December 7th – Handmade Christmas

Dec7Handmade

Today’s Blogmas prompt is, “Your favourite handmade presents to give or to get”.

love receiving anything that’s been handmade, as it carries a little bit of the giver with it and that’s precious to me. One thing we’ve been hand-making for a few years now is Christmas cards. In England, it’s a big part of Christmas  to give and receive Christmas cards but, where we’re living now, Christmas cards are not sent. To keep the British tradition alive, we began making Christmas cards – for his classmates and their families – when my son entered nursery. We’ve done it every year since then (wow…6 years!). The ones in the image above are ones my daughter made for her friends this year. She had a ball cutting and sticking and colouring. I love that we’ve managed to keep the tradition alive in some little way. [I still remember, from when I was little, the excitement the Christmas Post Box at school used to generate: it was an absolute highlight of the school day, in mid-December, to see a pile of cards arrive and to have the teacher hand you your little pile of cards! I used to resist and save mine to open when I was back home and up in my bedroom. It used to amaze me that someone had taken the time to buy, write on and then send me a card! I used to keep them all by my bed and look at them so many times a day! They were so, so, special to me!]

Aside from this, I’ve been hand making some presents for my daughter (my son’s a bit too big now to get excited over Mama’s handmade gifts, more’s the pity!). My Mum has sent my daughter an American Girl doll for Christmas (to appear under the tree on Christmas morning) so I’ve been busy making her some outfits (a few skirts, some easy blouses and a few pairs of leggings). My daughter is mad for changing her dolls clothes so I know this combination (doll and clothes) will be a hit. I’m also half way through making her a bunk bed (and sheets/quilts) for her doll. Before you all start to think I’m some sort of handicraft whizz, I do love to craft but have not – by any means – made the patterns or anything so accomplished! I found the instructions for various clothes here and here (pinned to my Pinterest) and the instructions for the bunk bed here (again, on my Pinterest boards). [I’m thinking that perhaps a few of you might be interested in the instructions?!].

Can’t wait to see what all the other girls who’re linking up to Blogmas post about today! I’m loving the Blogmas journey: so, so many wonderful posts and so so many wonderful women taking part! As I ‘said’ to Sandra, I hope it becomes a yearly tradition!

12 thoughts on “December 7th – Handmade Christmas

  1. Barbara says:

    My. Helen! You ARE quite the crafty one!!! Love that you are making cards WITH your children…that is a great tradition. And, making the doll clothes, bed and bedding for your daughter is awesome! I haven’t posted mine yet, but have a few things to show that I have made. I am also making Christmas cards to send out – sometimes they get bulky and bumpy because of the “bling” I put on them; but so far they have arrived OK. I’ll get my post done later today after Church and dinner at my daughters.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Barbara, LOL about the bling! I honestly have no idea how we’re going to fit some of the cards she made in their envelopes, as they’re quite bulky (but we’ll find a way!)…..love that you make cards too – how nice!

      Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    Christmas cards used to be a big thing around here but not any more. I can still remember seeing them all hanging on a bit of string in the living room year round that was put up by my mother. It was a very special thing.

    I also think it’s wonderful that you sit and make cards with your daughter, such a priceless moment so many neglect.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia – oh yes, my Gran and Grandad used to string all of their cards on a string across their living room wall. It was a definite highlight of my Christmas: firstly helping my Gran to put stamps on all of theirs and then looking – in great detail – at all the cards they’d received. I remember I used to spend what seemed to be hours looking at them….there was something so romantic and *kind* about them…..that people had taken the time to find, write and send them…..it just seemed such a beautiful thing for people to do….

      Like

  3. I love those goodies made by the kiddos. They are such heartfelt treasures and so worth keeping for remembering!

    I’m so jealous of you folks that are crafty with knitting or sewing. I think some day I could learn to knit and I know a little crochet, but I CANNOT sew to save my life! Trust me I’ve tried and I’m truly hopeless. How wonderful to be able to make clothes for the dollies though – it’d be so fun to be creative that way with patterns and things.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Oh yes: I keep most of their artwork/handicrafts (photos if they’re too bulky/large)….I can’t bear to part with any of it….I can craft with paper (scrapbooking etc) and can sew, but can’t knit or crochet……and I’d love to knit and crochet (no-ones ever satisfied, are they??!!)….thanks for your comment xx

      Like

  4. Liz says:

    Oh. my. dear. goodness. I love the idea of handmade. We live in a world filled with new, filled with technology, filled with “the latest”. I pray that I have time to do something special like this!! I think our girls would love it! Thank you so much for the idea!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi…yes, that’s why I try to make time to craft with both of mine…it teaches them patience, to slow down, creativity…so many skills that are so necessary in our ‘have it all NOW’ world….it doesn’t take long at all (don’t be put off!)….it took us about an hour to make 20 or so cards (including my 4 year old writing her name inside all of them! She’s one Very Determined Young Lady!)….[If you head here – http://www.graceuncommon.com – and sign up for the December ‘challenge’, I’ve been receiving the emails and notice that she’s had some relatively easy/quick children’s crafts suggestions over the past few days – popcorn strings…coffee filter snowflakes etc)]

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Carrie Ann says:

    Love the handmade Christmas cards, that is something I could really enjoy. Everyone has such great ideas, over the years I have really slacked off in the handmade/craft department, even though I do enjoy it :(. That will be my new years resolution, LOL.

    Like

  6. Sandra says:

    I used to make Christmas cards too, you know it seems to be me that South Africa has a lot of the same traditions as England. Love it 🙂 I haven’t made Cards in years and now you’ve given me the motivation to do so, I think I’m going to make some this week and send them out 🙂

    Oh and I am totally doing Blogmas every year, I think it is now our tradition 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh, I hope you do make some cards to send! How funny that South Africa has many of the same traditions, when places such as Australia and New Zealand don’t seem to….such great news that you’ll do Blogmas every year – I’ll definitely be a regular (I’ve found it so, so wonderful and have LOVED reading every post that everyone’s been posting!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

