December 10th – Christmas recipes

I can’t keep talking about Christmas pudding and mince pies without offering up the recipes! So, here goes:

ChristmasPudding

Christmas pudding

(Usually made months in advance and seeped, each week or so, with ‘top up’ sherry or brandy; it still tastes wonderful if you make it on the day or the day before)

Ingredients (for 2 x 800g puddings): 175g breadcrumbs; 75g plain flour; 225g currants; 225g raisins; 225g sultanas; 25g chopped almonds; 225g brown sugar; 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon; 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg; 175g butter; 3 eggs; tablespoon of marmalade (not essential); 100ml sherry or brandy; grated rind of one lemon

Instructions: 1) Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl; 2) Melt the butter, add the eggs and mix; 3) Mix ‘wet’ and ‘dry’ ingredients; 4) Grease two pudding basins (very well) and press the mixture in to them 5) Cut greaseproof paper to about 4 inches bigger than the size of the top of the basins and brush them with oil then place them over the top of the puddings; 6) Top the puddings with foil; 7) Steam in a lidded saucepan with simmering water for around 4 hours until firm to the touch; instructions here; 8) Serve with cream 9) ENJOY!!!

MincePies

Mince pies

For the mincemeat:

175g currants; 175g sultanas; 175g raisins; 175g dried fruit; 100g mixed peel; 1 small apple (peeled, cored and chopped finely); 125g butter; 50g blanched almonds; 225g muscovado sugar; 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon; 1/2 teaspoon of mixed spice (I always add a bit more of the spices); 1 lemon (juice and peel); 200ml of brandy or rum

For the pastry:

375g flour; 260g butter; 125g white sugar; 1 large egg

Instructions:

– For the mincemeat: 1) Mix all the ingredients (except the brandy or rum) in a large pan. Heat, allowing the butter to melt 2) Simmer for 10 minutes 3) Allow to cool. When cool add the brandy or rum, mixing thoroughly. Leave to one side.

-For the pastry: 1) Mix the flour and the butter, rub to crumbs 2) Add the sugar and the egg and mix 3) Fold the mixture until it all comes together 4) Chill for 10 minutes and then roll out until it’s about 1/2 inch thick 5) You’ll need to cut out circular ‘bottoms’ and ‘tops’ (the mincemeat you made is ‘sandwiched’ between a big ‘bottom’ and a smaller ‘top’, so you need to cut ‘bottoms’ that fill your tray and a ‘top’ that’s slightly smaller and that’ll hold all the mincemeat in place without it seeping out when they’re baked)  6) Assemble mince pies: pop the ‘bottom’ in the tray, add a generous dollop of mincemeat and then seal the mince pie with the ‘top’ you cut out 7) Once they’re all assembled, brush the tops with egg 8) Bake for 15-20 minutes at 220 until golden; 9) Allow to cool and dust with icing sugar [There’s a fashion going on at the moment – in Mince Pie World – for cutting the ‘top’ in a star shape and letting the mincemeat show through (like in the second photo)…I prefer the double crust, however, as the pastry is delicious!]

I cannot wait to see all the recipes everyone will post for Blogmas today!

[Photos are not mine, unfortunately: they’re royalty-free ones I found on the internet; I’ll replace them with my photos once I’ve made the pudding and pies!]

23 thoughts on “December 10th – Christmas recipes

  1. Angel Jem says:

    Thanks! I love using recipes that other people have used and recommend. We’re not having Christmas pudding this year, but I love mince pies.

    Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    Oh man I want to taste this Christmas pudding! mince pies we know well here but before you I’d never heard of Christmas puddings and I’m so curious :d it does sound a liiiitle bit like ‘black cake’ which is a Christmas food I totally forgot to mention some how

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    These pictures and recipes are making me HUNGRY this morning! I am not sure what I will share; I need to check my recipes! I think I shared a few in my Favorite Christmas Food post; but will see what I come up with!! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Sian says:

    I’ll hold my hand up and say I often use frozen pastry. But I could add a little extra touch with the star shape idea. i like it

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah, Sian…they don’t sell the frozen pastry here hence why I have to make my own….(not complaining – I find baking so therapeutic!)………..I’m trying to find a recipe for croissant pastry, to make pan au chocolat for the littles….haven’t found a satisfactory one yet 😦

      Like

  5. Julie Kirk says:

    I’m not usually a mince pie indulger but I’ve already had 2 this winter – my favourite was the one with icing on! And I’ve just had a slice of Christmas cake [bought not homemade] with my lunch … feeling rather festive now!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Hah! Only two mince pies!!! I’ve eaten about 2 dozen…..!! Oh, Christmas cake….the littles don’t like it and I would honestly eat all of it myself if I made one….so I haven’t made one….but I can hear it calling my name so I will probably buckle……what delightful Christmas foods there are!!!!

      Like

  6. Chelsea says:

    I was wondering what Christmas pudding was- very intriguing! Would love to try it sometime!

    Like

  7. Sandra says:

    I’m so glad you posted that Mince Pie recipe, I’ve been looking for one. I think I’ll give it a try 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Ah Sandra….try this recipe….it never fails and they are delicious!!! Hope you enjoy them! [So glad to have found a fellow blogger who seems to love cooking as much as me ;)!!!!!!]

      Like

  8. Your recipes look wonderful! I love seeing something so different from our usual American traditions. And now I’m so happy that I can say I know about mince meat! Lol
    thanks for sharing Helen xo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….it’s been really great for me, seeing all the non-British recipes! I’ve written so many down today, to make them in the coming weeks, and beyond……

      Like

  9. Carrie Ann says:

    I have never had a mince pie, but I have heard of them, they do look good…can they be counted as a serving of fruit for the day? Or does the brandy cancel that out? LOL.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      You should make them….and absolutely! They definitely count as the fruit quotient….I have been known to eat up to my five portions per day, LOL!!!! Brandy augments the delights/health benefits of the fruit, LOL!!!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Celes :) says:

    Thank yo so much for the recipes! I’ll save the pudding for next Winter, it will be great for a cold July afternoon 🙂

    Like

  11. I always make MinceMeat Pies too..its a staple in our house

    Like

Leave a Reply

