31 days of moving on: Day 11 – Teach

Here’s today’s post for 31 days of five minute free-writing:

Teach

I’ve been taught a whole lot of useful things by a whole lot of incredible – and not so incredible – people. I try to teach my children these things by example. For children are, if nothing else, small sponges, open to sucking in, osmosis-like, anything and everything they experience. Whist teaching them by example, I also teach them, subtly, to filter, because this ‘learning by osmosis’ is dangerous stuff and they need rules to know what they should keep, what they should let go and what they should be wary of. I see them and I smile proudly to myself because they are such gems, such little jewels, with such powerful minds and such strong skills across so many areas. I see them and I sigh sweet deep sighs of love for them. They’re my two little angels who, with just their smiles, make my world okay again. They teach me so much, so much about love and tolerance and patience, about so much more. This teaching, this learning by osmosis is, I realise, very much a two-way street. I teach, they learn, they teach, I learn. It’ll be this way our whole lives and I wouldn’t have it any other way. My world is full, my heart overflows, when I think of their little faces, their giggly laughter, their squeals of delight, their wonder and awe over such simple things. Life has taught me a great deal recently, so much that its been difficult to process, but I realise, with these two to guide me, to teach me, to keep me on my toes, we’ll be OK. We’re a great team. The best, really.

6 thoughts on “31 days of moving on: Day 11 – Teach

  1. Lizelle says:

    It’s a scary thought, how much they just absorb and learn…sometimes I forget but they usually remind me and shock me into next month or last. Children truly are a whole lotta life…

    Like

  2. iwillbloom says:

    “A whole lotta life”: absolutely! What a wonderful description!

    Like

  3. Children are amazing! They learn so easily and yet teach us so much 😀

    Like

  4. CHG (@chged) says:

    I’m so happy to have found your blog. I am really looking forward to reading more, your writing is beautiful! This post struck me in particular because I often have the same feelings and am told that I “care too much”.

    http://www.farmbrews.blogspot.com

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi, thank you so much for your comment. It means a lot to me. Thank you. [Am heading off to your blog – I lightened upon it for a short while earlier today but couldn’t spend any proper time there so am off for a ‘longer mozie’ now!]

      Like

Leave a Reply

