One lovely blog award

one-blog-lovely-award

Thanks Britney and thanks Charlotte for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award.

It made my day when I saw the nominations: thank you so much!

OK, here goes:

7 facts about me:

1. Taxi Driver and It’s a Wonderful Life are my two favourite films. Fight Club and Amelie are serious contendersAs are Avanti and Big Night. 

2. I make a mean paella [and love cooking, in general]. I’m already compiling contenders for my ’52 cakes in 2015′ list (I usually make a new-to-us cake every week every year (YUM!) – here are some of the 2015 contenders!)

3. I can whistle without moving my lips. It’s really cool. I used to do it on the tube and chuckle secretly to myself as everyone started to look around, wondering who the whistler was!

4. I love flamenco music and secretly really want to learn how to flamenco dance [all my passion would, I know, come out in a flurry of emotion, cleansing me, showing me my soul again]….I’m going to need to get back a bit of my confidence before I attempt it, however 😉

5. I would really like to attend a fashion show. Like really. I’d just be in awe of the creativity (of the runway show and the clothing of the other attendees).

6. I have a burning desire to meet Richard Branson.

7. I’d like to retire to a Caribbean island. I know which plot of land I’d like to buy. My big dream is to buy it, build the house myself (well, not myself but you know what I mean) and then spend a lot of my days there, away from noise, in peace. [Note to readers who may think I’m some sort of millionaire: I’m most certainly not, but nothing gets achieved unless we dream (and then plan so the dreams come true)].

Now I have to nominate other wonderful ladies for the award:

1. The all-round amazing Chelsea from Hollands Reverie [no tricky questions with this one ;)]

2. Dearest Catherine from An Angel in the Garden.

3. The always thought-provoking Lizelle from Sandals & Sunnies.

4. Rachel from The Random Writings. [Always makes me think, think, think and yearn for China, helping me to keep my dreams alive even on the darkest days of this journey of mine…thank you]

5. Darling Barbara from Barbara’s Blog[Such insightful, inspiring, writing and such a very dear soul].

6. Andrea from Hope Ann [Such a generous, open, wonderful soul]

7. Anne (‘Lovely Anne’ she calls herself because she’s, well, lovely!) from Flowers and Wanderlust[Inspiration guaranteed].

8. Sweet Zoe from Zoe P. Rose. [Delightful writing, even more delightful soul…you’ve got to love anyone who offers to send you Angel Delight in the post!]

[PLEASE, please, PLEASE, ladies, don’t feel obliged to post a post in response to the award – just wanted to let you know that you’re appreciated :)]

 

26 thoughts on “One lovely blog award

  1. Lovely Anne says:

    Be on the lookout for mine later this evening. 🙂

    Like

  2. Zoe Rose says:

    Thankyou!! 🙂 I’m loving all these wonderful blogs I’m finding, (including yours of course!) I just wish I had more time to read them all!

    Like

  3. Chelsea says:

    Ha thank you!! I think I can manage this one- hopefully!!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lizelle says:

    Thank you!! School has my entire being all wrapped up in itself so I dunno when I’ll be able to do this saddly 😦 but I admit it does feel great to be appreciated ^-^

    Oh do tell which island you want to retire to? Retiring to the Caribbean doesn’t seem as difficult as one might think from the little i know…nor building your own house round those parts, most Caribbean dwellers build their homes so it’s pretty day to day runnings thus making your dreams rather feasible!

    Like

  5. Hopeannfaith says:

    Thank you so much! What a wonderful surprise and a GREAT idea!

    Like

  6. Rachel G says:

    I can’t whistle no matter what way I move my lips. I have distinct memories of my mom trying to teach me to whistle and snap my fingers–to this day i can’t do either. “It’s a Wonderful Life” is such an awesome movie, but then, I like a lot of Jimmy Stewart movies. Thanks for the mention, I’m so glad that you appreciate what I write!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Very much appreciate your thinking/writing….James Stewart….if only men were like that now! Harvey….Philadelphia Story, Mr Smith…, Anatomy of a Murder. I know them all by heart. Love them all.

      Like

  7. Whoo! You so deserved this award! I also love Fight Club, such an intense movie! You make a cake a week?!?!?! That is amazing! I’ll be catching the next flight to come visit!! haha. I love that you used to secretly whistle- such a fun talent!

    Happy Sunday!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thank you xxxx

      The best bit in Fight Club is when he’s held the gun to the guy’s head and then he says ‘Tomorrow will be the best day of his life. His breakfast will taste better than any meal you and I have ever tasted”….gives me chills every single time.

      Yeah, I make a cake a week….and muffins or biscuits most afternoons (am I weird? I just *like* it!)….you’re welcome whenever – but when we’re back home (for obvious reasons!)….xxxx

      Like

  8. Hopeannfaith says:

    Reblogged this on HOPE*ann*FAITH and commented:
    How cool is this?!
    Reblogging to check out the amazing links and to reciprocate. ❤
    Thank you Helen!

    Like

  9. Thank you so much, Helen! This is really an honor that you have nominated me…I am a NEW BLOGGER and did not even consider myself a WRITER much less one whose blog would be considered “One Lovely Blog”!!! I guess I need to nominate someone too…not sure how this works; but there have been some great blogs I have read over the past month! Thank you again…

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Barbara, your words move me every time I read your posts. I think that makes you a writer! [Sorry – I didn’t explain the rules. If you want to participate, you should do your own post saying that you won the award, write 7 things about yourself and then nominate other bloggers (unsure as to how many other bloggers)] Best wishes!

      Like

      • Thank you again, Helen! You are so sweet to say these LOVELY things about me…and as for you…I have read several of your posts and I will be reading more…if I had not seen somewhere that you were British, today’s post would have sealed that for me…”Mum” and other words you used are definitely a “give away”! I am from the USA – Florida to be exact. I did figure out the “rules” and have started writing; but finding just a few bloggers…WOW – now to figure out whom to bestow this award on and what they have done that make me want to give it to them…it’s a wonderful idea! Not sure where it came from; but a wonderful idea!!! Thanks again – you give me encouragement to continue writing!

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Hi Barbara, yes, I’m Most Decidedly Very British! Glad that you’re going to do a post about the award xxx Wouldn’t the world be a truly wonderful place if everyone were more encouraging? Please continue with your wonderful, wonderful, writing…

        Like

  10. Good going on getting that award, Helen.

    And nice taste in movies 🙂

    Like

  11. Shauna841505 says:

    Oh an island would be magical. I will build a house by you and we can blog from our windows. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

