Sunday Ponderings 15/02

Another collection of ‘interesting things’ I’ve found on my jaunts around the web:

Research findings which suggest that people would rather receive an electric shock than be alone with their thoughts…..incredible!

– BBC article about the Nocebo Effect (essentially ‘thinking yourself to death’).

Dahlicious – a blog dedicated to discussing the food mentioned in Roald Dahl’s books. Found by my son, actually, whilst he was doing research for a school project about Roald Dahl. Brilliant idea for a blog: I got lost in there myself for about an hour (I find Roald Dahl, and his imagination, so very fascinating!)

This post from Carrie about the cookbook she’s putting together. Such a wonderful, wonderful idea.

100 things we didn’t know last year (BBC).

Portraits of strangers with beautiful facesMesmerising.

We never met (on Instagram): photos accompanied by a series of conversations never had. Love it. 

Screen series by Matthew Tischler (haunting photographs – I can’t stop thinking about them).

– Lastly, this:

AllHuman

Have a great week, everyone….!

15 thoughts on “Sunday Ponderings 15/02

  1. Barbara says:

    Thank you for sharing your Sunday Ponderings! Love the cookbook that Carrie shared…I did cookbooks for my 3 girls (2 daughters & daughter-in-law) a few years ago; and I have an 8 x 8 album that was started for recipes during a recipe swap – but haven’t added anything more…another project!

    Love the images of strangers; such beauty…and the eyes seemed to be staring right through me!

    And, the screen series – how captivating! I can see why you can’t stop thinking or looking at them!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Barbara…..glad you liked the ‘things’….[sorry…am so tired, am not very eloquent ;)]…..yes, the screen series is captivating, isn’t it?!

      Like

  2. alexa says:

    Lots of interesting things you’ve brought us, Helen. I could lose a whole day on the BBC Things We Didn’t Know page! I photos of strangers are beautifully done, though I hope she asked for their permission and they knew what she was going to do with the photos …

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah! Yes, that BBC page is dangerously fascinating! (I always have to stop myself scrolling down too far when the daily ‘news’ email comes through, as the highlights of that page are always tagged on the bottom of the email!)….[I had that same thought about the artist of the ‘stranger’ portraits!]

      Like

  3. Sian says:

    You have a great week too. I need to save that Roald Dahl blog for a rainy day I think. Someone here will love it

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah! Sian….she’ll lose herself for a good long while in the Roald Dahl blog! [I was supposed to cook a Bruce Bogtrotter cake for school tomorrow but what with everything that’s happening here, I’m just not going to have time]

      Like

  4. BambiLeigh says:

    Hi! I nominated you for the beautiful blogger award – find it here: https://bambileigh.wordpress.com/2015/02/16/the-beautiful-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sorry I’m late saying hi! I was gone for kiddo sports all weekend. I love your ponderings and the fun things you share. And how sweet to mention by cookbook. I’ll keep sharing recipes from it in the days ahead and will get lots of pictures when it’s all done! 😉

    Hope you have a wonderful Sweetie and I’ll keep linking up when I’m able!! xoxo

    Like

  6. That first tidbit was…weird. lol I don’t like being alone with my thoughts too much myself, but I also don’t like to feel pain. I would choose my thoughts over an electric shock for sure. Although I have never murdered anybody or anything like that…If I had I might choose the electric shock. Hmmm this could be an interesting topic for a blog post!

    Like

  7. Liz says:

    That is crazy about the electric shock!!! My goodness 🙂 I think we are in such a social-media driven world; I could actually see that! Thanks for sharing these…good luck with your family matters ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

