Blog-tember: Day 22 – Favourite Blogs

A great prompt for Blog-tember today!

Introduce us to 5 blogs you read on the regular, and tell us why!

Can’t wait to see all the recommendations from all the lovely Bl0g-tember ladies!

Here are mine (couldn’t narrow it down to five, however hard I tried, but I did get the list down to 7). Here goes:

1. Eden Riley – her honesty is searing, thought-provoking, awe-inspiring. She’ll have you in tears, banging your fists in indignation and laughing out loud all within one blog post. Love her. Adore her. Want to be her when I’ve learnt how to write properly.

2. Marie Forleo – what can I say? The moment I saw her (in one of the photos on her site) perched, cross-legged, on an NY brownstone step in skin-tight rubber leggings, obviously proud as punch with herself and everything she is, I was hooked. Her enthusiasm and confidence is contagious. Her Tuesday videos are the kick up the ass I need when I’m wallowing: her intelligence, empathy and brilliance shines through every interview. Oh, how I wish she was my friend!! I’d be invincible! I’m saving up for the next round of B-School (I have a jar in the kitchen that has a sign saying “For B-School 2015: do not UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES use this money for anything else”).

3. A Beautiful Mess. I first knew about Elsie from when she had her own scrapbooking line (must be 10 years ago now?). I’ve followed her blogs from that time and have always admired her determination (truth be told, I’ve always been a little in awe of her single-minded determination and self belief). It’s been an honour, and an inspiration, watching her unfold her genius creativity and vision to develop the A Beautiful Mess brand, which now includes books, apps, the successful blog and – shortly – physical products.

4. Paul Jarvis. Can’t find the words, myself, to explain how amazing this guy is, so I’m borrowing words from Sean Blanda who says, “Paul’s writing is the friend that every creative needs: friendly, whip-smart and willing to give you a kick in the ass every now and then”. His Sunday newsletter always but always gives me something I can take away to make improvements in my life, be it professionally or personally.

5. The Simple Dollar. Trent’s personal story of getting his life back on track, after major financial problems in 2006, has been an inspiration to me, not because I’ve had problems similar to his but because I’ve been through major life changes myself and, as a result, have been forced to live much more frugally which, in turn, made me rethink many aspects of my life. His almost daily blog posts are full of sage advice on all aspects of personal finance, investing, frugal living and life in general. I am so pleased to have found this blog and so very grateful for the advice that Trent offers so very generously.

6. Alisa Burke. I’m a long-time follower and admirer of Alisa. She’s a crazy talented – successful – artist. She shares the ups and downs of her life as an artist in a way that’s so honest and open, it’s utterly enchanting. She makes me believe, every time I see her crazy creativity, that anything is possible. Her tales of her move to her dream life on the Oregon coast keeps me afloat some days: she always makes me remember that I can do this, I can get through the problems we’re living and that my strength will carry us onwards.

7. The Sartorialist. In another life, I’d be a crazy famous street photographer, jetting off to Italy and NY and taking crazy beautiful, crazy inspiring, photos like Scott. I live this other imaginary life vicariously through his blog. His talent is C.R.A.Z.Y. I mean, come on…this photo? Crazy talent + opportunity = a life well lived. Go Scott! Go forth and live the stuff of my daydreams!!

7 thoughts on “Blog-tember: Day 22 – Favourite Blogs

  1. Julie says:

    Alisa Burke and A Beautiful Mess are two of my favorite blogs too. So creative!! They really help me get motivated to create something new. Love them! I am definitely going to check out a few of your other favorites too!

    Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    Helen! Loving your new blog look! I forgot about A Beautiful Mess’ coming scrapbooking line, Ah…i dunno how i will stop myself when they start making all those pretty things available internationally lol

    Like

  3. msgiddens says:

    I love the remodel! And thanks so much for sharing these, I can’t wait to check them out!

    Like

  4. Chelsea says:

    Oh yay!! I haven’t heard of any of these except beautiful mess and I can’t wait to go explore!!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

  5. I LOVE The Simple Dollar. Do you read The Billfold? (thebillfold.com). It’s another super relatable finance blog. I can’t wait to check out the rest of your suggestions!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Danielle says:

    I love the beautiful mess! She’s a genius.

    Like

  7. Scott! His photos are gorgeous. I love that he had a pictures of white dresses and sneakers. Sounds like my style 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

