Kindness Counts Friday: Christmas Edition No. 3

ChristmasKindnessCounts

Kindness Counts Friday….one of the highlights of my blogging week! [I’m hosting, still, whilst Kim is on a blogging break – waving madly at Kim (and wishing her a Very Merry Christmas!)]

Here goes. Time to recount some of the kind acts we’ve engaged in or witnessed, and some of the wonderful kindness-related ‘things’ I’ve seen on my travels around the internet.

Kind acts we’ve engaged in:

– We took some basic food supplies to the local food bank (rice, sugar, pasta, bottles of oil etc.). We were told that this food would be the only food some families would see all Christmas. Needless to say, we popped back a few days later with some more packages of basic supplies.

– We donated some food packages to people we see in our daily lives.

– We made up some stockings for children housed at a local charity and left them at the reception the other day. They cost a few dollars each one and I can’t imagine what impact they’ll have on the children who receive them.

Kind acts we’ve witnessed:

Too many. I was waiting for my littles the other morning, on the steps of the local shopping centre, and I was amazed, as I stood there, just watching everyone walk up and down the stairs: grandchildren helping their frail grandparents, touching their arms, giving them a bit of extra support; a brother helping his sister (leg in pot) down the stairs; a taxi driver helping a Mum with her shopping bags. It was a veritable kindness feast that honed my eyes to be on the lookout for kindness. Loved it. It was like a warm bath for the soul, seeing so many tiny acts of kindness, all of which seemed insignificant alone but which, when taken as a whole, reminded me of the extreme potential power of kindness. If only we could extend our kindnesses to people who aren’t immediate family or friends (for we are all human after all!)….the world would be an amazing place in which to live.

Kindness-related posts I’ve seen on my internet travels:

– This post from Marie Forleo. Adore her. Adore all she does. Love this post of hers. Hoping some of you might consider donating or might consider sharing, on social media, her request for donations for her campaign (to provide funds for projects involved in providing clean water).

This post from Momastery. Glennon is so human. I think all Mamas have been in a similar situation (well, maybe not quite so bad!) and I loved how she wrote about the impact of the small kindness of the guard.

Last but not least. I rarely watch the news but couldn’t help but hear the news of the Sydney attack and the attack on the school in Pakistan, both of which just about broke my already fragile heart in to pieces. I can’t put my thoughts in to words but wanted to post this image that I saw on Eden’s blog:

10848221_805759809462163_1374458767_n

There are still helpers, still people who stand up against evil in all its forms, rage against injustice and hate and wrongdoing, or who quietly, silently, cry and vow to do better themselves every day so that their example shines out as a beacon against all that is wrong. 

Here’s to the helpers. To the people who take a stand for what is right in a world where so much is wrong. As Marie Forleo quotes (from William James) in her post about her campaign, “Act as if what you do makes a difference. It does“.

My heart goes out to all those families who’ve lost loved ones this week, whatever nationality, creed or religion. A child is a child is a child, no matter what age, race, gender, religion. The tears all of those mothers have already cried, and will still cry for the rest of their lives, will burn equally, will sear equally deep and immovable scars on all of their hearts.

Let’s try to be helpers, shall we?

Spread a little extra kindness this week, ladies…

…spread your kindness so thick it sticks…

Hate prevails wherever love has been lost.

14 thoughts on “Kindness Counts Friday: Christmas Edition No. 3

  1. Chelsea says:

    Beautiful and heart wrenching. Love the mr Rogers quote, I am such a baby and just can’t watch the news, it stays with me, haunts me- but I like that- look for the helpers. On a brighter note- I bet your kiddos are loving doing all the outreach projects- now that’s Christmas!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Chelsea, I’m the same….just can’t watch the news…..yes, the littles are enjoying the outreach ideas….they’re asking what else we can do (love them so much!)

      Like

  2. Liane says:

    That quote about helpers is beautiful 🙂

    Just last week Anthony & I decided to donate some food to our local food bank this Christmas. We don’t have a lot but we have more than some people and we want to pass some of that along x

    Like

  3. You are the sweetest person! I’m waving madly back at you- I have loved all your Christmas posts (especially the ornaments!) and I hope you continue to enjoy this season with the littles! I am so thankful for you, continuing to keep these posts going (though I don’t want you to feel obligated!!!!) I love that Mr. Rogers quote, in times like this week I always take so much solace in those words.It’s so easy to get lost in the bad news but there is still so much good. You are a huge part of that good, in your community and now thanks to the internet in a much bigger sphere! I love the amount of kindness you and the littles are able to share every week! I find you absolutely inspiring and I hope that as I continue to grow and learn that I can take steps to be a little kinder each day!

    Sending you so much holiday love right now!! Enjoy this time with your family 🙂

    Like

  4. blondeusk says:

    Great post (again) ‘I will Bloom’! I love your acts of kindness. Merry xmas 🙂

    Like

  5. Barbara says:

    Love that quote from Mr. Rogers! And I love watching others (or hearing about others) who are showing their acts of kindness…I don’t much like watching the news either because of all the bad. I love the acts of kindness you share with your children; good to teach them when they are young! A couple of weeks ago, I gave a pair of shoes to my neighbor – I bought them on sale and they were too small; I thought I could wear them, but the one time I did, realized I would not be able to use them. They sat for a couple of months and when I had the opportunity, I realized they were the perfect size for my neighbor who teaches at a private school (and is most likely on her feet all day)…I love this Kindness Counts Friday, and may either do this or a Count Your Blessings day in the new year. Thank you for sharing your heart…and for following my blog as well! May you and your children have a blessed Christmas and the happiest of New Years!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Barbara, such a lovely comment….what a lovely gift for your neighbour….it’s things like that that make all the difference, isn’t it? Would love it if you join in with Kindness Counts Friday….I’d definitely join in with your Count Your Blessings day…..[feel a bit bad that I haven’t been so good at following your blog the last few days, but I’m there in spirit if not ‘in person’!!!]

      Like

      • Barbara says:

        HI!! I would LOVE to join with you in Kindness Counts Friday…I may wait until after the holidays to begin this “new” weekly post – but need to decide what day I’ll do which of the others…Counting Blessings and Kindness are so close together in what they are – I may just join the one that has other followers already!!!

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Hi Barbara…..I’ll look forward to seeing any and all posts of yours!

        Like

  6. hopecarrart says:

    Kindness Friday is one my favorite readings of yours, wishing many kindnesses to yours and your littles this Christmas and the Year to come. PS still working on that music disc for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

