How to fall in love with your world (by Lizelle)

I’ve decided to run a series on I Will Bloom, entitled How to fall in love with your world. The series will run every couple of weeks, usually on Wednesdays.

I’ve had the words How to fall in love with your world bouncing around my head for a while now. I’ve been wondering whether to do a blog post based around the idea but couldn’t start, because I realised that one blog post wouldn’t do the idea justice. Then, as I was mailing back and forth with Lizelle (the first guest poster in the series – see below!), trying to decide on topics etc. for a blog swap, she chose this headline and ran with it. As I read her piece, I realised that the only format that would do the idea justice – as a whole – would be a series, and how wonderful, how enriching, I decided, to invite guest posters to offer us their perspective on the topic.

So, voila, a blog series was born.

Or, rather, bloomed.

How to fall in love with your world aims to offer a moment to pause, in the midst of our busy lives, in the midst of the angst and pulls from all different directions. A moment to grab a cuppa and let the words wash over you. Words of wisdom as to how other women learn to fall in love with their world. There’ll be something – hopefully more than one thing! – in each post that’ll capture your imagination, that you can take away and implement, somehow, in your lives to help you fall that little bit more in love with your world.

Without further ado….

Today’s is the first – guest – post by Lizelle from Sandals and Sunnies. I urge you to nip on over to her blog and spend some time soaking in the many delights it has to offer: she has such a unique perspective on life, forged through facing challenges of her own that she bears with a grace and wisdom that are far beyond her years. Her Grenadian roots shine through everything she writes, all she photographs. Her blog is a little slice of the Caribbean that comes out to greet me, and pull me in, every time I visit. I hope you fall in love with it too.

For now, settle in and read her words.

PhotoGrid_1413247123825

How to fall in love with your world

Lets face it, the world is not always kind to us. More often than not we find ourselves in the darkness of our despair wondering why we bother with the lot of it. These destructive thoughts have plagued souls for decades, likely even more so if yours is a creative one.

It’s taken me a long time to reconcile with the reality that the disdain I feel towards the world is often the fault of the evil intention of those who collectively inhabit it.

So recently I’ve embarked on a bit of a secret mission of sorts. I decided to fall in love with this planet. After all, it’s the only planet I’ve ever known! It’s carried me and fed me and not really asked me for much. What other planet is as deserving of my genuine love, not infatuation mind you, love.  Here is a glance at the recent strides I’ve taken as it has to do with how to fall in love with your world.

3 Ways to fall in love with your world

1.Stop

Stop blaming this planet for evil circumstances. If we’re being fair, as a quote I once heard said, earth was here first and it doesn’t owe you anything. I think the quicker we realise that we are not entitled to the sunshine, the rain or the flowers is the moment we can really begin to put things into perspective. Little of this is happening as a result of us, much less than years before as you’re hard pressed to get generations to plant a tree these days. Yet it all happens; flowers bloom and babies are born and they smile at you for absolutely no reason except that the earth continues to spin. I think that’s a reason for a little gratitude at the end of the day to be honest.

2.Look

Look around you, I’ve been doing a lot of that these days.  To be honest I’ve kind of had to force myself to as I’ve taken up the Floral Fridays challenge on my blog. Since my job has me all about my island there is sometimes a lot to notice in a day. My constant look for flowers for my posts got me to thinking about how hard one sometimes has to search for beauty. Especially on the darker days…when your insides are clouded in soot and you’d give anything to crawl back into bed and pretend that there is no such thing as morning. It reminded me that even something that seems as necessary as beauty and happiness has to be sought out and snatched up with the eyes and with the soul (obviously you can’t just go around taking beautiful things with your hands!)

3.Listen

To the sounds around you and within you. Sometimes your mental conversations need to be heard. Sometimes your worries and complaints are screaming at you because they’re searching for your strength to meet them and say ‘Don’t worry, we’ll get through.’ even if you don’t quite completely believe it yet and that will never happen if you keep stifling that voice. Then of course there is the laughter of others, the snippets of conversations that make no sense, the rain, the birds, the wind, the cracks in concrete made my happy feet hurrying down a street to loves and mothers and accomplishments. Take notice of the simplest things you can find and then, in that very moment, give thanks that you could find them.

This is how I am falling in love with my world lately. This beautiful earth we all share is so full of hidden treasures placed about for us to appreciate…if only we could learn the art of reading the map, written, I am now convinced, in the language of minimalism.

Well that’s it from me! I hope you’ve enjoyed my visit at I Will Bloom and a hearty heartfelt thanks to Helen for having me! Feel free to visit me some time via the blogesphere. Till then.

Peace. Love. Bloom.

[Helen here again…You see! Lizelle’s a gem of a woman! Hope you enjoyed the post and that you’ll tune in for the series (do people even say that anymore?!). If anyone would like to put themselves forward to be a guest poster, email me at iwillbloombloggmail.com (please figure out the correct format, I don’t want spambots spambotting me!)…I’ll be waiting to hear from you! Let’s make this something great! Together!!]

14 thoughts on “How to fall in love with your world (by Lizelle)

  1. Chelsea says:

    This is a beautiful idea, I love it and am excited for Wednesdays now. Loved her writing and her thoughts, and I love how creative your mind is and the places it takes you. Can’t wait to see the photos you took too, so glad you were able to get out in the rain and capture some shots!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Oooooh I love this series idea and what a great first post from Lizelle! I will for sure be tuning in 😉

    Like

  3. Lizelle says:

    What a glorious introduction you’ve given me up top Helen! Thank you. It was an honour to be a part of this wonderful series and I can’t wait to see what blooms from this endeavour out of the minds of bloggers all over the world. Thanks for having me and I’m glad I was able to share my post with readers who enjoyed it!

    Like

  4. Britney says:

    love this post helen and lizelle! stop look and listen, so simple!

    Like

  5. CHG (@chged) says:

    I absolutely needed to read this, this morning. Just getting a chance to comment now. I love the whole idea of “falling in love with your world”. A great refresher for your perspective. Thank you so much for sharing!

    http://www.farmbrews.blogspot.com

    Like

  6. Liane says:

    I absolutely love this idea! Beautiful post to start the series with 🙂

    Like

  7. Rachel G says:

    Taking time to notice the good and beautiful and not merely the bad and the ugly is definitely needed if what we’re looking for is contentment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

