Kindness Counts Friday: Christmas Edition No. 2

ChristmasKindnessCounts

It’s Friday…it’s Kindness Counts Friday (I’m hosting, whilst Kim is on a blog break)…and this week? Another Christmas edition! Yay!

Time to recount all the kind acts you’ve engaged in or witnessed and time for me to do a round-up of kindness-related posts that have struck me this week as I’ve been moseying through Internet Land.

Our kind acts:

– We’ve been baking like we’ve been possessed by some sort of fiendish Baking Monster…biscuits for presents, fancy muffins for nursery friends, ‘Santa hat brownies‘ for my son’s school friends, cakes for all and sundry…you name it, we’ve baked it this week! There’s something so satisfying about baking, isn’t there?

– We’ve made some stockings for the Love Train idea (explained in detail here). We’ll be delivering them to children in need over the next few weeks.

-My son’s finished school for the year (yeah!) and his three pairs of school shoes – which he was bursting the seams of – have been donated for other children. As have most of his school shirts and shorts (along with some packs of basic school supplies). They were all still very useable, just getting too small for him. It felt good to do this as, where we live, there’s a high percentage of children who are unable to get an education because their parents can’t afford basic school supplies or transport.

Posts I’ve loved (sorry – very scarce this week – what with everything that’s happening at home for Christmas and blogging for Blogmas, I’ve not had much time to read around the web like I usually do…but it is a really good one!):

-Love anything that Alexandra Franzen writes but really loved this post – entitled ‘What’s your choice’…do go and read it. It’ll have you thinking and wondering how you can change your ways.

And – last but not least – for any of my readers who like to go the whole hog during festive season (LOL!)…

addcaf2d5a5d8ff35b350bc9018bdebd

[Instructions here]

Don’t say I don’t kindly offer my readers the Very Best Beauty Instructions!

12 thoughts on “Kindness Counts Friday: Christmas Edition No. 2

  1. Chelsea says:

    Lol- that is to much!! So fun, actually my daughter would love it!! I love all the giving and outreach you and your kids do at Christmas time- it’s so important for kiddos to see that, I think. Can’t wait to check out those brownies- I need to hop into that kitchen a bit more!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….yes, I thought she might love it! Do make the brownies….they’re delicious (although I have to admit I cheated and used a packet Brownie mix – slap my hands! – just didn’t have enough time to make from scratch!)…..

      Like

  2. Barbara says:

    Loved reading this; kindness to others is so scarce, for sure! And love that you are instilling that into your son’s life! And I love the idea of reading others blogs and highlighting one or two or however many “touch” you! Well, let’s just say I LOVED reading this post! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Sian says:

    haha! love the hairdo.

    I wish you had been here this morning. I’m not what you’d call a natural born baker. but the coffee morning fundraiser is tomorrow and so I did 4 dozen mince pies. Making them for the family is one thing, making them for a real audience is something else. Hope they’re ok!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Sian! I’m definitely going to do the hairdo at some point before Christmas! How I would have *loved* to have been in your kitchen making mince pies with you this morning! Even the thought is just delightful!

      Like

  4. Rachel G says:

    Christmas baking is one thing I’ll really miss this year! I loved making a variety of Christmas cookies–and I know my grandma and grandpa always looked forward to two of my recipes (one preferred the molasses, the other preferred the mint), I’m bummed that I can’t make them for them this year! I’d assign my younger sister to the chore but she lives too far away from them, too.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia…..I said…you’ll have to modify it and go on a cookie hunt….or buy a little ‘portable’ oven and make some……? You can’t miss out on the pleasure!

      Like

  5. I love these posts you share about kindness.

    My favorite act of kindness this week was telling my cousin who owns a small shop that we would be helping their drive for Toys for Tots. Little did I know, she was going to help donate to the orphanage food drive we’re having at our work. So we basically did a switch to make some children happy for Christmas.

    I love when people think of others. It just brings me so much joy.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….thanks……love that you’re switching like that…so great! And yes, it brings me joy too….so much joy…..[haven’t been able to pop over with your blog….time has been very limited this week but will do on Sunday morning before my littles wake up!]

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Gabriele says:

    I love the silly hairdo. Wish my hair would reach into a bun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

