Five Minute Friday: Welcome

Joining in with Five Minute Friday: this week’s word Welcome….

Welcome

Start

I’m at a time in my life where I find I’m welcoming uncertainty. I have my arms open wide and I welcome it, embrace it. Sounds strange, doesn’t it? How can one welcome uncertainty?

I’ve experienced events, situations, that people shouldn’t ever have to experience and I made it through, we made it through. In order to survive that time, I learnt to let go. As a survival mechanism. Let go of what? Expectations. ‘The way things should be‘. I also learnt to let go of grief (for the loss of a relationship, the loss of a way of life, the total loss of respect and love for someone you had held dear, opened your life for, are deaths). And perhaps the worst one: I slowly learnt to let go of the picture of the future I’d envisioned and had been giving my all for.

Only by letting go was I able to survive. Had I held dear, held on for dear life, I’d surely have been lost, my soul, my spirit, perishing, little by little. It was self preservation, you see, this letting go. And now, I see, sometimes one has to welcome uncertainty as part and parcel of letting go.

No-one knows what life has in store for them. Destiny has a way of finding you, no matter what, no matter how comfortable you think you are. It’ll seek you out, open your eyes, shake you until you realise what it is you actually need to do.

I’m learning to listen to my inner guide, my soul, my intuition, and – as an important part of this – to welcome uncertainty. Uncertainty can cause anxiety, can generate worry but it can, if you learn to look at the flip side of it, make you so much more aware of what you do have, of what is actually important. It can turn your life upside down but, you know, sometimes upside down is actually the right way up.

Welcome uncertainty, I say: sometimes a new perspective is exactly what you need and nothing will give you a clearer new perspective than a dash of uncertainty.

End (5 minutes exactly!)

 

31 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Welcome

  1. Chelsea says:

    Yay- good for you! I had to learn welcome uncertainty in my own way a couple years ago when my husband quit his job and we took up farming. I will be honest in that it was one of the best things I’ve done. Life will never be certain and it’s best to be open to that and find peace in it. Wishing you well in this and have no qualms that you will handle it with grace and eagerness!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. joanneviola says:

    Stopping by from Five Minute Friday – Happy New Year 🙂 As I read your post, this is the Scripture which came to mind >>> “So don’t worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” (Matthew 6:34) God knows exactly what we need to meet the challenges we face each day & He will equip us & give us the strength. Blessings!

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    You have welcomed uncertainty; you have let go of what was – what you held dear. You have shared your heart and soul – and you have opened them to what God will lead you to…what he IS leading you to! Yes, uncertainty IS good – and you are on your way to a wonderful future (AND present) for yourself along with you two little ones! Many blessings to you as you continue your journey of uncertainty into that future!!

    As always, reading your heart!

    Like

  4. Anita Ojeda says:

    I’m so glad that you can let go and forgive–that’s so important. May God continue to be with you on your journey as you face (and embrace) the uncertainties.

    Like

  5. I completely agree that overcoming uncertainty can be a good thing. How could you “take a leap of faith” or “take a walk on the wild side” or many other wonderful things out of our comfort zone if we gave in to uncertainty.

    Well said Hon! Have a wonderful weekend. XO

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Exactly, but, you know, I’ve found it’s all definitely a ‘bit by bit’ process….you learn one part, digest, learn another, digest, and move on and on, forwards, like that, gaining a little more strength and confidence with each little lesson learnt. After a while, the lessons, collectively, aren’t so little any longer.

      Like

  6. Rachel G says:

    Life itself is full of uncertainty, so i think it’s worthwhile to welcome it rather than let anxiety about the uncertainty take over (which is all too easy to do!!).

    Like

  7. Gabriele says:

    I’ve just been texting with my daughter who has experienced a great loss. She just can’t stop talking about it. People are telling her to let go but she can’t yet. I admire you for going forward. I’m sure sometimes it swells up inside for you as well. Time has to do its thing…….right?

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Gabriele, absolutely…..time has to pass to give you the perspective you need to move on….[I’m really sorry to hear about your daughter. Wishing you all well].

      Like

  8. Sian says:

    Yep, keep those arms open because you never know what’s round the corner

    Like

  9. positiveadoption says:

    I have been learning this same lesson. I love this-“Only by letting go was I able to survive. Had I held dear, held on for dear life, I’d surely have been lost, my soul, my spirit, perishing, little by little. It was self preservation, you see, this letting go. And now, I see, sometimes one has to welcome uncertainty as part and parcel of letting go.” I am learning little by little- unclenching my hands and letting go. Blessings!

    Like

  10. Such a powerful post, Helen! Letting go is truly one of the things I absolutely need to learn to do more and better – practice it, and embrace it.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks for your comment! It’s difficult but one of the key pieces to truly having control of your own thoughts (which means having control of your own life/destiny).

      Like

  11. alexa says:

    A thoughtful post that will chime with many of us, Helen. Knowing that the one certainty is uncertainty/change and being able to flow with it – such a great thing to be able to do. And we never know where it will take us … Caminante, no hay camino … :). Wishing for you all that you need.

    Like

  12. micey says:

    I think it’s great you’re welcoming uncertainty. Takes courage to let go of expectations. Personally, I tend to expect way too much of others when I should be expecting myself to love others just the way they are. You keep moving forward. You’re moving in the right direction for sure. 🙂

    Like

  13. Leah A says:

    So true and so brave.

    Like

  14. Liz says:

    “Uncertainty can cause anxiety”…ugh; story of my life. I love this!! We are often so busy trying to “let go” or “get rid of”, that we often forget to welcome. Beautiful!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

