December 8th – My Wish list

Today’s Blogmas prompt is, “What’s on your wish list this year?”

This is a bit of a funny one for me. I’m stuck in a foreign country with no family here and no husband/partner, so if I don’t want the children to start asking questions that I don’t want to even think about on Christmas Day, I’m going to have to buy my own presents and wrap them myself and then place them under the Christmas tree myself. It still feels weird (I’ve been giving myself pep talks for a good few weeks now!) but I’m looking on the bright side! Family will have sent presents, I’m sure, so there will be a few surprises but it somehow doesn’t feel quite the same! [Can you tell I’m still getting my head around Single Mum-dom? I’ve promised myself that once I’ve got over the ‘Christmas present dilemma’, I will be well and truly invincible!!]

So, what’s on my Wish List a.k.a. Shopping List?

Day8

1. An iPhone 6 – the big version. Can’t afford it at the moment but my accountant says it can be listed as a business expense and my mind is shouting ‘Get the Damn Thing, Helen, You Deserve It’ and ‘You can’t keep trying to run a business without your smartphone which was indispensable‘ and, ‘Really Helen, really? Are you going to take out a Nokia 7210 in meetings with people who might potentially contract your business? GET WITH IT GIRL. They want to see you’re a success not that you’re having problems‘. So….bottom line? It’s justified and has been added to the definitive Shopping List [thanks, Mum, for the help. Love you xxx]

2. Earrings. I don’t have pierced ears….bear with me. I’ve been ‘umming and aaahing’ for years about getting my ears pierced. Some days I think it’d be cool, and I could look hyper-feminine with all the pretty pretty pretty earrings I see. Other days I chicken out again, thinking it’s a silly idea for a 40-year old woman. Then I look at Kendi Everyday or Not Dressed as Lamb and I think ‘You must get them pierced. It’ll make you feel better. It’ll be a physical manifestation of a new you’…so whilst I’m still deciding, I’m going to buy myself a symbolic pair of earrings. If I decide to pierce them, I’ll wear them (obviously). If I don’t, they’ll be there on standby, waiting for me until I’ve plucked up the courage to just go for it.

3. Chanel Coco Mademoiselle. I’m currently running on fumes from my previous bottle and I’ve realised I don’t like living without it. I feel naked without my perfume. I’m expecting the first payment from a new (and big) client on the 15th and my victory dance will include heading to the perfume shop and asking them for ‘The biggest bottle of Chanel Coco Mademoiselle you have, please’.

4. Books. I have an enormous list and I’m going to treat myself. It’s Christmas after all and I’ve had a hard year!

5. New pyjamas. Soft cotton pyjamas. I work from home. If I’m not going to get dressed some days, I’m determined I’m going in to 2015 in something other than ‘hole-y, ripped, stained 15-year old nighties’…! [And….maybe….just maybe (!)…the accountant might be able to wangle them as a business expense??!! Erm…no!]

6. Last but not least….chocolates…a whole box for me. Just me. I will savour every. single. one.

Can’t wait to see what all my Blogmas buddies are lusting after!

31 thoughts on “December 8th – My Wish list

  1. Angel Jem says:

    Seriously, you don’t need to be single to buy your own presents. I always buy most of my gifts for Christmas just to be sure I get something I want.
    Love your list, though; books, perfume and a useful plaything sounds really sensible!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      LOL! I’m getting my head round it! And the littles skittled off to their rooms yesterday, amidst whispers and ‘shushes’….I think they’re making something for me: eek! Can’t wait to see it!

      Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    lol i had the funniest picture of you walking into the perfume shop all decked out James Bond on a mission style and asking that question! What’s on your Reader Christmas Wishlist lady? Do share! I’d honestly like to know all of these, what kind of pjs would you get? I’m a sucker for them myself omg i LOVE me some mjs! What kind of earrings would you get? I say go for it doing your ears btw, that choice I don’t think has to worry about age, you’re alive and you do what makes you happy. Of corse i do looooove me some earrings myself so maybe i’m bias?

    That is a very interesting perspective on the phone, i know little about owning ones own business and never knew you’d have to make that consideration from such a stand point, appearing successful to inspire success in the eyes of your client. It is both smart and scary the commitments you are held to as a business person. When the time is right i hope you go for it, I’d love to see anything that brings even a cup of happiness into your life enter it ❤

    YES! I will be buying myself a ridiculously large box of my favourite chocolates again this year as always and it is going to be beautiful! I hope it is for you too ❤

    Like

  3. Liane says:

    You should treat yourself and get the phone! I ordered the 6 plus yesterday and hopefully it will be here tomorrow! I cannot wait!

    Like

  4. I sometimes “help” my husband by picking out my own gifts! He appreciates it, and I get stuff I love! Win-win!

    Like

  5. Chelsea says:

    I just got the big iPhone 6 and I’ll tell you- it’s divine! So handy and easy I couldn’t love it more!! The earring kinda cracked me up, as I have about ten piercings in my ears;) I say go for it- is it weird to be 4o with pierced ears? I never knew- Im sure you look beautiful with or without, but could be fun!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Hah! LOL about your 10 piercings!!! I knew all my Bloggy Buddies would encourage me to get them pierced!!!! iPhone: I was looking at it (drooling over it) on Saturday afternoon – it’s so well designed, so sleek….oh my! Is it healthy to lust after a piece of technology???!!!!

      Like

  6. Barbara says:

    I loved reading your Christmas wish list…my hubby is weird about things like that – gifts, I mean! I don’t know if it’s his personality or his dementia – because in the beginning YEARS AGO he DID do gifts…but I usually just buy what I want or need WHEN I want or need it! I know that for the holidays (and b’days, etc.) my grown children and grandchildren will be buying me gifts – and those are the ones that count to me anyway! I’m with everyone else – go for it with the phone AND the earrings AND everything else. Your children will make your day HAPPY and whatever they make for you will be awesome; but they will also be happy with you if you open gifts along with them!! I’ll be sharing my list later…I think your day must be half over by now and mine is just beginning!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh Barbara, absolutely….it was a weird prompt for me because I really don’t need gifts or even want that much (aside from the perfume, LOL!)….as you say, just being in peace, and with the children is enough, really…can’t wait to see your list! [my day is just starting too! I just get up ridiculously early!]

      Like

  7. BambiLeigh says:

    Love this! You should get everything, you deserve it by the sounds of it!
    And you should get your ears pierced! What have you got to lose? If you don’t like the way the look you can just take them out – it doesn’t hurt! x

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Thanks for your comment! I’m slowly coming round – even more – to getting them pierced…..I may even make the appointment to do it TODAY!!!!! Yay!!!!!

      Like

  8. Elizabeth says:

    What a great list! I want an iPhone 6, the big one too but have to wait until time for my upgrade. Oh I need to ask for patience for Christmas. I think you should get everything you are asking for and definitely get your ears pierced.

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  9. Carrie Ann says:

    My mom was probably about 47 when she got her ears pierced. I was in Cosmetology school at the time and got credit for it, and I think that is the reason why she really did it. But to this day, she cannot be without earrings, so it could be that way for you once you finally do it (nudge, nudge, lol), you’ll probably wonder why you waited so long. 🙂

    Like

  10. Dawn says:

    Hey, I’d love to buy gifts for myself. Then it will be stuff I know I can use. Getting your ears pierced isn’t bad at all. You’ll hardly feel it and only for a second. I have never owned an iPhone but you should get it.

    Like

  11. Britney says:

    i am getting the smaller iphone 6 for christmas and i just bought myself a DLSR camera!! it’s really not that bad buying yourself gifts…but the wrapping them part would be weird haha

    go get your ears pierced lady!! who cares your age! and it really doesn’t hurt that bad at all! it’ll make you feel sassy!

    Like

  12. You definitely need to pamper yourself and dive in and get those goodies Helen! You are a gem and so deserving after all you’ve been through recently.
    I pray you have a beautiful Christmas of togetherness with your Littles and all will be well with the world no matter how many gifts are under your tree. xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia, thanks for your comment! That’s definitely what I’m wishing for as well: all is well with the world in our world…..thank you so much for your kind wishes!!

      Like

  13. Sandra says:

    You deserve to be pampered….and I say get your ears pierced, I’m 40 and mine are and I love earrings lol

    And yes, soft cotton jammies, nothing like those 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Sandra….I’m definitely coming round to the idea of piercing my ears more and more as I think about it more….I think I’m going to book the appointment and then I’ll just have to pluck up the courage and do it….!

      Like

  14. Rachel G says:

    I have two piercings in one ear and one in the other, and man, if I had to get them done again today I think I’d be too nervous! The piercing and the healing parts aren’t fun, but wearing sparkly jewelry is probably worth it! I say probably, because I honestly don’t think I could talk myself into getting anything pierced ever again, haha!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah! I’m not so worried about the actual physical piercing of it, just the fact that it’d be a permanent mark on my body if I don’t get used to wearing earrings……

      Like

  15. From one 40+ to another 40 year old you are not alone on the pierced ears front. I laughed because you are just like me. I have gone so many times to get them done and chickened out.. I think as mom’s we need to spoil and pamper ourselves just a little bit and I think since you can write the phone off as a business expense go and get one…I just got my first iphone and I am like how did i ever live without one? Its nothing fancy just a 5. Merry Christmas to you and your family it sounds like the kids are up to something 🙂 enjoy

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      We definitely need to spoil ourselves more, as Mums….I’ve booked the appointment (for next week – eek!)…..I don’t *think* I’ll back out but we’ll see…….I had an iPhone which was ‘lost’ (shall we say)….and have been struggling *so much* with managing my business without it (I have to leave my desk quite a lot, making it very difficult to handle orders/queries as they came in….

      Like

  16. Ooh channel perfume 😍 those earrings are lovely!

    Like

  17. Bah stupid predictive text!! Chanel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

