Blog-tember: Day 21- Fall Favourites

Day 21 of Blog-tember and today’s prompt is a lovely one:

Fall Favorites. What do you love most about this season?

I’ve lived through one Autumn in the last nine years and that’s a shame, because I love Autumn. It’s my absolutely most favourite season. It’s a crying shame there’s no Autumn in the tropics.

I remember when I first left my home country, everyone asked me what I’d miss. Given that I was going to miss everything and everyone, and that question was guaranteed to blow my mind (although not, unfortunately, change my mind), I’d answer ‘Autumn’, flippantly. Except it wasn’t so flippant. Because Autumn, for me, encapsulates so many memories, so many fond memories, of everything that is ‘home’ for me.

Autumn1

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

Foggy mornings. Lights shining hopefully through foggy evenings. Dew on spiders webs in the mornings. Conkers, shiny plump autumnal-coloured tactile conkers. Rain on window panes. The sound of rain on window panes. Leaves tossed and then wrinkled on pavements slicked with rain. Low-in-the-sky sunsets around 4pm. Cosy comfort food: baked potatoes, beans and fried egg on top, macaroni cheese, all eaten with gay abandon, and reckless disregard for one’s figure, because Winter’s almost here and Summer’s months away yet. A myriad of rainbow colours – Emily Dickinson calls Autumn ‘the second Spring where every leaf is a flower’ – leaves carpeting everything with a riotous colour so joyous and miraculous it makes your heart sing. Fireworks. Sparklers. Bonfire toffee. Mushy peas with mint sauce. The cold that reaches but doesn’t pierce through your skin. The beginning of the time of year when you see your breath when you breathe out. The feel of the rain on your face as you run through it, desperate to get home, to somewhere warm with a hot drink and a good book. Watching everyone else doing the same, a smile on your face as you imagine everyone settling in to their own version of comfort, sheltered from the weather. Watching the turn of the leaves, feeling time pass, heeding Nature’s call to take action, to beat time as well as you’re able.

Autumn. I miss you. I pine for you. I cry for you.

I hope, I really hope, to see and to experience you next year.

God – the Universe – willing.

7 thoughts on “Blog-tember: Day 21- Fall Favourites

  1. Julie says:

    My husband and I have been thinking about moving somewhere warmer but I think I would miss the seasons too much. I’m not much of a cold weather person but I think it would be weird without cold weather/snow on Christmas. And I would definitely miss Fall. It’s one of my favorites. I love seeing the colors change on all of the trees

    Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    I gotta keep you in my prayers lady!
    You raise some good points, I hope to experience it someday.

    Like

  3. Liane says:

    If it’s at all possible you have just made me even more eager for Autumn! Although I think it arrived today. The weather just couldn’t make up it’s mind. One minute it was cloudy & grey and then we’d be back to bright blue skies for 30 minutes.. Then the grey again. Reading this just made me want to snuggle up with a blanket and a hot chocolate 🙂

    Like

  4. -Bess- says:

    Lovely words that should be in the dictionary under “autumn pleasure.” I hope in at least some small way you experience a pinch of fall where you are… & then maybe one day in full force back where your memories are sweet. There’s hope in Jesus {We can do all things through Christ who strengthens us. -Philippians 4:13}.
    Blessings,
    -Bess-

    Like

  5. Danielle says:

    You described fall so lovely. I think I just fell in love with it. I might have been overlooking on the fact that it’s cold that’s why I don’t really like it much. Praying you get to experience fall again soon! xx

    Like

  6. Your writing is like reading poetry about fall. I could imagine it all. I really hope you get to experience fall or at least find a good book and tea and feeling cozy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

