Kindness Counts Fridays Volume 6

kindness counts

Another Friday. Another week that flew past far too quickly. Another Kindness Counts Friday. Tinged with a bit of sadness this week as Kim – who had the original idea for the link-up – has decided to have a blogging break ūüė¶

She’s passed the Kindness Counts Fridays baton to me, so I’ll be hosting the link-up until she’s back blogging again. Very mixed feelings about it, but didn’t want to let the idea drop in her absence (as I believe in it’s power!), so am looking forward to continuing on with my Friday posts and hoping some of my lovely readers might join in with me at some point.

[Note: I couldn’t immediately¬†understand¬†the In-linkz link-up instructions when I looked at them last night so, for this weeks post, if you do want to join in with your own ‘Kindness Counts Friday’ post – at any point during the next week – leave the link in the comments so we can all head over and check it out! I’ll try to get the link thingy working for next Friday!]

There are no rules for joining in. Any post relating to kindness, or kind acts you’ve engaged in or witnessed are welcome. As Kim wrote in her original introduction to the idea, “I want to launch a weekly link-up where we share acts of kindness we’ve done, witnessed or are planning for the future in the hopes of inspiring one another to do better every day!”…

A fairly noble idea, if ever I heard one, no?

Let’s go.

My kind acts for the week (or ones I’ve witnessed):

1. I have a medicine cabinet that’s literally overflowing with medicines, most of which are still packaged (how¬†does¬†that happen?) and still in date. I sorted through it all last weekend and ended up with a large carrier bag full of medicines that could be useful for someone else. I rang around the local clinics and asked who might need a donation and they pointed me in the direction of a charity that accepts medicines from people to hand out to those without medical insurance.

2. Do I really need three pairs of glasses that I don’t wear any more and two pairs of prescription sunglasses that aren’t even the right prescription? No. Again, I rang around local opticians and located a local charity that receives the glasses and then gives them to people in need.

3. My daughter saw that I was a bit sad one day and disappeared for a while. She came back with the most delicate, beautiful little drawing. Covered in hearts “…because I love you so much, Mama”. Too beautiful. It’s such a source of joy that she’s growing up with a kind, tender heart.

4. Do you remember a few weeks ago I told you I’d helped a neighbour who’s making a roadside garden along the road where we live? The garden is looking lovely and he’s now installing an altar with a Virgin Mary (we live in a Catholic country). I helped him to decorate the base with mosaic this week: quite enjoyed lending my “crafty” skills and have certainly enjoyed getting to know him a little better. Amazing how there can be such lovely people literally on our doorstep and unless we make the effort to get to know them, we’d never know they were so lovely!

That’s it for this week.

Hope some of you might be tempted to join in with me. The research shows that making room for kindness in your life can have many beneficial side effects, including making you happier, improving the health of your heart (through reducing stress), slowing ageing (by producing a chemical, oxytocin, that slows down the rate of ageing of your cells), forging stronger and better relationships and encouraging other people to be kind as well, which would encourage a kinder, more tolerant, world.

If you don’t believe me….a (Very Handsome) Hollywood actor agrees too….(!)…

aa5ac75fd47fa35059a9c41975d78658-1

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Kindness Counts Fridays Volume 6

  1. Lovely Anne says:

    I love that idea entirely too much. So much kindness and inspiration will leave some pretty positive imprints on those reading, such as myself. The story about your daughter melted my heart to the core. I was planning on doing a few things this month to give back. I had added a section on my bucket list of acts of gratitude, for the community and loved ones, that I’ve always wanted to do but never had the courage to because I’m a little anxious scaredy-cat, haha! I’m really excited though. I really look forward to reading what you guys put together with your kindness movement.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Anne, thank you so much for your comment. Leave me a link to your bucket list (I’m interested to read about your plans). You know, I’ve found, courage sometimes means literally holding your breath for a few seconds and just going for it, then exhaling once you’ve done the think you thought you couldn’t do….[Wow, I am a bit in awe of the fact that you called it a ‘movement’…but wouldn’t it be great if lots of people did join in??!!]

      Like

      • Lovely Anne says:

        Definitely!! If one person got two more people to do something kind, and a chain of kindness followed – that would be fantastic and it would change the world, one small town at a time. It’s basic cause and effect reasoning.

        and sure! Just go to flowersandwanderlust.com and it is in my menu as the bucket list. ūüôā It’s the second page. Most of it is adventures but under life enrichment, I have small things here and there. Like tomorrow I believe my husband and I are going to fill baggies with quarters and leave them by parking meters. Something so simple and not-so-thought-of, but honestly, I love that idea! Then there are few others and maybe I can get inspiration from the kind acts you share!

        xoxo
        SAMI

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Hia, oh, so much inspiration…you’re a living breathing inspiration machine! Am rushed for time but will definitely be leaving you a more detailed response and reading your blog in more detail on Sunday….thank you xxx

        Like

      • Lovely Anne says:

        That sounds amazing to me & thank you, sincerely. I love talking to fellow inspirational people.

        Thank you for the kind responses!

        Liked by 1 person

      • iwillbloom says:

        An award for the self-professed ‘Lovely Anne’: https://iwillbloom.wordpress.com/2014/11/09/one-lovely-blog-award/ [Please don’t feel – at all – that you have to post/continue the nominations in response – just wanted to shout out how GREAT you/your blog are!]

        Like

      • Lovely Anne says:

        Aw, I might cry happy tears! Thank you SO much! I really appreciate it. That’s the kindest thing to ever happen to me. I’m definitely going to continue it and make sure you’re well-known in my post! Thank you so much. This made my whole day.

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Oh you! So happy I made you so happy!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Chelsea says:

    Beautiful post! Your sweet little girl is so impressive to be so in tune with other’s feelings at that age, you’ve obviously taught her well:)

    Like

  3. I knew you were the perfect person to trust my “big idea” with! I never quite figured out the inlinz business or I would help you out. I love that you donated so much, and that your sweet daughter is already taking after her sweet momma! It is so true that the loveliest people can be right in front of us and we have no idea unless we actually take the 5 minutes to talk to them.

    Like

  4. twinsmommy says:

    Wow what an absolutely wonderful link up. Sorry, your friend is away for teh time being.
    Now I can’t even think about anything kind I have done lately.
    So, will have to link up next week.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thank you for your comment. much appreciated. You’ll definitely have to keep an eye out for kind acts (I bet you do a lot more than you realise!): see you next week!

      Like

  5. twinsmommy says:

    Wonderful blog. Happy to have found ya.

    Like

  6. Rachel G says:

    I didn’t know there were charities that would take medicines, that’s great! I always used to keep my old glasses in fear of breaking a pair and not having another one to see with, but because of our move I gave all of my spares away to one of those glasses re-using organizations, and I recently read a post from a blogger who worked with an organization who fitted old glasses to the vision needs of people who couldn’t afford to buy new glasses, and it was really cool to see how they use them!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia, I live in the ‘developing’ world and the majority of the population finds it difficult to buy medicine, unfortunately, so there are unite a few of those charities here. The glasses: yes, it’s great to know that something you had lying around the house can be useful – really useful in the case of glasses! – to someone else!

      Like

  7. Leanne says:

    Love the link up! I will have to be more mindful of my acts of kindness. Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

