December 1st – Favourite Christmas Tradition(s)

I’m really excited to be joining in with Blogmas 2014 (Sandra’s brilliant idea) which means I’ll be blogging every day in December, in response to the Blogmas 2014 prompts. [Can’t wait!]. A few of my blogging buddies are joining in too, which makes it all that more sweeter (waving at you Liane, Lizelle and Barbara!)].

Have I ever told you all how much I love Christmas? Let’s just say that if Santa was ever in the market for a new wife (not an affair-type new wife, you understand, and not that I’m wishing anything bad on Santa or his wife – and now I’m in a muddle because I’m making up hypothetical situations about someone I believe in – with all my heart – but who – practicalities tell me – doesn’t exist)….so, anyway…if ever he were to be in the market for a new wife, he’d totally choose me because I am Mrs. Christmas!!! 

I love Christmas. Everything about it. The music. The food. The twinkly lights. The beautiful, wondrous, meaning. The presents (buying presents just fills me with a special kind of sparkly giddy love). The joy. The goodwill to all men. Oh my, I just love EVERYTHING about Christmas!

Right…now I’ve got that off my chest and out of the way, on to the prompt….my favourite Christmas tradition. I have so many favourites – favourites from my childhood that pop up in my memory throughout the Christmas season, favourites from recent times, favourites from when the littles were little-r. [I’m going to save some of those stories to join in with Sian’s Christmas Club Revival].

So today I’m going to write about some of the ones from our home, that have been developed since the littles were born:

1. Hanging the ‘old sock Advent calendar’ and filling it with ‘exciting Christmas things to do’. 

Stockings

I’m British, and we British open Advent calendars every day from December 1st-December 24th. I don’t live in England so have always struggled to find an Advent calendar for the littles to open. So, when my daughter was born, I decided to make an Advent calendar. I had a few criteria for it: it couldn’t cost anything, it had to make me smile and I had to be able to put little papers inside [and perhaps a sweet or two!], with the papers having suggestions for Christmas activities for that day for the littles. Voila! I had a ‘light bulb’ moment and decided to make it from my babies old baby socks! It’s one of my most treasured things in the whole of our home and the littles have been asking me for weeks when I’m going to hang it…..it was hung last night when they were sleeping, and they woke up, saw it, raided it and went off to school/nursery with an extra little spring in their step!

[I thank the Heavens that our Christmas decorations/’things’ weren’t lost in the theft…that would literally have been the straw that broke the camels back…thank you jammy door to the storage room in the basement. I will be forever grateful I hadn’t got round to repairing you so you wouldn’t budge, meaning the room wasn’t pillaged…laziness does pay off sometimes….who knew?!].

2. Christmas books

Books

Since my son’s first Christmas (8 years ago now), I started buying Christmas books for the littles. They love to huddle underneath the Christmas tree lights and to read them. It started off with me reading to my son, then me reading to both of them and now we’ve progressed on to my son reading to my daughter (it’s too beautiful when I see them huddled there together, cuddled up, him reading to his little sister, in a Very Serious Voice).

[I’d love to hear any suggestions you might have for Christmas books – too late to buy them for this year (and funds don’t allow) – but I’ll certainly add them to my Amazon list for next year]

3. December Daily

DecemberDaily

I’m a scrapbooker. I’m a little bit obsessed with documenting daily life. So when Ali Edwards launched her December Daily idea, I jumped straight on the bandwagon. This will be my sixth year doing December Daily and I’m really excited about it as it’s the first year we’ll be a family of three for Christmas and I really want a record of what our life is like this Christmas because I know it will be so much better next Christmas and I know I’ll want to look back with pride on all I’ve achieved in 2015.

So, the idea is to turn this pile of supplies in to a daily record of our December/Christmas activities, our 2014 December Daily….

DDsupplies

I don’t have an album to house the pages yet, really don’t know how I’m going to fit it in but have a whole heart full of determination that I am going to get it done….wish me luck!

[Am so looking forward to reading everyone else’s posts in response to today’s prompt….can’t wait!]

27 thoughts on “December 1st – Favourite Christmas Tradition(s)

  1. Oh, such a great idea to use socks! I’ve grown up with advent calendar as well and it was truly a joy getting that one sweet everyday (now that I’m older, it’s been appropriately upgraded to a tea calendar and I still love it.) Ha, your son reading to your daughter in a Very Serious Voice made me smile so much! Happy December 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah! That one sweet a day was like Heaven when we were children 🙂 A tea advent calendar? I will have to find out more (I am a tea addict!)….Happy December too xxx

      Like

  2. Liane says:

    I love your traditions!! The baby socks.. Perfect! I’m going to grab your Christmas books tradition and do that one next year 🙂

    Like

  3. chelses says:

    Oh I love the sock advent- how cute is that!! And the box of books is perfect! We just got set up last night and it was very funny and sweet, so I guess I’m ready:)

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hey you…..yeah, it’s so cute! Glad you’re feeling ready now xxxx [Loved your Christmas gift post….didn’t have a minute to comment – will do shortly (am not feeling well today so am functioning at half steam…]

      Like

  4. Lizelle says:

    In absence of a folder maybe a ring binder could do for the while to house them? Ah this post is making my heart flutter! Is that pic with the socks a pic of your creation? it sooooo dang cute!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia, the ring binder is a great idea….and I have a spare one – thank you xxx Yeah, that’s my bed and our socks (the text overlay is a free one I found from somewhere a while ago…)…it IS sooooooo cute!! It makes me so so happy just looking at it!!!!

      Like

  5. Eva says:

    This post makes me so happy… and very possibly put me even more into the Christmas spirit! I love how much you love Christmas and your whole hypothetical marrying Santa comment, haha! Your advent calendar is super adorable! Your kids have such an amazing mother. Do you have the book ‘The Mitten’? I remember really loving that one.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      LOL! I told you I’m Mrs Christmas! Don’t know the book ‘The Mitten’ but will take a look for it on Amazon…(thank you for the recommendation!)….

      Like

  6. diarysahm says:

    I LOVE your traditions. We do the advent calendar too but I totally love the books and the daily, how fun is that?

    Thank you for joining in, remember to go on over to my Blogmas post for today and enter your link so others can come and read it too 🙂 http://familycorner.blogspot.com/2014/12/blogmas-2014-day-1-favorite-christmas.html

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Sandra – just popped over to you and left my link….I’d been stalking your site all day and wouldn’t you know it – as soon as we sat down to lunch, up your post popped! LOVE your idea, love your prompts…thank you SO much!!!!

      Like

  7. So fun you are doing this!!! I also love Christmas and Christmas books especially! Excited to read all your prompts for this season! (and I think it’s hilarious you are Mrs. Christmas…maybe someday Santa will come for you!)

    Like

  8. Rachel G says:

    I love advent calendars in just about every form. In past years with Angel I’d stick little cards with numbers all over our wall for the countdown–last year, my baby sister was living with us, and she’d somehow heard that in America they had advent calendars where you open a different door each day and get to eat the chocolate inside, so we bought her one for like $3 at the discount grocery store, and it was such a joy to watch her excitement about opening the doors each day.

    Like

  9. Carrie Ann says:

    I LOVE the sock advent calender!! What a clever idea and great use of all those single socks we end up with 🙂

    Like

  10. Helen you’re a hoot! I love your bright enthusiasm for all things Christmas (the Santa comments are hilarious!) & you’re a scrapbooker too. You’re a kindred spirit for sure!

    Thanks for sharing about Ali Edwards too. The Dec Daily sounds intriguing.

    God bless.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie! Thanks for your comment! ….seems we’re kindred spirits…..isn’t BlogLand wonderful??!! Will be reading along with you in December, and beyond….xxx

      Like

  11. PS: Olive: the other reindeer is a really sweet Xmas book if your kiddos haven’t read it yet.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks for the recommendation….I will “Amazon” it now (has “Amazon” become a verb yet, like “Google”???!!!)…..hope you’re having a great day xxx

      Like

  12. Zoe Rose says:

    We’ve got a whole bag of odd baby socks, maybe one day I will repurpose them. At the moment we have a felt nativity advent calendar which you add a different person/ animal to each day and a chocolate ‘real Christmas’ advent calendar. It would be fun to have specific activities to do each day, particularly when they’re a wee bit older!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Ooh, the felt Advent calendar sounds brilliant! [You can find lots of ‘ready made’ Advent calendar activities on Pinterest/Google…I usually just make a list of things they like/things we don’t do very often (eating cake for breakfast! or having hot chocolate at lunchtime!)….they love it!

      Like

  13. hopecarrart says:

    GIRL!? who on earth would be surprised that you are writing each day in December, you are a writing fool, well, not a fool, but you know, you really love to write and we all really love what you write about and so you just get it going! I can’t wait to read! Happy day! Hope

    Like

  14. Barbara says:

    Can you believe it…I don’t remember reading this one!! But I DO remember seeing the socks used for an advent calendar; and I think it is a wonderful idea – and a great way to save all of those little socks! Thanks for sharing your favorite Christmas traditions…

    Like

Leave a Reply

