My guiding word for 2015

I’m sure you’ve all heard the idea? To choose a word and to let that word shape your year? I’ve been doing it for a few years (my previous words have included ‘Move’ and ‘Courage’). This year, as so many times in the past, my word screamed itself at me as I sat working one day and then refused to unclench its teeth until it had solidified itself as part of my life from that moment on.

What word? (I hear you ask?)

Best

Best efforts (in all things) =

Best Helen (in all ways) = Happy Mama = Best Mama

= Best life for my littles & for me

Best

I say screamed, but it actually probably started as a whispered question from that little voice that speaks volumes (when I’m quiet) – my intuition. She started asking me, “What would your best life look like?”, “How could you make 2015 better….no….how could you make 2015 the best year of your life?” (Yep, she became decidedly less ‘whispery’, and much more persistent, as time went on).

I began thinking in depth about these questions and went on quite a journey. Involving – amongst many other things – being strongly drawn towards opening the copy of The Alchemist I’d had on a shelf for at least fifteen years (thanks, Mum, for sending it…how on Earth you knew I needed to read it, I’ll never know, but hope to attain, and then retain, this level of mother-daughter telepathy with my daughter when she grows up!). You know when you know you should read a book but you’re just not ready for it yet? This was that book for me [Hats off to Paolo Coelho; I see, now, why he’s sold 150,000,000+ books!].

Anyway, I digress. I started to think about what my journey looks like (and, consequently, what our journey looks like) and I began to dream. Big dreams. The bigger the better. I wrote them all down.

I then started to ‘reverse engineer’. What, for example, would I need to do by ‘x’ date if I want to achieve that dream by ‘y’ date? I ended up with a whole bunch of manageable ‘chunks’ of dreams, bite-sized nuggets leading to the whole roast chicken (strange metaphor for a vegetarian. Strange metaphor, period…it’s late. I’ve been writing this post for about 2 weeks, bear with me…it’s an energy block hanging round my neck now, I just need to get it out there!). Goals per day/week/month which, if worked through and attained, would lead to major changes/fulfilment of said big dreams.

OK. At this stage, I now had a whole bunch of dreams written down and a series of timelines/manageable chunks mapping out how to get there. “What’s stopping me?” my intuition began to whisper again (the little minx). My more practical self realised that if I were to achieve even a few of the little ‘nuggets’, I’d have to make some fairly radical changes in my life. I’d have to push through stuff I’ve been avoiding, face situations I don’t like, do things I haven’t been able to do.

Cue Pinterest (another little minx – a time-sapping minx) and this timely image (which popped out at me as I was browsing one night):

tumblr_m090e8hEiT1r0ro8oo1_500

Of course. I need to get out of my comfort zone. “Cool. I can do that”, I said, voice trembling slightly. I set to work. I’m a scientist by training (that’s kind of how my mind works, still, even though my soul’s telling me I SHOULD WRITE FICTION – yes, she does SHOUT this particular instruction!).

I decided I needed some measurables here, so I can see that all the effort’s having an effectthus building in accountability (it’s shown to be having an effect and I stop actioning the actionables, ceasing said effect, then I’d only have my lazy good-for-nothing self to blame!).

What could I do to challenge myself to work through my ‘comfort zone issues’?

“Wellness”, shouted my intuition. “Wellness dimensions”. There’s seven of them (physical – intellectual – occupational – social – emotional/mental – environmental – spiritual). I currently score pretty darn low on all of them (apologies for the Very Low Tech graphic!):

Wellness

Note that my score on ‘social’ is as high as it is because of all the wonderful people I’ve met through blogging (who nourish my spirit and mind so much), and all my wonderful friends from home who’ve kept me going through some dark, dark times. As a friend from home said to me recently, “Helen, going out to buy hamster food does not qualify as a meaningful social interaction”. After sheepishly admitting that, in fact, it does not, I realised many things have to change.

They say once you know the worst, you can only improve upon it. [And, really Helen? Really? Honestly? You’re alive (a veritable miracle!) and you’re scoring 1s and 2s on fairly major life axes? Really? Bells should have been ringing long ago!]…So that’s what I’m going to do. Improve on it. I’m going to measure my wellness every month as I pass through my ‘baby steps to big goals = best life’ plan. I’m fairly sure that if I do everything I’m supposed to do (actioning my daily actionables) my scores will improve.

So, in a nutshell. 2015 has to be better than the last (which will probably go down in history as anyone’s worst year ever). I’ve got some major life goals I’m brewing. I’ve broken them down in to stages, and these stages in to daily actionables. The plan is that these actionables become habits and habits become small changes and small changes become big changes until – voila! – we’re living our best life. Increasing my – our – overall wellness in all areas as a wonderful – more than welcome – side effect.

“Sounds like a plan, Batman” said Robin.

Cue gratuitous men in tights image…(sorry, ladies, Robin Hood’s much sexier in tights but I don’t think Robin Hood ever said ‘Sounds like a plan’ to Little John and I, for one, definitely don’t want to see Little John in tights…!)

2854b9072aee474f05a427f302cd67f3

As I was going through this whole process, brewing this whole new approach (‘Get the Life You’ve Always Dreamed Of In Five Easy Steps‘ – if I were ever to market this baby, LOL!), I read this somewhere, shortly after my word spoke to me, claiming its place in my life, my journey. It made me cry, it’s so perfect…

“The rest of my life will be the best of my life”

It’s up to me to make sure of it.

I am, after all, “…the master of my fate…the Captain of my soul”.

Ain’t no-one else guiding this ship, matey, it’s all down to me!

And I’m biting at the bit, anxious to “get a move on” (as my Grandad always said).

I deserve a life that feels like my own. 

My best life. 

[I’ll be posting more details on various aspects of the process in later posts: my planner, my vision board, the steps I’m taking to improve my wellness scores etc: hopefully it might be useful to some of my readers!]

23 thoughts on “My guiding word for 2015

  1. I can’t wait to follow your BEST journey, Helen! My words also tend to set up residence in my brain and not leave.

    Like

  2. Eva says:

    I feel like “change for the best” has been a bit of my slogan for years now. I wish you all the best of luck, but take it easy… don’t be too hard on yourself on this journey/year! I like the way you describe your soul. I wish mine screamed at me like that, haha!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Eva…totally get you when you say ‘take it easy’…but I feel I need to be hard on myself to get these habits nailed down…..it’s mostly me trying to control some emotional issues (abuse kind of does that to you, unfortunately)….I’m feeling like it’s going to be a good year, so at the moment I’m just championing that feeling 🙂

      Like

      • Eva says:

        You know what you need more than anyone else! I wish you as enjoyable of a year as possible ❤

        Like

  3. Love your word! I can’t wait to see what this bright and beautifully New Year will bring you as you reach out of that comfort zone and work towards the BEST you. A big step always, in my opinion, is in the planning and the sharing. Now on to the implementing! Thanks for taking us on the journey. xo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks so much for your comment, Carrie. Yes, it really felt, for me, like the planning was the hardest part. Facing a lot of realities I was avoiding facing…it’s been very hard emotionally these last few weeks as I’ve battled myself but I feel I’m on the other side, and raring to start implementing!

      Like

  4. Angel Jem says:

    And remember that best doesn’t mean perfect! It means best for you at your point of life!
    I love the wellness chart; and the idea that buying hamster food doesn’t count as proper, meaningful social interaction (my Mumself of babies ten years ago would have made a good argument for that as proper social interaction if only as compared to the terrible twos and troublesome threes I was living alongside then! A polite please and thank you to and from a shop assistant was class!)
    Good luck and keep us informed!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi: oh absolutely, ‘best’ is leagues away from perfect [I’m not much of a perfectionist, more of a ‘jobs done satisfactorily and I enjoyed it too’ kind of person ;)]…LOL…I think all Mamas of small children can totally relate to the ‘hamster food’ idea….;) Will definitely be checking in with progress….thank you xx

      Like

  5. Lizelle says:

    I know EXACTLY what you mean about knowing you need to read a book but also knowing you’re not ready to, hat has happened to me so many times! I Thank God for such intuition as those and the resources to attain them though! I think it is a deep deep treasured blessing to be able to hear the voice of your soul in a language you can understand, i don’t thin everyone gets that in a life time…

    This post is filled with so many exciting things Helen! I can’t wait to see read all about it!!

    (You bracketed snark always makes me grin)

    Wishing you the BEST in 2015!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi you, yeah, I think intuition is a really powerful sense to have and I’m realising not everyone has it (which is weird, for me, as I’ve always known I’ve had it and always kind of relied on it, too)….I’ll definitely be posting more about my journey…[with bracketed snarks – it’s never good to take oneself too seriously, you know ;)]

      Like

  6. alexa says:

    Now there’s a word that is really going to strut its stuff in your life, Helen! Very excited for you, and sending you lots of encouragement from up here (and hoping it reaches you!).

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah, Alexa….I love the ‘strut your stuff’ imagery your words conjured up! Encouragement received and used to strengthen my vision that bit more xxxx

      Like

  7. Barbara says:

    Love your word…BEST!! And the planning and soul-searching you must have put into gathering all of this information – and listening to your soul!! I am so excited for you – and excited to follow you for the year 2015…a phrase that may be out-dated, but I recall kids saying…YOU GO, GIRL!!! And you CAN be the BEST HELEN that you can be!! Blessings to you as you take this journey to your BEST YOU in 2015!!! I’ll be there!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Barbara – yeah, the whole process took an age (hence my being quiet on the blog)….and, I have to say, has left me feeling rather low on energy (so many emotional ‘issues’ to have faced head on all at once). But it’s done, I feel better, generally, and I feel *deep down* that a positive change, and a good time in my life, is coming. [LOL: I say ‘you go girl’ all the time!!!]….thank you so much for your kind, kind, comment, as always xxx

      Like

  8. Jennifer says:

    Loved reading about your plans for this year. The chart on comfort zone and where the magic happens was great. So very true. It’s just dealing with the anxiety involved while getting to the magic, that stumps me. ;( I wish you all the “best” in this new year and am looking forward to following your journey. 🙂

    Like

  9. Chelsea says:

    Cheers- to our best life yet!! I love the quote at the bottom- so inspiring, as are you Helen! I love the way you look at life and find ways to make it science and break it down and tackle it head on. I hope that this year is in fact your best yet- and you find much much happiness and peace and adventure!!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

  10. Gabriele says:

    You go girl! And don’t forget to Ribbistrate.

    Like

  11. The comfort zone is just so COMFY! haha. You always find the best images to go with your ideas 🙂 I am sure if you ask the littles they’d say you are already the best mama, but it never hurts to strive to be better! I really like this idea of trying to focus on a word, I think I will spend a little time thinking up my own word (‘patience’ comes to mind, or ‘smile’) I’ve lost my way a bit lately so I need something to bring me back to my path! Completely unrelated to this lovely post (and it was lovely), I hope you and the littles had an AMAZING Christmas together and that you had a chance to put your feet up and relax even just for 10 minutes!

    Sending you lots of air hugs!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….yeah, comfy comfort zones, the little devils! Sorry to hear you’ve lost your way….(that sounds so sad)…..sending you air hugs reinforced with battalions of positive energy minions!)…..xxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

