TMI Tag

The ever curious Britney (love ya, girl xxx) invited me to answer some questions about myself….here goes!

What are you wearing?

A long red dress and gold high heeled shoes (I would usually be in sports clothes or pyjamas but had a meeting for work just now). I wanted to feel beautiful today so tried my best to! [Red dress and gold shoes….hhhmm…it’s not as tacky as it sounds. Promise! Think this not this (obviously)!!!].

Ever been in love?

Yes.

Ever had a terrible break-up?

Enough said.

How tall are you?

1.67m

How much do you weigh?

64.5kg

Any tattoos?

No, although I’d like to get one. A small something (a bird probably) on the inside of my left ankle. I love how, more often than not, tattoos tell stories of events of significance. I love looking at tattoos. I find them fascinating.

Piercings?

No….I’ve been indecisive about getting my ears pierced for months. Had an appointment in December and chickened out (again….)….I will do it…just a question of when!

OTP?

I had to Google this, as I didn’t actually know what it meant…Google tells me it means your ‘one true pairing’ from fandom…..(I hope that’s right?! I am showing my age here!)…..it’d have to be Leonardo DiCaprio in Great Gatsby (Mr. Gatsby is the most interesting male character, in a book, that I’ve come across so far – apart from, maybe, Falstaff….) or Robert Downey Jr in The Judge (so strong in his vulnerabilities) (sigh….both are gorgeous! Insert ‘swooned’ blinkie!).

In reality (not reality reality….you know what I mean!), my one true pairing would be someone like Alessandro Squarzi (oh my…what a man….gorgeous….creative entrepreneur…need I say more?!). [Please note: I don’t spend my time ogling over random males on the internet! – I follow The Sartorialist (his photos give me a kick of inspiration always) and Sr. Squarzi features on there quite often! He’s kind of hard to ignore, don’t you agree?!!….]

Favourite show?

Homeland or Downton Abbey (yeah….one full of violence, the other completely the opposite….!)

Favourite bands?

I like solo singers better. Am I showing my age when I say The Cure and The Smiths?!

Something I miss?

England. Yep, the whole country.

Favourite song?

It’d have to be this one (Chet Baker, My Funny Valentine):

or this one (Ella Fitzgerald/Louis Armstrong, Cheek to Cheek):

or this one (Billie Holiday, There is No Greater Love):

or this, which I’m obsessed with at the moment (such talent, what a crying shame she didn’t know how to cope with it):

How old are you?

40 (Shush!)

Zodiac sign?

Cancer. And I’m definitely a cancer.

Quality you look for in a partner?

Still too hurt to answer this one!

Favourite quote?

inspirational-quote-do-what-you-cannot-do-eleanor-roosevelt

Favourite actor?

Mark Ruffalo. Such dedication and total surrender to every role he plays. One of my favourite Inside The Actors Studio interviews ever (I love Inside the Actors Studio! I love it when anyone creative explains/outlines/tries to lay bare their creativity…).

Leonardo DiCaprio. One of the few actors where you can believe even his eyes (and, oh my goodness, what eyes!)

Robert Downey Jr. Blew me away in The Judge(I honestly don’t understand how he wasn’t nominated for an Oscar; Steve Carrell assumes the character he developed well, don’t get me wrong, but, really, he doesn’t have any range in Foxcatcher)

Recently discovered (and working my way through his filmography)…Miles Teller….why on Earth he didn’t get any major nomination for his acting in Whiplash? Really? J.K. Simmons gets a nomination for Whiplash and Miles Teller doesn’t? A travesty.

Anthony Hopkins. Of course. In anything. 

Jared Leto (I was so pleased when he won the Oscar for Dallas Buyers Clubhe was incredible in it). I also love his off-screen style (he just makes me smile when I see him ‘doing his thing’!)

Javier Bardem. [Yum. Mind and body in one smouldering package! LOL! His performance in Before Night Falls is, in parts, probably one of my favourite acting performances ever, on film…]

Favourite colour?

Green or blue. Depending on my mood. Both bring me immediately back to Nature, one of my favourite ‘things’.

Loud music or soft?

Soft, mostly. I’m a typical INFJ in that loud music grates on my calm, somehow, and I can’t stand it. But, when I need to, I’ll blare it out with the best of them 😉

Where do you go when you’re sad?

Inside myself.

How long does it take you to shower?

Hah! About three minutes….show me a Mama of littles who has time for a decent shower?! LOL!

How long does it take you to get ready in the morning?

Mental preparation: about an hour (run – quiet time – meditation – journalling).

Getting dressed: about ten minutes.

That pretty much tells you everything you need to know about me!

Ever been in a physical fight?

No (I’m assuming brothers don’t count?!)

The reason you started blogging?

I’d been wanting to start a blog around the idea I Will Bloom and hadn’t acted on it because, although I had a million ideas for the space, I was worried I didn’t have time. I then saw the Blog-tember challenge (in September 2014) and decided to go for it: I decided if I could manage to fit in a post a day for that challenge, I’d be able to carve out time to maintain I Will Bloom. I did and I’ve been blogging here since then.

I wrote this recently (in another post) which explains a little bit more about where I want to take this space:

“…one of the main goals I have for this space is to turn it in to a place of encouragement and hopefulness, of bright shining positivity, for women in need, whether that need be practical, emotional…or sartorial! I’d like I Will Bloom to become an online space women turn to because it lifts them up in some way, enhances their wellbeing and makes them feel that little bit better about themselves, about being alive….there, I’ve said it….written it. Finally…my mission statement for I Will Bloom”

Fears?

Death. I’ve got so much I want to do and am increasingly conscious that time is, unfortunately, finite.

Last thing that made you cry?

This morning. A hummingbird was trapped in our living room, getting really stressed and really tired, trying to find a way out, whilst refusing help. I eventually managed to catch it and was absolutely amazed by how beautiful its feathers are: so many colours, so vibrant. I found myself crying because it was just so beautiful. I basically cry at everything. (I’m not ashamed of crying and actually quite welcome it. It’s my soul somehow trying to adjust itself back to a new normal).

Last time you said you loved someone?

I say it all the time, to everyone who’s close to me. The last time? This morning, to my two littles, as they went off to school and nursery.

Meaning behind your blog name?

I’ve been through Hell and back and I need to bloom. The name came from that. I also really want the blog to become a place where women can go to get inspiration to help them to bloom…I love the name. Love what it stands for.

Last book you read?

Manuscript Found in Accra, Paulo Coelho.

The book you’re currently reading?

The Signature of all Things by Elizabeth Gilbert. Loving it.

Last show you watched?

Oh my goodness, such a long time ago (we don’t have a TV service connected (by choice!) so I mostly watch films on DVD). I think it was Downton. I’m toying with getting a Netflix connection….

Last person you talked to?

My insurance salesman. Really! 

The relationship between you and the person you last texted?

She’s becoming a close friend; the Mum of one of my daughter’s friends…we were arranging a playdate for tomorrow afternoon.

Favourite food?

Anything with fresh, healthy, ingredients. Oh, and cake. [Yep, I nothing if not full of contradictions!]

Place you want to visit?

Thailand.

Last place you were?

Not sure I understand the question?! I just had a meeting for work and went to the bank after that – what a glamorous lifestyle I lead ;).

Do you have a crush?

No. [Does Alessandro count?!]

Last time you were insulted?

Two days ago, unfortunately. I won’t go in to details.

Favourite flavour of sweet?

Mint. Or chocolate. Preferably both together.

What instruments do you play?

I used to play the clarinet. I want to take singing lessons.

Favourite pieces of jewellery?

I had quite a bit of jewellery that I loved. It was all stolen. I’m kind of liking the freedom of not wearing it (especially my engagement/wedding rings).

Last sport you played?

Basketball at University. I’m not tall. It was more for fun!

Last song you sang?

I’m actually not a really big singer although I’d love to sing. I sort of hum or whistle. Aha, no! We did have a dance off yesterday afternoon and I sang ‘Shake it Off’……!

Favourite chat up line?

Oh my goodness, I don’t have one! I really don’t like them!

Last time you hung out with anyone?

Saturday night.

Who should answer these questions next?

Any of my darling and much appreciate blog readers who feel the calling to do so!

[Britney: hope I’ve satiated your curiosity a little ;)]

22 thoughts on “TMI Tag

  1. Britney says:

    You did indeed! lol I love getting to know more about people! I’m nosy haha
    and OTP means the *couple* that you love together in a fandom not just one person 😉
    I’m sorry someone insulted you the other day! I hope it wasn’t too bad. You are just wonderful so they don’t know anything!! And I’ll go beat them up for you!

    Like

  2. Angel Jem says:

    Wowzer! What a list of questions! And a lot of answers!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi….yes, *a lot* of questions….and a marathon of answers (I was waiting for someone to come back to me for work and was stuck without a concrete answer, and so I had some time!)….

      Like

  3. Barbara says:

    Yeah, WOW!! Now that Britney and your blog followers know about you…I am happy to have learned more about you, too! Thanks for sharing a bit of insight into YOU, Helen!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Barbara…it was a long overdue post! [I’m thinking of doing a weekly round-up type post because I personally love blogs where you get more of a feel for the blogger….]

      Like

  4. alexa says:

    Nice to learn more about you :). I love the thought of a red dress and gold heels for a work meeting – very classy!

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    Fun post. I haven’t done one like this in years on my blog so I think I’ll play along. 🙂

    Like

  6. chelsea says:

    I really do love post like this, it’s so great to get a little more info. I must say if I were to pick a music interest these are exactly whom I would have picked for you! Cracks me up about your ears- pray tell how you hope to get a tattoo but are nervous about your ears;) so glad you have this space as I love it and you dearly!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hey you…how funny that you predicted my music tastes!!!! LOL about the tattoo (that ‘little problem’ hasn’t escaped me!)…..it’s funny, I kind of think I’d find it easier to get the tattoo on my ankle than earrings [I have this weird ‘thing’ about the earrings…I just need to get over myself ;)]…..love ya right back, lady xxx

      Like

  7. So fun learning more about you Helen! Thanks for sharing!! We’re around the same age & have similar tastes in any things. I think I need to add that Elizabeth Gilbert book. I loved eat, pray, love. Do you like old movies? Some of my answers would differ there as I love old spencer Tracy, Katharine Hepburn movies, Cary Grant, Jimmy Stewart etc. I swear I was born in the wrong era sometimes. Lol xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie….how funny that we have so many similarities! Do get the latest Elizabeth Gilbert book (it’s really good!)…you know, I haven’t read ‘Eat Pray Love’ (but loved the film and am intending to read it shortly; I kind of had an aversion to her but saw her TED talks recently and became endeared, and was so glad that someone gifted me ‘Signature’……how funny…..YES, I *absolutely* love old films…..they’re my absolute favourite…..so romantic, so innocent, so wonderful…..I love Katherine Hepburn (we watched ‘Bringing Up Baby the other night, me and my son – it’s one of my favourites of hers, and my son enjoyed it SO MUCH – he was laughing out loud too!)….and I’m a little obsessed with Lauren Bacall….and LOVE any film with Carry Grant or Jimmy Stewart (Harvey!)….how funny that we have so many similar interests! Kindred spirits! Isn’t BlogLand wonderful, that it can bring people together in this way?!

      Like

  8. Carrie Ann says:

    What a fun post!! Girl!! We must be kindred spirits…The Cure, The Smiths, Mark Ruffalo (sigh), Robert Downey, Jr.?!?! Just stop!! LOL!! I must confess, I am so not used to the metric system, I had to google for the conversions in pounds and inches for your weight and height. Feel like I know you just a little bit better, thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  9. Sian says:

    Love Homeland, love The Smiths. Do I need to say more?! If you were in town you could come with me to see Morrissey in March. Finding a willing companion isn’t easy..

    Like

Leave a Reply

