Project 52

A few months ago, my wonderful blogging friend Chelsea from Hollands Reverie asked if I’d like to do a Project 52 challenge with her (a photography challenge to take a photo a week). I was a little taken aback, to be honest, as she has crazy good photography skills, but I decided to give it a go as I’m always up for a challenge!

We made a list of topic ideas for each week’s photos and decided to focus on portraits. I failed, spectacularly, to get any portrait shots for the first two weeks, but I love the photos I took…

Week 1: Beauty (in the small things)

Beauty2

[Couldn’t resist this shot of my daughter as she rescued a butterfly that was trapped under a water spout. She’s the very definition of someone who finds beauty in the small things]

Week 2: Peace

Peace2

[A view from our home: I’d looked up from a moment of quiet desperation to find this scene]

We’ll be posting our Project 52 photos every second Thursday. Our next two words are ‘Devotion’ and ‘Play’. My aim is to head ‘out and about’ with my camera to capture portraits ‘on the street’. Life got in the way during the busy school holidays season but I’m determined to capture two ‘from the street’ portrait shots for our next post on the 29th!

Please head over to Chelsea’s post here to see her beautiful images for the first two weeks!

12 thoughts on “Project 52

  1. What a great challenge to encourage you to acknowledge and capture little things and moments out of an ordinary day 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia, yes, its definitely got me back to using the camera (which I never had out of my hand a few years ago)…I’m also doing Project Life so this has fitted in really well (most of the outtakes have ended up in my PL spreads for the first two weeks!)

      Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    I’m also doing Project 52 this year. I was going to post mine at the end of each month though 🙂 Yay for company!

    Like

  3. Chelsea says:

    Wow!!! Your images are beautiful! I’ve been so excited to finally get to see them. I love the one of your little girls hands – the light, the sweet chubby hands and the moment are depicted perfectly. Well done!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. alexa says:

    Such a lovely contrast – looking down and looking up and finding something special in both :).

    Like

  5. Your daughter’s adorable little hands! 🙂 🙂 🙂 And rescuing a butterfly. So tender! Also great shot!

    Like

  6. Gabriele says:

    I lOve the butterfly in your daughters hand.,

    Like

Leave a Reply

