Honour the beauty of life

earthday2010

As the Mama of an 8 and a 4 year old, I’ve always considered it an important part of parenting to make time to let them appreciate beautiful things. To teach them that it’s important to slow down, to take time to look for beauty and, when found, to stop and drink it in. To internalise it. This might be stopping to look at a flower or to hear birdsong or to feed the ducks or stopping so they can hear the busker in the street. I really think it’s an important life skill for them to learn, to be able to identify, to take pleasure in, the little things of life. To heighten their awareness of their surroundings, of the connectedness of the world, to teach them appreciation and thankfulness. What would the world look like if we all slowed down, took time to look for the beauty and didn’t let ourselves be diminished by the negative? What do you think?

[This post is my response to today’s prompt – honour – for 31 days of moving on. Shout out to Chelsea who prompted me – inspired me – to get my camera back out and start shooting beauty again. Thank you]

4 thoughts on “Honour the beauty of life

  1. Lizelle says:

    Waw-ie what a sky shot! The look through the leaves have me too. Oh who am I kidding, all the pictures do! Well you know how I feel about appreciating the world we’re in so I need not say more 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Hah! I’d written this post and scheduled it before your guest post arrived to me. Had completely forgotten about the content of this post (I didn’t even make the link when I went to add the photo in last night)! Should link to yours from within it….

      Like

  2. Chelsea says:

    Yay! Thanks for the shout out- I have been waiting to see some of your pics, and they are everything I knew they would be!! I so need to take the advice from this post- I’m a go-er, always moving, rarely relaxing- it’s my bugs who are teaching me to slow down, take it all in!

    Like

  3. Rachel G says:

    I love that little green guy! It’s definitely a life skill to learn early on to appreciate small and beautiful things. Angel often laughs at me at how excited I might get over something that, by the world’s standards, is very small–but I hope I never stop finding excitement and joy in little cool things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

