Feel good films

Fab-ruary, Day 8 (prompts here, for anyone who might want to join in!):

Day8

There’s nothing quite like a good film to make you feel as if everything’s right with the world!

Here’s my list for when I’m in need of the kind of good ‘sorting out’ that only a good film can provide!

Love Actually

The Holiday

The Letter Writer

The Blind Side (gets me every time and I don’t even particularly enjoy watching Sandra Bullock!)

Cinema Paradiso (I cry every. single. time). [My son’s favourite film!]

Vicky Cristina Barcelona. I roll around, in stitches, every time (and Javier Bardem is just yummy!)

Amelie

14e Arrondissement (from Alexander Payne)

…and anything black and white starring Katherine Hepburn, Lauren Bacall, Cary Grant or James Stewart…Bringing Up Baby, The Big Sleep, Harvey…give me a black and white film and I’m a happy woman!

Hoping to find some new-to-me feel-goods from the other wonderful “Fab-ruary-ers”!

 

19 thoughts on “Feel good films

  1. I love that was have such a similar taste in films. I love all the ones you’ve mentioned as well….and there are only a few I haven’t seen that I’ve now added to my list! Yay for movies – especially when they make us feel good. 😉

    Like

  2. alexa says:

    Love Actually was the first one which came to my mind when I read your opening paragraph :).

    Like

  3. alexa says:

    Oops, I meant to add that I will also watch anything in which Dame Judi Dench, Patrick Stewart, or Meryl Streep are playing. Oh, and Kenneth Branagh or Emma Thompson. Another feel good one for me (with the latter two in) is the film version of Much Ado About Nothing. Such a brilliant title! If Shakespeare were alive now, I bet that would be the title of his blog.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh, yes, Alexa, of course, anything with Dame Judi Dench! (The one set in India that she was in recently, I loved it! And Philomena….anything she’s in, really….she’s a joy to watch!). I appreciate Meryl Streep’s talent but I find her really difficult to watch….Emma Thompson, could watch her all day long! Haven’t seen the Much Ado About Nothing film (must find a copy)….and, how funny….can you imagine Shakespeare’s blog???? Now that’s an idea to keep me thinking, happily, for a good long while!!!

      Like

  4. Carrie Ann says:

    There’s that Love Actually again…I HAVE to watch that one!! lol. I also liked the Holiday too. I’m a big fan of Sandra Bullock, the Blind side was good too, not one of her usual roles. I also want to watch some of the classics, I really like Katherine Hepburn, so classy!!

    Like

  5. Isabel says:

    Some excellent recommendations here, and a few that have been on my to watch list for too long. Thanks for posting iwillbloom!

    Like

  6. I’m a sucker for feel-good films, they’re my go-tos when I’m a little down and need a pick-me-up 🙂 Thanks for recommending these. I’m usually drawn to more chick-flick/romantic comedy-ish movies such as ‘The Proposal’ (with Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds) – it never disappoints!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      There’s just something about a good film, isn’t there?! Haven’t seen The Proposal but have noted it down to pick up a copy when I can…thank you!!!!!

      Like

  7. I hope you’re catching up on these while you’re feeling down. I love so many of your picks (Love Actually, The Holiday, The Blind Side). I actually have a review of the Holiday somewhere on my blog, hah! I need to watch the Letter Writer… I think you’ve mentioned it before. I’m always in search of new, good movies. Many Julia Roberts films are some of my top feel-good movies and lots of movies I loved watching growing up.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Eva…..thanks for your comment….I did watch Cinema Paradiso last night, actually…..on the settee, all wrapped up warm….! Of course, Julia Roberts films are always good too…!!! Ooh, I’d love to see your review of The Holiday!

      Like

      • Eva says:

        I dug it up for you… it was one of my very first posts 😛 http://fourleafcloverblog.com/?p=515 So glad to hear you’re feeling better, I hope you’re good as new in no time! I watched The Letter Writer today… good suggestion! It gave me a lot to think about in the best possible way. Definitely a feel-good film!

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Love your review! I’m glad you liked The Letter Writer: it’s so lovely isn’t it?! Yep…definitely a feel-good film!!

        Like

  8. Rachel G says:

    “The Blind Side” is the first movie I ever saw in the theater with Angel (and another friend unknowingly playing 3rd wheel since we weren’t allowed to date). I love that one, the kid playing Michael Oher reminds me very much of my huge little brother–he has the same sort of gentle giant personality. And the old actors you mentioned are also my favorites from the black-and-white era, though I’d also add Gregory Peck. “Bringing up Baby” especially fit well with my sense of humor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

