Tuesdays (well, Wednesday…) at 10: Grow

DreamBig

Joining in with Karen Beth’s ‘Tuesday at 10’ link-up: this week’s word Grow.

[I will be posting about ‘my own’ topics shortly….just feel the need to write, to write it right out of my system….]

Start

Life is kind. Life is good. Life is wonderful.

Life is also harsh. And hard. And unfair. Troubling, disturbing, frustrating.

It gives you a hand up then kicks you right back down.

Prostrating you, humbling you, teaching you.

These troughs, they’re opportunities for growth, to grow in the areas that need a bit of polishing.

Take the troughs for what they are: gifts.

Opportunities.

Opportunities to grow, to stretch yourself, to become more.

Whatever your particular more is.

I was kicked down, I was punched around.

It made me whimper, retreat to a corner, trembling and afraid.

It took me a while to gather the strength to get up again but, when I did, I felt victorious.

Victorious because he can’t kick the life out of me.

I’ve realised it’s impossible and that’s made me feel invincible.

This feeling of invincibility has given me courage which, in turn, has given me fuel for growth.

Growth in those areas that needed shoring up: strength, courage, forward-planning, visionary thinking, creative solution-finding.

The more he tries to destroy me, the more I grow.

Some sort of Hydra, sprouting more and more heads with every whack.

I like that thought.

The thought itself gives me strength.

Beat me and I’ll rise up, stronger than before.

Beat me. I’ll just grow stronger.

More resistant.

Ready to grow and grow and grow.

Ready to sprout back to life, back to joy, back to wonder.

Eyes attuned differently, eyes awake to new, greater, things.

A whole new perspective.

Life is kind. Life is good. Life is wonderful.

Life is also harsh. And hard. And unfair. Troubling, disturbing, frustrating.

Take it all for what it is and run with it all: use it all as fuel to grow.

We only get one life.

Only one Wednesday 11th March 2015.

End

9 thoughts on “Tuesdays (well, Wednesday…) at 10: Grow

  1. Bravo!

    We’re attuned here, I think…my thoughts, on dealing with terminal illness, is that I’ll fight it so hard, and so viciously that Hell itself will fear to have me, and when I do walk the streets of heaven, God and all His angels will lower their gaze and stand aside to let me pass.

    And meanwhile, while I’m here…if God himself gets weary, he can pull in behind me, because there is no place safer than behind the broad back of an Asian man who don’t know how to spell “surendar”, much less do it.

    Take a break, God. I got this. And they shall not pass.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Go us! I always have trouble imagining how you must feel, living with the knowledge of your own mortality (I know we all do, but I hope you know what I mean)…..I think I understand you a little better now….

      Like

      • Yes! Go us!

        Honestly, living with knowledge of mortality isn’t much of a problem; it’s a good, hard, dirty fight, and my enemy is in the open. I may have a challenge in merely getting to my feet, and taking that next step, but it does cut through the dross that can cover the hard bright lines of life.

        There’s little to mourn, because I’m absolutely determined that mourning will not be necessary; there’s not room for that in my bergen.

        And every day is good.

        Like

  2. Barbara says:

    Yes…GO YOU, Helen!! GO YOU, Andrew! Face it all knowing your will be strengthened and GROW in the face of what you have suffered…each of you in a different way; yet – the same.

    My friends, I cry inside and outside as I read each of your stories; I write this comment to both of you because I feel your pain. Perhaps not as one who has “been there, done that”; but as one who has been through her own “pain” – not as you have; but as I have. One who shares her heart through words; words that I read of YOUR heart(s); words I feel through YOUR words…

    Thank you for sharing; I am always here, Helen! And, I appreciate your words, your friendship – if I could BE THERE to give you a HUG and let you lean on be a bit, I would be there. So, consider yourself hugged, and my shoulder – perhaps the arm of your chair?!

    Like

  3. Karen Beth says:

    LOVE this quote you wrote “Some sort of Hydra, sprouting more and more heads with every whack.
    I like that thought.
    The thought itself gives me strength.
    Beat me and I’ll rise up, stronger than before.
    Beat me. I’ll just grow stronger.”

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on grow .. thank you for being a part of Tuesday at Ten 🙂 I enjoyed this

    Like

  4. I’ve been worrying about you Helen. So I loved reading this – I feel the strength with each line. You are fighting the good fight and doing a great job. Keep enjoying the beauty and miracle of each day as you grow, and know I’m always in your corner. xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….am OK….still recovering and neck-deep in the bureaucracy that comes with all the reports etc following the ‘incident’…….I know you’re in my corner….and it’s much appreciated xxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

