Book review: Manuscript found in Accra

I’m on a bit of a reading roll, it seems, in the first few weeks of 2015, having already read three non-work related books. As I love reading and haven’t been doing enough of it the last few years, I’m one really happy bunny!

I feel I should preface this post with the disclaimer that I’m a recent reader of Paulo Coelho’s work. I purchased The Alchemist about twenty years ago now but, for many years, something stopped me starting it. A sort of general feeling that I somehow wasn’t ready and so wouldn’t be able to take in its messages.

I eventually read it around Christmas time and was amazed. Such deceptively simple yet deeply profound messages written in such a beautiful manner.

I then received Manuscript found in Accra for Christmas and couldn’t wait to start it.

[The book, set in 1099, is essentially a series of proclamations by a Greek wise man (the Copt) to the inhabitants of Jerusalem, the night before the crusaders arrived in the city].

I opened it eagerly, making special times during my day to ‘turn off and tune in’ to the book, focusing on only the book. I wanted to be able to savour it in all it’s glory.

And it does have glorious moments. Moments of true wisdom. How he manages to write so consistently profoundly, in such a seemingly nonchalantly simple style is a source of wonder to me. Case in point:

73fbfde857c332757d3d6d24eb400639

As with The Alchemist I found myself realising that he seems to have a knack for taking Biblical messages and making them easily understood. He’s kind of like a layman’s filter for scripture, as it were: making Biblical passages, and teachings, more easily accessible than reading them direct from source.

In Manuscript Found In Accra, I found his use of the Bible rather too liberal, however. Similarities in some of the wording/ideas to Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet also jarred a little bit, but the work as a whole is so breathtaking in its scope and originality, I found myself – after a while – instantly forgiving Coelho before I even had a chance to get annoyed.

Manuscript is a book I know I’ll be dipping in and out of for years to come. It’s one of those books that speak to you so directly that you want to highlight pretty much everything. I resisted, however, as I know I will be re-reading and didn’t want to cloud the wisdom my future self might be able to gain from the words.

It’s a book I’d recommend if you’re at any sort of crossroads in your life, or you’re anxious, as you will find yourself firstly being soothed by the words, and the pace of the writing, and then being inspired by the words you’re digesting (Coelho’s writing style is kind of like a rich port; the anticipation is as important as the actual savouring, with the savouring being accompanied by instant sighs of delight/satisfaction because it makes you suddenly realise that things in life can be wondrous and delicious and fulfilling all at once!).

I was literally stopped in my tracks, for example, by the following:

1596765240afbdd80270021f1aa99c32

How can one simple sentence encapsulate everything I needed to know in that precise moment?

I now see why Coelho’s print runs number in to the multi-millions across tens of languages: his books speak directly to that part of us that identifies with the power that books have over us, through our belief that books have the power to change us and our willingness to be changed by the books we read.

When we read a good book, after all, we’re never the same person again. It’s a submission we voluntarily enter in to because we know we’ll be made better by the interaction (with a good book, it is an interaction, as the characters come to life so much so that we feel they’re real).

We’re changed by reading in ways that are often imperceptible even to ourselves, but its usually a change for the better. Our perspective shifts. The wisdom of the other speaks to us so deeply that we’re somehow freed: to change our thoughts, to cement our thinking. To accommodate a new reality.

And that’s what I love about Manuscript so much: it has so many opportunities for the reader to experience shifts in perceptions, to strengthen resolves. It drips with opportunities to be encouraged to think differently.

It’s a powerful reading experience. For me (perhaps because of my personal situation), its a much more powerful experience than The Alchemist.

I’m moving on to Aleph next, and have high hopes for it. I’m so glad he’s such a writing machine (producing a new book every two years; now that’s a writing work ethic to admire!)!

4 thoughts on “Book review: Manuscript found in Accra

  1. Angel Jem says:

    I read the Alchemist ages ago, and really benefited from the experience. I hadn’t read this book, but just for that first quote alone I need to read it. That is (almost) my personal credo, that a positive and celebratory attitude to all life is the best way to be.

    Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    What a reiview! I couldn’t have said it better. I can’t agree about The Alchemist m’self I think it will somehow always special to me ‘the book that changed my life’ I like to think it lol it earned that treasured place but omg Manuscript found in Accra comes so close! There is a bible verse that says God will ‘open up the flood gates of heaven and pour you out a blessing you have not room enough to rescieve’ Manuscript feels like that for me. When I read Alchemist I was ready, I devoured and digested it in on sitting, it became a part of me and all that I was. manuscript however…I know it was one of those books I wasn’t quite ready for the moment I started it but I read it anyway. I became early engorged on it, all the wisdom, like the flood gates had opened and poured me out a blessing I really physically didn’t have room enough to rescieve yet. It continues to move in me that book…I know it will inform me for years to come, it will take me a long long time to digest it all.

    I didn’t fret at his liberal use of scripture, I found his way of melding his view point to tread well that line of respectfully imptepretations, which is such a hard thing to do you know? To me anyway…I can be easily and quickly turned off by such a thing but he was classic with it and It felt true to form.

    I loved that book so much! I would like to read The Praphet (can’t remember if I read it yet actually lol it’s all a blur I read so much last year sometimes i forget which titles I read it was on my list of to read last year though and I think I forgot to read it lol) and the one you’re moving on to but I know I can’t get to them till summer as I’ve already got a tone of plays to read for class…

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Love your comment, thank you so much! I feel much the same about Manuscript….it’s *so much book* with *so much wisdom*, it’s just hard to process it all….and with each reading, I find new messages/new interpretations…..I’m a little in awe of it, to be honest!

      Like

Leave a Reply

