Kindness Counts Friday – Christmas edition

It’s Friday. That must mean it’s Kindness Counts Friday (Kim’s brilliant idea; I’m hosting until she’s back in BlogLand).

It’s a Friday in December. That must mean it’s a special Christmas edition of Kindness Counts Friday….

ChristmasKindnessCounts

(If I was a designer/knew how to use PicMonkey, I’d have cocked the Santa hat at a jaunty angle!!)

Anyway….here goes, with the acts of kindness I’ve engaged in or witnessed this last week:

1. I have been feeling unwell for most of this week. Nothing major but it’s meant I’ve had a few ‘huffing and puffing’ moments as I’ve tried to get my strength back whilst out doing errands. I’ve been amazed by how many people have stopped to ask me if I’m OK/offer me a drink of water/help.

2. I had some surplus stock (of headbands/hair clips etc) from a business I used to run, so I packaged the things up and offered them to the charity collection at the local hospital as Christmas presents for the children they attend. It took me a couple of hours, in total, to organise them and I’m so happy to think that there’s now a few children here who’ll have an extra smile on Christmas Day.

3. I had a whole load of Christmas decorations that we just weren’t using so I donated them to various people I know, all of whom love Christmas too but have never been able to afford their own decorations. The smile on their faces was a picture.

8ab95747aba53a16604644c54a23fe51

Now on to the acts of kindness I’ve witnessed/ideas I’ve read about/amazing ‘kindness-related’ posts I’ve read over the last week:

1. This post from Kathleen at Positive Adoption: loved her writing, loved the story she told. Loved that she reminded me about ‘doing a good deed for the day’.

2. This post from Liz at SimplyComplexMum: all about the power of giving. Her writing soothes me and this post really captured my attention.

3. This post about ‘Giving simply to give’ (from a fellow Five Minute Friday-er). Loved it. And her idea about starting a ‘Christmas Love Train’ (see details here)? Just brilliant! Imagine if even 20% of my readers made just 2 stockings each, that’d be a whole lot of Christmas love being sent around, brightening people’s days during this Christmas period.

3. This post about Christmas Jars from Tammy at Grace Uncommon. [You can read more about the Christmas Jar idea in Joseph Wright’s original book; we have Penny’s Christmas Jar Miracle – a beautiful children’s book – in our Christmas book collection…it comes highly recommended for anyone with children/grandchildren, as a way of introducing them to the concept of giving, not just receiving, at Christmas time].

4. Kindness Elves from The Imagination Tree: using the ‘Elf on the Shelf’ idea to spread kindness. **Love it**!! 

5. Momastery’s (Glennon Doyle Melton’s) Holiday Hands phenomenon. A testimony to the power of the blogging community to unite for spreading good. Was in awe as I read all about it. Wow. [I’ve made a mental note that if I’m in a position to do something like this myself next year, via I Will Bloom, I’m going to do it].

That’s about it for this week…let me know about your own kind acts or links to any posts you think I’d like. I’d love to hear about them!

Last but not least…

5ab77490ae449aad6bae2f9868166f9d

15 thoughts on “Kindness Counts Friday – Christmas edition

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE the Christmas idea! You are brilliant! You amaze me in how much kindness you are able to practice, no matter the circumstance! I hope you are feeling a bit better, though I am so glad people are stopping to show you the same kindness you show to others! I’ve also gathered up a bunch of hair supplies/toiletries to donate as Christmas gifts (the grade 5-6’s at my school are collecting for a women & children’s shelter- how great!). I also have a bunch of Christmas stuff to give away, I put an ad up online and replied to a couple people’s wanted ad but so far no luck.
    Sending you lots of love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh, so good to hear about the 5th and 6th graders: just wonderful. I’m sure you’ll find people for your donations….lots of love right back to you xxx

      Like

  2. Liane says:

    I’m sorry you’ve been unwell this week but it’s so nice to hear that people were offering to help you 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amber says:

    Thank you so much for including me in this list. My little girls have caught the giving bug. So far we have “socked” 20 people and they are asking for more. Time for a trip to the dollar store for more stockings. It is so much fun. I want to teach this more and more to them.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      It was a pleasure to include you! 20 socks…..just brilliant….makes my heart jump with happiness! We’re going to start doing the same this next week……[I think I might tell the tales on next Friday’s KCF]

      Like

  4. Barbara says:

    Thanks for sharing your “giving”! I love that you packed up your hair clips and other stuff and the excess Christmas decoratioins and donated them. Hope you are feeling much better!! Earlier this week, I took a friend to the hospital where she was getting her radiation therapy (5 more to go and praying it is ALL GONE!). On Wednesdays they serve a catered meal to all patients and whomever is with them; so we loaded up our to-go containers (they encouraged us to do that!) and took them home (my friend was too tired and drained to eat there). On the way home, she wanted to stop at the grocery store where they had cheese crackers buy one/get one free. She handed me her little change purse and said, this should be enough. Well, it wasn’t and I had not taken my purse inside with me…I was next to check out, and just told the cashier I had to run out to the car because I was short…the young woman in front asked, how much are you short and I told her I wasn’t sure but not by much. She opened her wallet and put down a hand-full of change, which was more than enough to cover the cost. Whenever I can, I “pay it forward”, or pay for someone’s purchase (at the drive thru fast food restaurants)…so, I guess this was paying it forward to me! Love reading your post!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh Barbara, you are such a wonderful person…I think if we live in kindness, we attract so many good things to our lives….hope you have a lovely weekend xxx

      Like

  5. BARBARA LONDON says:

    Would it be OK if I had your mailing address?? I am in the process of getting Christmas cards made for mailing, and want to send you one…guess I spoiled the surprise; but had to get your address!!! Barbara London

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Barbara, THANK YOU! I’ll send it to you, if you send me yours so I can send you something too xxx

      Like

      • Barbara says:

        Absolutely!! I haven’t had this much fun exchanging notes for quite some time…when I was about 16 I started writing someone from Massachusetts; we kept in touch forever – in fact, we do still exchange Christmas cards to this day (and that is many many many years later! I think I need to send her a note)…

        Like

  6. This is my FAVORITE series, Helen. Always makes me smile and feel happier about the world. Hope you’re doing better and taking care of yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

