How to fall in love with your world (from Liane)

DSC02205

A new instalment of the How to fall in love with your world series today. How to fall in love with your world aims to offer a moment to pause, in the midst of our busy lives, in the midst of the angst and pulls from all different directions. A moment to grab a cuppa and let the words wash over you. Words of wisdom as to how other women learn to fall in love with their world. There’ll be something – hopefully more than one thing! – in each post that’ll capture your imagination, that you can take away and implement, somehow, in your lives to help you fall that little bit more in love with your world.

Today’s guest is Liane from Rosy Cheeks & Muddy Feet. I ‘met’ her during Blog-tember and we’ve become firm – online – friends since then. I’m always amazed by what a brilliant Mum she is and how much the love she has for her two children shines through her posts. Hope you all like her post as much as I did (warning: it made me cry several times!)….

Here goes…..

It’s so easy to see the bad in the world. All you have to do is switch on the news or pick up a newspaper and it’s there in black and white. It sometimes seems that it’s never good news that is reported! Because of that I think that it’s easy to get lost in all of the tragedy, the disasters, the terrible things that people do. How do I stop myself from letting it all get to me? How do I find beauty in the world and fall in love with it?

1 – My Kids.

James and Emilie are the best things that have happened to me. I love their innocence, how they both believe that Mummy and Daddy can fix anything. If I had one wish it would be that they never loose that innocence with age. Seeing the world through their eyes makes me look at things differently. That flower really is beautiful. The lady bug that we just spent thirty minutes watching crawl across the path really is amazing. Staying up an hour past bedtime really is the best treat in the world. How can you not love life when you see it like a five year old does?

2 – People Watching

I love people watching. Maybe I’m nosy! What I really love to see is an elderly couple walking alone together. You see them talking and laughing. You watch him take the shopping bags from her as they head home from their weekly shop. I always wonder to myself what their life has been like. What have they been through, good and bad, and they’ve come out the other end, probably stronger, but still together.

3 – Gratefulness

I try so hard to be grateful for what I have. Some days I do better at this than others! However when you really stop and think, we all have so much to be thankful for. We have shelter, food and clothes on our backs. We have each other. We have family, we have friends. We might not be rich monetary wise but we are rich in so many other ways.

4 – Helping Others

I will always try to help others if I can. I’ve had periods in my life where I was down on my luck and people stepped in to help me. I remember one time in particular years ago when I had no food in my cupboards, I was starving and too proud to ask for help. Then there was a knock at my door and my sister stood there with her arms full of shopping bags. She had noticed the empty cupboards and knowing that I wasn’t going to ask for help, she decided to do it anyway. I’ve always remembered that and now try and do the same thing. Realising that there were people willing to be that kind and generous really changed my way of thinking

5 – Believe

Believe in yourself. Believe in others. Believe in change. Believe that although the bad things will happen there are also so many good things that happen too. Believe that everything happens for a reason. Believe in the good in people. Believe in promises.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and also to Helen for giving me the chance to participate in this series!

[Helen here – wow, I was blown away by this post when I read it….so many wonderful observations and so much wonderful advice! Thanks Liane, thanks so much!].

8 thoughts on “How to fall in love with your world (from Liane)

  1. Liane says:

    Thank you so much for letting me take part in this series. It was a joy to write that post 🙂 x

    Like

  2. Another beautiful instalment! I teach Kindergarten so I can completely relate to the joy 5 year olds share, I spent two weeks watching Ladybugs in the garden and actually loved it! They are fascinating little creatures! Thanks for brightening my day!

    Like

  3. ~ Carmen ~ says:

    People watching is so fun. I even consider it a social activity, do it with friends. Be inspired by all the people out there.
    :] // ▲ itsCarmen.com ▲

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia, absolutely! My best people watching spot ever was on the steps of the British Museum in London: when I was stressed with my studies, I used to head off there for half an hour – just the right medicine!

      Like

Leave a Reply

