FMF – Give

It’s Five Minute Friday time. This week’s word:

Give

Start

I’m a Mama. I’m used to the ‘give give give’ lifestyle. It’s hard – very hard some days – but I love it because I love them, my two beautiful children. Wouldn’t change anything, for the whole world. I give them my time, my love, my adoration, not wanting anything in return, because I do it for love, a love so deep it knows no bounds, has no end. But I get, in return, so much more: the joy of seeing them grow and learn and become more themselves every day, the joy of hearing them laugh (for what sound is more beautiful in the whole world than the sound of your children laughing?), the sheer joy of being near them and basking in all of their beauty. Every day, I see changes in them: a new word might appear, or a new dance move, or a new joke or some other new way of expressing themselves. I take joy from it all: seeing them grow, change, develop, it’s an inherently joyful process. It brings light and life, brings me happiness (as I revel in them) and gratitude (as I give thanks that they’re healthy and happy). “Mama”. I hear it at least a hundred times a day. Every single time I hear it, I give thanks. Thanks for having been able to give birth to two such truly amazing human beings and thanks that I’m able to spend my days at their side, basking in all the wonders they are, all the wonders they bring. I will never not give thanks for this, for them, and will never complain about how hard or difficult it is (this single Mum-dom): they are my all, my everything, my whole life, my whole world. They’re my reason, my only reason. My loves, my true loves.

End

24 thoughts on “FMF – Give

  1. Barbara says:

    Love this beautiful tribute to your two children…being a single mum is definitely not easy; I was at one time myself! May you have a blessed weekend, and hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful – but, do you celebrate that across the “pond”!? In any case, have a blessed holiday season!!!

    Like

  2. micey says:

    This is so wonderful. I have 2 grown boys. I get this. It’s a giving for life. It never stops. I’m grateful they love me. I’m a single mom too. It’s tough. Carry on! Great job! You can do it!!! With Jesus. 🙂 Visiting from FMF.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comment: it is a giving for life…..and *never* stops 😉 It is tough but I wouldn’t change a thing……thank you *so much* for your kind, encouraging, words xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. hopecarrart says:

    You are so blessed! Rich in all that matters ~ LOVE. I’m so happy for you!

    Like

  4. Gabriele says:

    The words are just running onto the page today. aren’t they? How eloquent your are about your precious children. Rejoice that they are yours for a season.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Gabriele, many thanks for your comment…..so much appreciated…..have a lovely holiday weekend with your family (love how you used the word ‘season’…encapsulates it all perfectly!)….

      Like

  5. ssandrax says:

    Amazing!!! I didn’t figure out how my wold would be without my children… They are all to me… Your words are from the heart. Thanks for share them with FMF

    Like

  6. Anita Ojeda says:

    Children are such a blessing! I’m so glad that you have little ones to love–may God be with you as you raise and guide your little ones.

    Like

  7. amypboyd says:

    I remember a few times when my kiddos were little that I resented the give give give from my kids then I was reminded that I acted teh sameway with my heavenly Father. I have learned to see the priviledge it is to be able to give to my kids even now simple because He has blessed me. Prayers for you/

    Like

  8. I love your post. I also needed the reminder, that although we give so much of ourselves, we also get. Those hugs? Priceless. Those face-splitting grins? They make me smile big. I need to remember that with giving—especially with kids—we also get. Thanks for this!

    Like

  9. poetry joy says:

    What a lovely, heart-warming and heart-felt tribute to your children! Such a gracious outpouring of love in these beautiful words. They are truly blessed to have a mother like you. May your young ones continue to bring delight and joy to your life. Blessings to you and yours. 🙂 x

    Like

  10. Liz says:

    I love this! Can sooooo totally relate. I am a momma to three small girls, and their words, hugs, kisses, “mamas”, and “I love you’s” are all the “thanks” I need. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  11. Cheryl says:

    The gift of having children is immeasurable compared to what we give as moms. Sometimes, I miss it, but thank you for a fresh reminder. They are truly precious gifts.

    Like

  12. Chelsea says:

    So beautiful! Being a mamma has been the greatest adventure of my life and your so right- there is nothing quite like the sound of your children laughing in abandon. I want to crawl right inside their heads and see and know their thoughts- so wildly interesting they are.
    P.s. I know I’m a bit behind, but congrats on finishing the book- incredible!!! If you need a test reader, do send it my way:)

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah! So glad you ‘related’….ooh, test reader – hadn’t thought of that – really hadn’t thought much at all beyond finishing it, to tell the truth…..a plan will form, however, as they are wont to do….and you’ll be my first test reader of choice xxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

