Five Minute Friday: Send

Joining in with Five Minute Friday: this week’s word….

 Send

Start

I’ve declared 2015 my year of ‘best’: best efforts in all things, best me, best life, best life for my littles, best choices out of all possible choices, best decisions (using my ‘long-term’ lens)….best everything, basically.

This comes after a couple of years of living in sheer and abstract terror, much of the time, and in fear for the remainder of that time. Fear of what was, of what has been and, perhaps worse, fear of what might be [I say worse because fearing something that has no real shape or form, something that might not even happen is so irrational, I now realise, that it’s very irrationality strikes the worst kind of fear – unfounded fear – in to the hearts of even the strongest].

So, I’m starting my year of best and looking forward to see where it will take me, take us.

Part of this ‘best-ness’ (as I’m thinking of it) is being aware of what messages I’m sending: how I communicate, how I present myself, how I appear. It’s led me to thinking a great deal about what I want to be remembered for, how I want to be remembered. I’d like to be remembered as the Helen who was kind, who was generous and loving, who went that extra mile for people always, who lived her life with love, in love with life.

So I find myself thinking about what messages I send out in my interactions. With my littles. To my littles. To friends. To people I meet. To people I greet. To everyone I come in to contact with.

And it’s made me realise that there can, at times, be great differences between what I want to send out and what I actually send out. So I’m working on that: working on being more loving, more patient, more actively kind. 

And, you know, I’ve been doing these ‘conscious and constant self-assessments’ for a few weeks now and I feel a change in myself. I feel myself lighter, less loaded down with worry, less fearful, much more joyous. Because I’ve realised that life is joyousis a cause for celebration. It should be celebrated through putting my best self forward, because in that way, I make my world that much brighter, that much more joyous. There’s no beauty to be found, or had, in hiding yourself away.

Here’s to thinking consciously about what we want to send out in to the world and how we can ensure that we do actually send that out in to the world. Here’s to conscious living: to living consciously in every moment, owning every moment, so that, through an accumulation of moments in which we’re not afraid to show our true selves, we ensure we send out our true – and beautiful – selves in to the world.

Here’s to not being afraid any more.

End

[I wrote for 6 minutes].

16 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Send

  1. Gabriele says:

    Yeh! Here, Here. No more fear of what may come. You inspire me to be a better communicator. Thanks for visiting my blog so often.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks for your comment, Gabriele…..yes, no fear….it’s a daily struggle but one I feel I’m winning, thank goodness. Thanks so much for your kind comment. I love visiting your blog!

      Like

  2. alexa says:

    How lovely that being your best self is also bringing joy :). A real win-win for you and the world too!

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    Amen and Amen!! Here is to your JOY in the life you are living and to no more fear! You are a beautiful person…and you KNOW I love to read your heart! I celebrate with you in the new you that you are striiving to be – and you WILL be! You are so much more now than when you started – and you WILL be that NEW YOU that God is working through for your little ones and those you come in contact with. I pray for you – I know you will be that person!! God is with you – and you WILL!!!

    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  4. Absolutely Helen!! I think this is especially good message for my teenager. He will often say such negative things about his generation & the problems with our world & environment. And I try to express to him that there is so much good out there too – it’s just not newsworthy so you don’t hear about it. And I reinforce those thoughts to him – that this world will be made up of what he wants to send out there. Xo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia…thanks for your comment. I’m pleased you find it will be a good message for your son: I know where you’re coming from on this one as my 8 year old is also having many of the same thoughts.

      Like

  5. micey says:

    Well Helen, I feel very encouraged by this. You go!

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    I really enjoyed this uplifting post. Fear and worry are always such negative forces in life. An inspiring message.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks Jennifer: I’m realising we have the power to control our own minds and that what we think determines our whole experience of this business called life…..

      Like

  7. Eva says:

    I can’t imagine you being anything but kind, Helen. Your kindness shines through your posts and emails and replies and comments. I wish so much for you and your little ones that you no longer have to be afraid. From the sounds of it, you’re doing an amazing job!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Eva: thank you! [The situation is getting much better, so I feel better, so we all feel better….thank goodness. But I’m not going to sing victory until everything is finalised…]…

      Like

  8. ~ Carmen ~ says:

    Very inspiring. Isn’t it nice to feel lighter? Not in a weight loss type of way but a weight off your shoulders type of way.

    :] // ▲ itsCarmen.com ▲

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carmen….thanks for your comment…absolutely. Totally wonderful feeling to feel lighter – like when you go to the hairdressers and have an inch cut off your hair and your whole head feels lighter….but multiplied by a thousand 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

