Miracles: you believe in them, right?

8ab95747aba53a16604644c54a23fe51

I sat through a Church service yesterday morning, my first one since I was a child: it wasn’t anything like any of the C of E services I remember from school; people were fainting, screaming, speaking in tongues (I won’t be going back to that Church; truth be told, it was all more than a little overwhelming for this hypersensitive).

Anyway, in an attempt to shield my sensitive soul from all that energy flying around the hall, I started to meditate in the middle of the praying. When I came out of the meditation, the pastor was speaking about miracles and how we shouldn’t just ask for/expect one miracle but, rather, we should live in the knowledge that life should be full of miracles.

I’ve still not quite processed that train of thought but, when I got back to the house, I had a message in my Inbox from Paul Jarvis, freelancer extraordinaire, who wrote something in his weekly newsletter that really touched home with me. It touched home because it’s something I’ve been thinking about myself a great deal over the past few weeks.

He posed the question of whether all the advice we find around us is actually useful. Whether it does us any good to be bombarded by self-help books and advice columns and millions upon millions of blog posts, headlines screaming, ‘5 ways to land that perfect job’ or ’10 ways to be more self-confident’.

His conclusion was inconclusive but, essentially, argued that this external advice often becomes some sort of a crutch that people come to hold on to very tightly because they’re scared of breaking out on their own, scared of trusting their own thoughts and instincts.

And that, ultimately, we must always remember that we can only ever trust ourselves and that, as it is our own life we’re making decisions about, however much advice we seek, only we can make the final decisions about where to steer ourselves.

It’s something that’s been dear to my heart because I’ve received, and acted upon, really bad advice the last few years: from lawyers, social workers, psychologists, police….you name the profession, I guarantee I’ve listened to, and acted upon, advice from within it, advice which, at the time I knew didn’t feel right but which I felt powerless to rebel against. My life, our lives, have been shaped by this hastily- and lightly-given advice and our lives are, I have to say, much the worse for it.

So, all of this hearing about living shrouded in miracles and seeking, or not seeking, advice from people foreign to you and your situation…it led me to thinking that perhaps the miracles only come when we follow our own instincts, follow where our heart tells us we should go, using the gifts we’ve been gifted.

In my experience, when I’ve rebelled against what my own instincts are telling me, that’s when the problems start. When I act in accordance with what my heart, my little intuitive voice tells me, life runs smoother, is trouble-free, it becomes akin to a series of small miracles happening, giving me life force, making life worth living to its fullest.

I’m not sure I have any profound conclusions to offer, more a series of observations…and a question for you all….what miracles have you/do you experience and what were the conditions surrounding those miracles? Were you still, had you surrendered to a force greater than yourself, were you relying on, and trusting, your instincts implicitly?

I’d be really interested to know your thoughts….I’m living a period of my life where pretty much only a series of fairly big miracles will get us out of the mess we’re in….and reading a few miracle stories might be just the tonic I need to clear the air for the Universe to set to and do it’s business….!

15 thoughts on “Miracles: you believe in them, right?

  1. Julie Kirk says:

    I’m always aware that – when I give ‘advice’ on my blog [mainly in the form of tips/hints/classes] that I’m just sharing what has worked for *me* and I’d hate for anyone to feel dragged down by it. I used to get overwhelmed [still do occasionally] by all the advice given out online and really didn’t want to sound like I was doing the same! I’m now really selective over whose classes I’ll take, whose words I’ll really take to heart. There aren’t enough hours in the day to take on everything someone else says will work. Everyone seems to say if you focus on X ‘for just 5 minutes a day …’ then your life would change. But every expert has their pet topic [exercise / de-cluttering / baking / writing a novel / marketing etc etc] … that if I found ‘just’ 5 minutes for them *all* I wouldn’t ever work or sleep! 😉

    As for miracle stories – I don’t think I’ve got any first hand – but I do believe life is full of teeny tiny joys and delights and serendipities that just make things better. Even for 30 seconds. And I know you’re *already* tapped into those.

    I’m just so sorry you’ve had bad advice – I think it probably says more about the instincts and judgements of those doling out the advice than it does your own. Maybe the miracle is that you’ve been through it all and seen through it all and yet here you are – still hopeful.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Loved reading your reply….thank you so much. Yep, perhaps that *is* the miracle in all this, that we’re here, stronger and still hopeful……thank you for that perspective xxxx

      Like

  2. Barbara says:

    There are times when others’ “advice” may work for us; but in the end, we must trust our own instincts…YOUR own instincts! Afterall, YOU are the one who is living in your life and know better what will work. Keep following your own instincts; because, God speaks to you through your own life and instincts and being IN HIM allows you to know they are coming from Him and not others.

    Miracle stories – that all depends on what is considered a miracle; but I, too, believe they do happen. The miracle of life; the miracle of hearing the right words at just the right time; the miracle of a life saved from a vicious attack or accident…there ARE miracles; and I pray you find them in yourself and around you!

    Still love reading your heart – thank you for sharing it!

    Like

  3. Deep and profound topic. First, some background…I am neither a physicist nor a biologist, but I do have two engineering masters’, and a PhD in structural engineering.

    I do believe in the miraculous, and do not hold with the “trust on’es instinct” analysis, for a fundamental reason – it’s logically at odds with the transcendent, and to banish the uncanny side of experience is to ignore, everything that follows the “=” sign in an equation, so to speak.

    First, the existence of the transcendent…God, if you will. We live in a creation whose very existence can’t be readily explained by anything we know. If the Big Bang Theory is accepted…whence the originating singularity? And whence the degree of organization that ensued?

    And the world we see, our own existence…there are those who postulate an endless series of cosmic-ray mutation that brought men from mud-limpets, but they fail to take into account the fact that nearly all externally-induced mutations result in sterility. The overturning of statistical theory begged by this hypothesis is miraculous in itself.

    If we look inwards, we find desires and calls to “something” that override what one would presume to be our moist powerful instincts, that of support of the group, and that of personal survival. The former is shown in lone (and ultimately futile, in the short run) opposition to despots; for the latter, look at a list of posthumous VCs.

    So…where does that call come from? Using Ockham’s Razor, the only logical conclusion is that “something” has planted these thoughts that are so heretical to pure carnality. Again, if you will…God.

    Thus, the miraculous…in our thoughts and actions, it’s the flash of the kingfisher’s wing, low on the water, completely unexpected to all but the Kingfisher.

    But what about the “miraculous event”? We have to look for the miraculous writ small, and then, by induction, we have to accept it writ large.

    If there is one event…just ONE…that cannot be explained, the door to the vault opens.

    If once, we experienced true ‘second sight’, we have to presume its existence.

    And I think we need look no father than the well-documented and reliably-witnessed story of Howard Carter’s dog, who, in England when his master (discoverer of Tutankhamen) died in Egypt, lifted his head to howl, and died as well.

    Like

    • In thinking on this through the day, there is one thing that might bear adding…the question of ‘local miracles’, that are specific to a time, place, or people.

      While this might be explained by the existence of local deities (say, the Wizard of Wolverhampton, or the Lord of the Crewe Railways), their existence still requires another ‘level’ of deification, and is therefore logically inadmissible (or at best made redundant) by the application of Ockham’s Razor.

      Pity. The Boojum of Bognor does have a nice ring to it.

      Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Love your thoughts, Andrew….have nothing profound to add, it being late on a Sunday evening when I’ve been able to sit down and read/reply…..but just wanted to say ‘thank you’ for taking the time to comment so deeply and with such insights in to the ponderings I posted……I was speaking with a friend today and he said ‘…maybe God is actually the leap of faith’…..I’ve found, in my own life, that once we choose to take the leap of faith, that’s when miracles are more likely to be found……

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with you Helen – that you have to listen to that inner voice and trust what it’s telling you…not all of that external noise pulling you different ways. I believe God speaks to us in that quiet meditation and that voice comes from His love and guidance.

    I don’t think I have a true miracle story to share, but I will say that when I have sat in quiet prayer and meditation searching for answers, I have had that voice answer and guide me and has never steered me wrong. Trust your gut, trust and BELIEVE in yourself and your strength. I think sometimes the loving ourselves and believing in ourselves is the true miracle.
    xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Carrie…..love your comment, thank you…….that voice is so, so powerful, isn’t it?! I’m absolutely with you when you say that loving and believing in ourselves is the true miracle…..[thank you!]

      Like

  5. chelsea says:

    I’m not an advice person- rare to never will I offer it, and if I’m honest I hate to read it. I don’t like being told what to do- it has always irked me. A problem for my parents but they managed to work around it;) I’ve seen lots of what I would call miracles in my day, some big, some small in the everyday moments, yet never seems to be in the place I myself could really use tangibly- does that make any sense? Regardless, I’m a believer- I trust, I find peace. And yes- I’m with you, I think a lot of greatness opens up when we choose to follow our own hearts!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

  6. alexa says:

    So many profound things to think about here, Helen … I have no knowledge or advice to offer (and I would hate it to take you out of your own direction). All I can say is that for me, I just look for the next small step, feeling with my toes how the lie of the land is, where my balance needs to be, and then just take it.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Alexa….the ‘small step’ way through has definitely been helpful to me the last month or so…..I’m worried, however, that taking such small steps is making me lose sight of the bigger picture….but, I guess, when small steps is the only thing you can manage (quite literally), any movement forward, however small, should be celebrated.

      Like

  7. I couldn’t reply directly to your reply, but your comment on taking the leap of faith cracking the hatch that allows miracles in…that is very, very profound.

    I have just taken Denali The Happy Husky for her final evening outing under a very starry and quiet high desert sky, across which the Milky Way stretches like a carelessly tossed bejeweled sash. I wish you could see it, or at least experience the sense of peace and hope it engenders.

    It occurs to me that you, with your strength of character and ability to see humour amidst the wreckage…you are the miracle.

    I Will Bloom, indeed…you are a Perennial!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Andrew….yeah, I think the idea of leaps of faith being a hatch (as you say) is very powerful…..am definitely going to ruminate on that one some more! Love love love the idea of a starlight walk……..one of my favourite things to do as a teenager was drive up to ‘the hills’ (as we called them) – no light pollution – most amazing star formations. It always used to make me feel so very very alive….so very small and, because of this, made me realise that we’re just one small occurrence in something so much larger and that, as such, we shouldn’t really fuss so much and should just **enjoy**…we’re here so very briefly, its frightening, really, that so many of us waste so many of our moments and, as a consequence, so much of our lives…..[Perennial – love that! Yep, I’m the one out there, in the wind and snow and frost, hanging on, growing buds, waiting optimistically for summer……that describes me to a T!!!! Thank you!!!]

      Like

Leave a Reply

