If you had to buy your time…

CharlesL

If you had to buy your time

What would you do?

How would you live?

Would you be doing what you’re doing?

Would you, instead, find the resources to do something else?

What would that something else be?

What??

I ask myself….

If I had to pay for today, would I be doing what I’m doing?

My answer’s been ‘No’ for far too long…

…but I don’t see a way to turn my ‘No’ to ‘Yes’.

If you had to buy your time,

I bet you’d use it more wisely

Guard it much more fiercely

Not waste it frivolously

Or take even one second of it for granted.

If you had to buy your time,

all your moments would be set up, savoured, to last an eternity

Sunday best every day.

[Photo by Charles L. via Unsplash]

19 thoughts on “If you had to buy your time…

  1. alexa says:

    Very thought-provoking, Helen. Great question to carry with me through the day. I’d be doing my paperwork faster and more efficiently for a start!

    Like

  2. Sian says:

    Mm..interesting thoughts…I’m sure I should have used some of my time differently, but I try not to have regrets. Just because I might go back and do something differently doesn’t mean there wasn’t value in the way I did it then, because what I needed or wanted from a situation twenty years ago isn’t what I might need from the same situation now.But time is precious: no doubt about that

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    WOW! What an interesting and thought-provoking post, my friend!! My first thought was “thought’provoking” as Alexa described it. Knowing what has been happening in your life, I can feel your pain and your hurt through these words. I have looked back at my life as well and wondered how it could have been different if I had done this or that! I am somewhat like Sian, that I don’t want to look back with regret; yet, there ARE things I would like to have done differently (going to college when my grandfather offered to PAY FOR IT, instead of just a year of business school)…Reading these words, I am reading your heart once again.

    Thank you for sharing your words today!

    Like

  4. Chelsea says:

    Such an interesting concept- I will definitely be thinking more on that!

    http://www.hollandsreverie.blogspot.com

    Like

  5. Good food for thought Helen! I know right off the bat I’d always say that I would spend that much more quality time with my family. Our lives get so busy and hectic with our schedules….and I should take more time to really listen when my kids are sharing with me, or play a game whenever they ask etc. It gets too easy to get caught up in my own business. But I believe they are the reason I am on this planet and I they are the first thing I think of when I think of spending more time in any form.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Carrie….one of the hardest things I have to cope with is not being near my family, and missing quality time with them. I’m missing so much (my Mum’s marriage, my brother’s baby who’ll be born soon)…so many many ‘grand’ moments and then the ordinary every day moments (sitting having a cup of tea with my Mum or laughing with my brothers)…..it’s hard, so hard……

      Like

      • I feel for you so much Helen -and can only imagine what you’re going through. Especially with all the extra “challenges” lately, I know that family support would provide such strength. I hope that you are able to visit them soon, or some of them can come to you to help with that love and strength.

        In the mean time, if it helps at all, know that you have a blogland family that cares very much about you. I consider you a friend and someone who’s intelligence, kindness, and strength I admire so much. You are definitely not alone and I hope you can feel the prayers, support, and loving thoughts sent your way.
        xoxo

        Like

  6. Britney says:

    Hmmmm what a thought…it makes me so sad to say no I would be doing so many other things. I guess it just depends on how much time I could buy! But I think I would just spend lots of time with my family and do all the things I love to do. I am kind of doing that now but everyone Is so busy that I don’t get to see them that often!

    Like

  7. hopecarrart says:

    Helen, I suppose it depends on the season of your life. I would answer this question differently with decades already gone. Looking back and forward with what remains, I would have to say that I have always and will always find that loving and giving bring the most happiness.

    Like

  8. Such a deep and though provoking blog 🙂 Good to be mindful and present. It’s so true that time is precious. Thanks for sharing xoxo

    Like

  9. heatha100 says:

    I have enjoyed your thoughts and writing!! I would be doing more writing!! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

