Fab-ruary: Day 4 – Rules for happy living

Day 4 of Fab-ruary:  a month-long series of prompts aimed at ‘finding the fab’ (prompts here). [Feel free to join in as many (or as few!) as you’re able. If you do link up, make sure you hop around the other ladies who’ve linked up too, to leave encouraging comments, so that we can make sure we get a good ‘community feeling’ going].

DayFour

Rules for happy living

Corr…some of these prompts are hard!

I actually only have one rule, that I can think of…

Be content where and ‘when’ you are, which means mindfully savouring your moments…

Once we learn to slow down and mindfully enjoy our lives, riches appear before us: the riches of our ordinary, daily, lives. Once we learn to see these riches, all things ‘other’, that have the potential to tempt and distract us, pale in to insignificance. I’ve found that, living in this way, I’ve learnt to be happy with what we have and where I am, physically, spiritually and emotionally. I still desire a better future for us, obviously, but that desire is rooted in an acknowledgement that only by being in, and working from, a stable, centred, place will I be able to achieve this ‘better future’. And my stable, centred place comes from living with gratitude for, and in wonder at, my ordinary, daily riches.

Can’t wait to hear everyone else’s responses!

On a related topic:

In case you missed these delights, I was so, so happy when, last year, a wonderful group of ladies agreed to guest post on the topic of ‘How to fall in love with your world’. Hop over and see their responses (I was honoured they all agreed to guest post and each one of them was a really beautiful and thought-provoking post!):

– From Lizelle at Sandals & Sunnies

– From Britney at All Things Britney Lee

– From Chelsea at Hollands Reverie

– From Hope at Hope Carr Art

– From Kim at Kimberley’s Quests

– From Rachel at The Random Writings 

– From Heather at Icing on the Cake

– From Liane at Rosy Cheeks & Muddy Feet

[A bit of admin: You can link up your Fab-ruary posts using the tool below; for some reason, whatever I do, it’s not letting me set up a new link for each day. Please just add your link anyway! Sorry! I am trying to figure out what’s wrong (and also why it won’t show the thumbnails on this page?!) I’ve never met a more user-unfriendly piece of software than this one!]

16 thoughts on “Fab-ruary: Day 4 – Rules for happy living

  1. Barbara says:

    Believe it or not…I had that same word run through my mind when I read that about “Rules for Happy Living”!! I haven’t sat down to get mine written; today I am going to “hang out” with my two daughters and the grands!! One of my “HAPPY DAYS”!! And I will also go back and read those other posts you mentioned!

    Like

  2. Shari says:

    I can relate to this – I always try to keep this in mind but seem to forget it when I need it the most. I get caught up on the anxieties of life’s smallest things. Sometimes, I need someone to slap me back to reality and just tell me to relax and count my blessings 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks, Shari, for your comment. I think we all feel like that, at times…I’ve found I’ve got better at centring myself ‘quickly’ (after a fluster or disturbance) if I am feeling well emotionally in general, so I’m doing what I can to ‘up my average’ on the emotional wellness front!

      Like

  3. Angel Jem says:

    Good rule for life; being happy with what you have where you are and with who you are is such an important gift; it makes life a lot happier.
    My post today is up;
    http://angeljemscitycottage.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/rules-for-happy-living-fab-ruary-4.html
    Have a good Wednesday!

    Like

  4. Living in the moment and treasuring your life in that place (if it’s a happy and healthy) is a great rule for happy living dear Lady! xo

    Like

  5. I’ve got one rule, as well.

    Duty.

    Live with the honour of having done that which was expected, or don’t bother showing up at all.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Andrew, great word, great concept. I’ve been thinking a lot about ‘commitment’ recently and how you can have your goal/dream/whatever and all the concrete baby steps to get there outlined but ain’t nothing going to happen until you firmly commit to achievement. Without that commitment, it’s so easy to flake out.

      Like

  6. Chelsea says:

    Whew- I have been learning this lesson for reals this year- and I think it has made me happier then I’ve ever been!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

  7. Liz says:

    Thank you so much for this. Two thoughts come to mind: 1). It is soooo hard to slow down, but it is soooooo important. Your reminder is wonderful. 2). I have realized over-and-over again, the only way to be fully content is to be happy with yourself, your current season and worry less about comparing yourself to those around you. I have a post I am ready to write very soon about comparisons. Thank you for sharing!! xx

    Like

  8. alexa says:

    Gosh, Helen, you have written so much this month already! I am way behind in reading and catching up … I have found the rule of ‘I have a choice’ a helpful one: we can’t choose what happens to us, but we can choose our response … Wishing you every success with your February project!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Alexa, I’ve had the sentence ‘I always have a choice’ going around my head for a while now, along with ‘What’s the worst case scenario’…it does definitely help, to realise that you can always choose your response and, on that basis, always feel, at least, that you have some sort of control….(thank you!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

