FMF: When

Time for Five Minute Friday. This week’s word: When

Welcome

START

When will it end? When will it start? When will we get there? When can I? When? I’m sick of when. So much more fond of now. You don’t need to know when when you’re in now time. In now time you’re free, unencumbered, alive, so very alive, never alive-r, in fact…why the need to ‘when’? Bother the desperation that causes it and that it causes. When. An over-used, definitely least favourite word. Irks. Jarrs. Causes discomfort. Uneasiness. You can have ‘x’ when. You can when…. You’re going to be alright when…. It’s a word, a concept, that steals joy, sucks the life out of the here and now. Is menacing, threatening in it’s insistence on alternatively postponing or rushing. When – the bully. I wish I could banish it from my life.

END

25 thoughts on “FMF: When

  1. I never thought about “When” in this way, but I can definitely see your point. I want to live life fully in each moment. If I’m looking ahead to the “When . . . ” it steals me from the now, and the joys of now. I’m pondering this one. 🙂 Well done!

    Like

  2. Anita Ojeda says:

    This is a great take on the prompt :). I’ve never reflected much on how annoying the word can be–but I remember many a car trip with our daughters asking, “When will we get there?” Here’s to living in the now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We were on the same page, Helen!! I’m with you…I’m tired of when and need to stop looking for the when. Enjoyed your post, friend!

    Like

  4. unspeakablejoymccoy says:

    Why yes, I do a lot of that sort of talk using “when.” I overanalyze everything more than I should. I like this perspective on when. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Barbara says:

    Quite a lot of truth written in a short yet profound post!!! Thanks for sharing…I almost forgot it was FMF! Some days I lose track of the time and since I’ve been sick most of the week, I definitely have forgotten – until I saw your post!!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. Yes, let’s live in the now knowing full well that He carries the “when.” But I also think the future He has planned for us (and revealed in Scriptures) informs the now, so we keep our eyes open for “when Christ, who is our Savior returns.” Such a delicate balance…

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Asheritah…thank you for your comment. Love your idea of living in the now knowing that someone else is carrying our ‘when’ (that’s such a great way of thinking about it: just brilliant!). Thank you.

      Like

  7. Mary Geisen says:

    Amen! So powerful to point out that “when” is like a bully sucking out life and joy! Great words to ponder tonight!

    Like

  8. Gabriele says:

    Yes, let’s banish when. Now is never realer. Is realer a word? I love looking for your flower in the line up of writer on FMF.

    Like

  9. Donna says:

    Yes! I don’t like when so much either! Enjoyed reading this. 🙂
    visiting from FMF

    Like

  10. Carrie Ann says:

    This is exactly what I was thinking, but couldn’t put it so eloquently. Plus you know I like to put a different spin on the word, and was toying with…WHEN my ship finally comes in I’ll be at the airport, LOL. But WHEN all was said and done, I didn’t join FMF this week, I was too busy dreaming big!! 😉 Your posts always put a smile on my face, as all I can do is just nod my head in agreement. xx

    Like

  11. Julie Kirk says:

    I’m just browsing Etsy for a necklace [as you do!] and I found this https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/182540729/now-is-good-pendant-brass-pendant-brass?ref=shop_home_active_2 which reminded me of what you’d written in this post, so I thought you might like to see. [p.s: it tickled me to see that it was made of ‘brass’ too … ]

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      J: LOVE that necklace (and – why?! – is there anything wrong to browse Etsy for necklaces??!!!]……LOVE it and love that it’s made of brass xxxx Thank you xxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

