Kindness Counts Friday

kindness counts

Goodness, long time no Kindness Counts Friday post from me….blame life (in all it’s beautiful twisted frustrating joyful glory!)…

[Kindness Counts Friday is Kim’s original idea; I’m babysitting whilst she’s on a blog break]…

Time to recount the kind acts we’ve engaged in, received or witnessed and for me to highlight some of the kindness related ‘things’ I’ve seen on my travels around Internet Land….

Here goes:

Kind acts we’ve engaged in

– My son, ever the kindness warrior, was gifted a small amount of money at school this week. What did he do with it (that just about broke my Mama’s heart)? He spent it all on his sister (a chocolate bar and a lollipop)….”…because she hasn’t had a treat in a while, Mama”.

– Baking up a storm….60 chocolate zucchini muffins baked for my son’s school friends who took part in an amazing assembly show this week……to say a big thank you for all their hard work. [It was really an amazing show they put on and had me doing both the ‘Proud Mama’ thang and the ‘tears welling up whilst listening to God Save the Queen thing’…don’t ever say I’m not in tune with my emotions ;)]

Kind acts received or witnessed

– a lovely reader of my blog, who’s become a friend, sent me something I Appreciated A Great Deal and it’s been such a blessing. Thank you, you!

–  another lovely blog reader, who’s also become a friend, also sent me something (well, two beautiful things…which arrived quite a while ago now, but I wanted to note their arrival here) and they made me so, so happy! Thanks, Lady….

[Isn’t it amazing, how we can not have met someone in real life but, through the connections we make via our blogs, we can feel and just know that they’re kindred spirits? The power of the internet is real, ladies!]

Some kindness related ‘things’ I’ve seen on my travels around T’internet Land….

Not many this week but they’re ‘crackers’ (good ones), as my Grandad would have said:

The science behind the power of kindness….don’t be put off by the word ‘science’, it’s a really fascinating read and will get you ruminating. Promise!

– And this – a link to a survey for the first worldwide study of awe…..they’re trying to determine what awe is and whether it’s felt differently across cultures. ‘Why is this kindness related, Helen?’ (I hear you asking)…well, wouldn’t it be kind of cool to know more about awe [that most awesome of emotions ;)]? And they can’t find out more about it unless people fill out the survey….(Be kind. Do it. You’ll get to remember something awesome. It’ll make you feel better! And you’ll help someone as part of the bargain!)

And that, my friends, is Kindness Counts Friday for this week. Normal service will be resumed from now on…..linky thingy is still playing silly, so I can’t guarantee I’ll have a link-up next week, but do play along….if we all did just a few more acts of kindness each week, or even acknowledged acts of kindness with gratitude…

I do believe the world would be a much different place.

Oh, and last but not least…..this made me Laugh Out Loud…..hopefully it’ll give you a chuckle (or two) as you go about your day….(I couldn’t find the original source….if it’s yours and you’re offended by my use of it, please let me know and I’ll take it down; no offence was intended. Quite the opposite in fact….it was meant to get people rolling in their aisles!)….

22855e41374ce0e6c094e8652d836bb3

[Don’t ever say I don’t provide light relief here at I Will Bloom….!]

18 thoughts on “Kindness Counts Friday

  1. Isabel says:

    How lovely to write about kindness. And I chuckled at the cartoon! x

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Isabel, it’s a regular feature, one I love doing because I think it’s really important to highlight how easy it is to take a moment to be consciously kind and how much impact kindness has in the world. I’ll be off to have a look at your blog over the weekend (have been extraordinarily busy this week: don’t know if I’m coming or going!)

      Like

  2. alexa says:

    That little cartoon has me smiling. What a wet lot we are (or are perceived to be!). Kindness always brings a lump to my throat – your little one has it in spades.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Alexa…I always have the same reaction to kindness…the lump in the throat that simultaneously says ‘*This* is how it should be!’ and ‘Oh, why isn’t the world like *this*….

      Like

  3. Rachel G says:

    Aww, gotta love a brother who takes such good care of his sister! My own little brother is a sweet, gentle giant who likes to appear grumpy and ornery to outsiders, haha–I’m going to get to see him in about two months and I can’t wait. And those chocolate zucchini muffins sound delightful!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      So glad you’ll see your brother soon [I am missing my own brothers so, so much; I’ll be an Aunt soon and Heaven only knows when I’ll be able to see my little nephew :(]….

      Like

  4. Barbara says:

    I keep saying I am going to join you for this; so many kindnesses, given, received, read, seen…yet, I just don’t always write them in my “gratitude journal” or my “blessing book” and don’t always remember them! I am going to get better at this…

    Love reading your kindnesses – especially when they include your littles! Your son definately has a kind heart (like his MUM!)…

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Barbara…..when you can, if you can…..you have so much on your plate! Love that you keep a blessing book (my jar is filling up; it’s wonderful to see – makes me feel overwhelmed with gratitude every time I catch sight of it)….[thank you for your comment about my kind heart xxx]

      Like

  5. Debby says:

    Now I just love this whole idea of counting and naming kindness. I was thinking this only this morning when I saw a woman call out to a much older woman in a store. She just wanted to say hi and brighten her day. Such important things to notice and carry on in like fashion. This brightens my day. And your sons good deed….oh, precious!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Yes, it’s so important, I think, to be actively kind and to note when kindnesses occur….it’s a form of living with constant gratitude. (Yes, my son’s gesture was *too* cute!)…

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love reading a good post like this Helen. Just makes me feel good and such a great way to start a weekend.

    What a precious gesture by your son! My mommy heart gave a squeeze just thinking about it. 😉 Also, love those school moments that mean so much.

    I love the relationships that get formed just through this blogland we all enjoy and I’m so glad you received some treasures from special blogland relationships. So sweet.

    I love your cartoon too!! Adorable.
    Happy weekend dear Gal!! xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie…..thank you! Yes, my son’s gesture was *too sweet*!!! (And my Mamas heart gives giant leaps every time I think of him giving her a cuddle, telling her to close her eyes and hold out her hands and her face when she saw it!)….you have a lovely weekend too!!!!! Helen xx

      Like

  7. Sian says:

    I’m very intrigued by the idea of “awe” being felt differently across the world. That’s an interesting one.

    Now there’s a brother who I suspect has been learning by example. A kind Mum helps to equal kind kids

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Sian….yes, the awe idea is intriguing, isn’t it? I’m looking forward to seeing what they uncover…hah, yes, I suspect that *is* the case….and I thank my lucky stars I was raised in this way so they will be too…..have a lovely weekend! Can’t wait to hear all about it on Monday! Helen xxx

      Like

  8. Shauna841505 says:

    I just love the Kindness posts. I still cannot believe how amazing you are! 😉

    Like

  9. iwillbloom says:

    Shauna….what a beautiful thing to say. Thank you! You’ve made my day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

