted to start blogging again [I had a vague idea for where to take the blog based on the ‘I Will Bloom’ idea] and wanted to get in to the habit of blogging regularly, so I thought ‘Just go for it’ and went for it, very much in the spirit of “Jump and your wings will appear”. I definitely felt a calling from deep within to follow my heart and just start. Seeing the Blog-tember piccie on Pinterest was very fortuitous (does everything happen for a reason!?!).

I didn’t really have a clear plan in mind, other than a challenge to myself to complete each and every prompt. Then I found out that I like writing for this blog and that it’s actually helping me work-wise (I write and edit for a living): my writing, in general, has improved, I think because I’m ‘warming up’ with these blog posts and so can get straight to the heart of things work-wise much quicker and easier. I’ve found everything flows a lot easier ‘at work’ when I’ve invested time in writing a blog post (I’ve been scheduling about a week in advance).

I have also found that I LOVE blogging! Love the wonderful, wonderful, ladies I’ve met (you know who you are!), love the sense of community. Have read some blog posts that have blown me away, read many many more that have made me pause and think deep and hard, and have seen such wonderful ideas being ‘put out there’: Kimberley you know who you are and your idea is FAB! I’m definitely in! I’m humbled before you all, ladies: you are so talented and passionate and honest and thoughtful and and and….

So, I had an hour on Tuesday morning whilst I waited for my daughter to finish nursery and I sat and brainstormed and came up with some cunning plans for how to make this blogging lark work for me. I’ve more or less got a framework in place and some blog series ideas, with blog post ideas within those. Hopefully, come October, I’ll be ready and raring to go.

Just need to find a WordPress theme I’m happy with because this one is BUGGING me BIG TIME! (Photos in a grid showing title/a little bit of text on the first page – any suggestions anyone?)….

7 thoughts on “Blog-tember: Day 14 – Blogging

  1. Reta Jayne says:

    For the record, I DO believe that everything happens for a reason — even if we cannot see the reason in the present moment. . . & I am so very glad you chose to just dive in & follow your heart. . . That is something I am working on. . . I tend to procrastinate until I have every. little. detail. nailed down. Yet, there are times I should just follow my heart & throw caution to the wind, so to speak. You’re an inspiration! I cannot wait to see what else you have in store for us!

    Like

  2. Danielle says:

    I’m so glad you decided to start blogging again. You are so inspiring and I fell in love with your writing since day one of blogtember. I’ll be your forever follower ❤ And I'm sorry, I can't help with your wordpress theme. I'm not good with designs either. I asked my friend to layout my blog for me. lol. If you want help, I can totally ask her. Just let me know 🙂

    Like

  3. Julie says:

    I LOVE scrapbooking too! I have gotten so behind on it though. I have the first few months of when my daughter was born but I don’t have anything after that….and she’s a year and a half now. LOL! I’ve been thinking about showing some of my pages on my blog but I haven’t yet

    Like

  4. So happy to have found your blog through Blogtember! I love scrapbooking and have just starting experimenting with Project Life. I Will Bloom is a great name for a blog, can’t wait to see where you take it!

    Like

  5. Lizelle says:

    I can’t wait to see what you do with your blogpress theme in the future and I’m rather excited for your mini series to come! (sorry i haven’t answered your nomination questions yet I’m fighting to keep up with blogtemper! haha) I’m so impressed with all of you who can write all these post for a week and schedule them! Sometimes i can draft but i’m so influenced by whats around me during the week that when time to post comes around i feel like i neeeeed to edit before i post

    I really really have enjoyed having you commenting on my posts Helen and hope you will join bloglovin soon so i can keep up with all the new blogsposts you’re diggin’ cause from my experience you get into some awesome stuff.

    Loved your post since the very beginning and i’mma keep on following as long as you are blogging cause i love what you put in and i love what you put out!
    🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hey you! Thank you for your comment! Yeah, I’m going to set up bloglovin soon – promise! I have a crazy schedule but I’m going to schedule it in my diary now so I DO IT! (If I don’t schedule it in my diary, it don’t get done, simple as that!)….am also soooo pleased we’ve ‘met’ like this online – I love how very thoughtful and introspective and self-aware and intelligent you are AND that it shines out through your writing! I always think of that Roald Dahl quote when I’m on your blog: “If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely” 🙂

      Like

  6. msgiddens says:

    I love that the blog-tember challenge got you back into blogging! I’m glad that you’re blogging and doing what you enjoy again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

