Universal Letter Writing Week

I will – I promise! – be around again shortly with an original “quality content”-type post.

[I have bloggers block as I can’t find the right angle/words to write the post I want to start 2015 with. I’ve challenged myself to sit at my laptop from 6am on Sunday morning until I’ve finished it. As the littles get hungry around 8am, I guess I have around 2 hours to nail it!].

In the meantime….

woman-of-letters-1

One of my favourite online thinker/doers, Alexandra Franzen, has just posted about the fact that it’s Universal Letter Writing Week from the 8th-14th January. “Eek!” (she squeals in a fit of excitement!).

[I know I’m not the only one who’ll be excited about this fact as I know a lot of my readers are letter loving people as well!]

Head over to Alexandra’s blog** and sign up for a newsletter (with prompts) that she’ll be sending out every day next week, with a promise to share some of the greatest letters of all time.

Be still my beating heart!

If only I’d known about this sooner, I’d have arranged to set up a ‘letter writing swap’ or something. Actually, if any of you are interested in such an idea, let me know in the comments and it might be possible to arrange a swap later in the week (it’d ‘just’ be gathering/partnering/sending out addresses, after all).

It’d be rather cool to think of some of my readers writing, sending and receiving hand written letters to/from each other!

**I don’t know Alexandra but admire her greatly for her clarity of thought/written expression and, as I say, thought some of you may not have seen her post and would appreciate it’s content!

25 thoughts on “Universal Letter Writing Week

  1. That sounds like a GREAT idea! I miss hand-written letters!

    But I can’t write them. I only have partial use of my “write” hand” because of an accident several years ago, and writing out a check is about my limit, in terms of endurance and readability.

    And they’re not always readable. (Sigh)

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh Andrew….I don’t think it *has* to be handwritten….anything written with care/love and attention and posted by mail would qualify 😉 Let’s hope others feel the same and we can get the swap going! Helen

      Like

      • Barbara says:

        Yes, Andrew – a type-written – FROM THE HEART letter would be most welcome!

        And, Helen…I think that would be an awesome idea!! The information she put on her blog said something about sending 7 letters to 7 people you don’t “know”. We “KNOW” one another through our blogs; but I think that would also count!

        I did the card swap with “fmfpartysnailmail” in December; 6 of us were randomly (or somehow put together by the “administrator” of the swap. Then we send ONE card to one of the names each week for 5 weeks; I did that – but also sent a hand-made Christmas card to each of them. I loved receiving mail during the holidays – and anytime!

        Anytime I receive a card or note in the mail, I am excited!

        SO…I AM IN WITH THIS!!! I will be BUSY BUSY BUSY writing next week!!! I am READY to see what you have to say to start your 2015…I just jumped in with the first Friday – Random Journal Day and am waiting for the others to start back next week!

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Hi Barbara….great that you’re in! A few people have said the same so I’ll wait until Friday to see how many people are ‘in’ and will sort/swap names/addresses next weekend! Helen xx

        Like

  2. alexa says:

    What a brilliant photo! And I don’t know Alexandra’s blog, so off to read in a moment. A handwritten letter swap sounds lovely …

    Like

    • Barbara says:

      Oh, Alexa! You have used my new favorite word – “lovely” – because my blogging friend (and yours!!) uses it a lot!! Right, Helen?!

      Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        LOL Barbara! [I had to restrain myself from using it in my reply to your previous comment! And had to laugh when I caught a bit of Bridget Jones’ Diary on the end of a DVD I was watching….the snippet contained the ‘L’ word about four times in a three minute-ish section! British, ey?!!

        Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Alexa…a few people have said the same so I’ll wait until Friday to see how many people are ‘in’ and will sort/swap names/addresses next weekend! Great stuff! Helen xx

      Like

  3. Zoe Rose says:

    Love that it’s letter writing week next week:) I have a post related project coming up in the next few days too so it’s perfect timing. Happy to swap addresses- I have used post able in the past.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Zoe! Yes – isn’t it GREAT that there’s a letter writing week?! I’ll look forward to your post-related project! A few people have said they’d be interested in participating in the swap, so I’ll wait until Friday to see how many people are ‘in’ and will sort/swap names/addresses next weekend! Helen P.S. Happy New Year, by the way!

      Like

  4. Barbara says:

    Helen, I actually replied under Andrew’s comment! But…I AM IN!!

    Like

  5. Carrie Ann says:

    LOVE this pic!! That is exactly how I feel most of the time, lol. Letter writing week….how awesome!! I simply love to write, and a hand written letter is so rare these days, when I was growing up I had a few pen pals I wrote to regularly. A letter swap would be so much fun!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….a few people have said the same so I’ll wait until Friday to see how many people are ‘in’ and will sort/swap names/addresses next weekend! Helen P.S. Have we said ‘Happy New Year’…?! If not…Happy New Year (I’ve been feeling slightly ‘off it’ the past few days and my brain is fried 😉

      Like

  6. Lizelle says:

    Of my love of Snail mail you can be sure! I letter swap?! love it! Alas mail takes so very long to get to and from this island I wouldn’t want to have to suffer through being my partner on this lol Excited to see how this proceeds!

    Like

    • Barbara says:

      I would say, Lizelle, that would be a perfect reason to partner with you on this!!! I love letter writing as well…but have not been as persistant with it as I should be! I love this challenge and excited to see how it will work!! Have you read Alexandra’s post? She went into a little about it; sending a “prompt” each day from the 8th – the 14th…so we shall see! But after that…would LOVE the idea of a PenPal…

      Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….I’m going to count you in as I think your swap-ee would be happy to receive mail whenever it arrived… 🙂

      Like

  7. Sian says:

    Letter writing week? Just in time to send out some thank you letters, too. I didn’t know about this. Thank you!

    Like

  8. Angel Jem says:

    I love getting letters, but I’m a really bad respondent. Do the letters have to be posted to arrive during universal letter writing week, or could I offer to join in and write the letters the week after if (as I suspect) next week explodes with much to do? If people are patient, then the answer is yes. Please. That would be lovely.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia…..I’ve *really* not thought it through and am actually quite overwhelmed by the positive response….I should think ‘whenever you could send it within a reasonable timeframe’ would work for everyone! **So** pleased you’re in!!!!!

      Like

  9. Yelle says:

    oh this is a wonderful idea and a great way to start the year! if you do put together a swap, please let me know!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia…..a lot of people have said they’d be interested so it seems like its ‘go’….!! Will definitely let you know the logistics…..I’ll wait a few more days to see if any other people sign up and will send out an email with more details! So great you’re joining in (LOVE your blog: off to add you to my Bloglovin feed…) Helen xx

      Like

  10. Chelsea says:

    I love your enthusiasm. Oh my I’m terrible at letter writing and hate to say this, but I don’t miss it at all. There’s something so romantic about it for sure, but I’m just bad at it. My sweet mom, use to write all my thank you notes for me, because I disliked it so:) maybe I should just stick to blogging and emails!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.con

    Like

Leave a Reply

