One + Four = Life (10/04/15)

Joining in with Pip’s ‘1 + 4 = Life’ idea – the link-up for this week is here….Here goes…

1Plus4-10April15-Full

1. Calendar from nursery. A little drawing to mark each day. [She rushes to grab her pens to fill it in as soon as she arrives home; it’s too cute to see her enthusiasm! I’m constantly inspired by her endless creativity and lack of self consciousness when she’s expressing herself through her art. May she always be able to maintain this level of self-belief].

2. You know those moments when everything just feels right with the world? They’re fleeting, but you have to grab them and savour them when they come. They’re like little flashes of stardust falling in your path, lighting your way.

3. Those legs! I could stare at them all day every day.

4. “Mama…” (just after we’d settled down for the night after homework)…”Is there anything sweet?” he asks. I look in the kitchen. No butter. No eggs. Just the scrapings of store cupboard ingredients. And one 8 year old boy’s face looking at me hopefully. What’s a Mama supposed to do? Cobble something together and hope for the best! And they were delicious! Coconut, oats, flour, cocoa powder, a little bit of sugar, some oil and a lot of love….who knew?!

It’s been a definitely very hopeful week this week around these parts…

Reading John Irving’s A Prayer for Owen Meany. Fascinating premise for the book but I’m finding the first sections hard going. If you’ve read it, give me some motivation to continue, please!

Inspired by this Amy Winehouse video. Goosebumps. Tears of joy. Every. Single. Time. She left a little bit of herself on stage every time she performed, but this? No words. I have no words.

Eating lots of fruit salad and feta cheese (sometimes at the same time). Yum!

Laughing at this video of Tom Hanks and James Corden reenacting all of his films…I’m probably the last person who has access to the internet to have stumbled across it, however…..!

Thinking about a haircut. It’s time. And piercing my ears (yep, still!)…I need a change. I feel it coming.

Making lots of scrapbook LO’s.

Wearing black floral trousers and a denim shirt. Kind of a 90s vibe. Red heels and a blue hat (when I went out this morning; not in the house as I sit typing this, obviously! A hat inside? That would just be weird). Hot pink lipstick and nails. And a plait.

Wishing we were home. I dream of walking through fields of daffodils and bluebells. I can smell them in my sleep.

Missing all the little quirks of British life. Snippets of conversations overheard in the street. People expressing themselves through their clothes. Angel Delight. Crumpets. M&S. Primark. York. Theatre. Speaking English.

Buying as little as possible. Our finances aren’t going to get back on track by being frivolous at this point in time.

Marvelling at the fact that everything always falls in to place as if by magic (but I know now that it’s not magic) and at the fact that light always follows darkness (however deep or long the darkness).

Thanking the Heavens for guiding me.

Appreciating being able to work. It feels Good (with a capital G).

Feeling like I can. I’ve missed you, this feeling of being able. [Thanks for coming back].

Have a great week, everyone!

Helen xx

 

 

27 thoughts on “One + Four = Life (10/04/15)

  1. Barbara says:

    Love your little girl’s drawings on the calendar – and her legs! They ARE adorable and I can easily see why you can’t stop staring at them! The cookies – what a wonderful “pulled together” sweet for your son! I don’t think I’d have everything needed to pull something off like that!!

    LOVED the music by Amy Winehouse; so beautiful! I have seen the Tom Hanks – it IS hilarious!

    Love the categories and your responses…good to hear you are doing scrapbooking LO’s!! We are two of a kind…I actually was pulled out of my “relaxing” to go be with a couple of friends for the late afternoon/evening and mostly put some layouts into an album – people are making them and we are putting an album together to auction off at the Puppy Crop fund-raising retreat next month (the last one went for $200!!). It is an all Disney album and will sure to bring in the “bucks”!

    I need a haircut, too – probably next week. Coupons just came in the mail, and next week is our 1st pay week (mine comes the next week) – so, yes, it is getting hot already; a haircut is due!! (But, think I’ll skip the ear piercing! I did that when I was a teenager; but let them grow in). Love the outfit you described that you were wearing; all the way from the hat to the nail polish and lips!! I’m not quite so “classy” on a regular day…and don’t do the lipstick or the nail polish – no reason; just stopped doing all that stuff…

    And, yes, the “Marvelling” and “Thanking”!! Magic? For sure – a special type of “magic”!!

    Thanks for sharing your One + Four = Life! LOVED IT!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh, Barbara, that album sounds fantastic! How great that it’ll be auctioned off for your cause. Definitely a special kind of magic! Have a GREAT weekend, Barbara 🙂

      Like

  2. alexa says:

    Now there’s a great Mum who not only can rustle up something at the drop of a hat, but does so willingly and with love :). Wonderful to hear your upbeat tone; the daffs are out here now, but the bluebells will be a little while yet. I’ll send you a photo! Fruit salad and feta? Now that’s my kind of a meal … Off to try your links xx

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh, how I would love to see the daffodils…the bluebells used to pop up around and of April/early to mid-May time near our home…..depending on temperatures. Oh, I’d *love* a photo…I often, often, think of the “Bluebell Wood” where I used to walk with my Gran and Grandad (on the ‘Nottinghamshire side’ of home)….yes, fruit salad and feta….just delicious!!!

      Like

  3. So grateful you are feeling the “i can” again because yes you CAN! Also hair cuts are magical. And ear piercing~I hope you can! I really want a tattoo. Seems so exciting but can never think of something that is classic enough to be timeless without being cliche!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Heather, if I were braver I’d love a teeny tiny tattoo on the inside of my right wrist, a little star, just to remind me that I came through all this and am strong. I’m scared of having something so permanent, however (if I haven’t yet dared pierce my ears, I’m not likely to plump – any time soon! – for a tattoo (even a teeny tiny small one!)…

      Like

      • Ahhh! I love it. I would like a tiny one too. Maybe my ankle. 😉

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        We’ll have to psyche each other up….when I get paid this week (my first pay check in TWO years!), I’m going to have my hair cut (medium bob) and pierce my ears…it needs to be done (as a way of marking a new period in my life), so I’m just going to bite the bullet and go for it…

        Like

  4. Sian says:

    Quick! Write down that recipe for “Cobbley Biscuits”…they feel like a bit of a marker, you know?

    I’ve never had my ears pierced either

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah Sian! Love the name you gave them – ‘Cobbley biscuits’…..I actually couldn’t believe just *how delicious* they were! So tasty with a ‘melt in the mouth’ texture…..yum!!! [Another member of the ‘no pierced ears’ club…..there aren’t that many of us]

      Like

  5. Giulia Porro says:

    Thos biccies sound delicious! Naww what a cutie with her calendar! 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      They were! Amazing what you can do with a few odds and ends from the store cupboard! Yeah: the calendar is so cute (and it’s even cuter hearing her try to figure out the order of the days!)…..thanks for stopping by!!!

      Like

  6. Love all of this Helen! And I think it’s time for haircuts, piercings, tattoos, the works!! It’s YOUR time for whatever inspires and empowers Lady! And who knew you were such a fashion diva?! (love the outfit description) 😉

    I love your daughter’s calendar too and how you just whipped up some treats with what you had on hand. Plus doing scrapbook layouts – you are a Gal after my own heart!!

    I wish I could bottle those moments of home and send it to you – so you could uncork a little bit of it whenever you really needed it. Someone should figure out how to do that, don’t ya think?

    I loved both of the clips (had seen before) – moving and funny.

    Wishing you a very fulfilled week ahead. xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Carrie, hah! Fashion diva? Not really! But I’ve discovered, all over again, that I like to make an effort! Yes, I love scrapbooking too, it’s my relaxation/therapy! Oh, yes, if only ‘moments from home’ could be bottled up! Someone should *definitely* figure out how to do it! Thank you for your sweet, sweet message, Helen xxx

      Like

  7. Isabel says:

    Gorgeous Helen – those legs, and the drawings, and your son being so kind to his sister. Aw! That must be a great part of being a Mum x

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi, thanks Isabel….yes, that’s definitely one of the perks of being a Mama! Loved your post, too….and am looking forward to more ‘Liz and Iz’ stories!!!!

      Like

  8. lali108 says:

    Such a thoughtful and sweet post! I love ingenuity when it comes to creativity and cookies. Yes! I have read a Prayer for Owen Meany and I will say it is worth the effort, it is an amazing story and really so brilliantly written, hang in there, you will get sucked in!

    Like

  9. From City to Suburbs says:

    Love reading your post Helen thank you for sharing. Those wee legs – ADORABLE! It must be amazing to see them grow each day! You must miss M&S so much!! I couldn’t live without the old classic! A store may come your way… my friends in Amsterdam love their store =)

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi….ooh, yummeeeeey! I didn’t think Amsterdam could get any better, but now it has an M&S??!! M&S sushi by the canal side? Delicious! Loved your 1+4 post, too, and love your blog! Will be a regular visitor! Helen xx

      Like

  10. Susan W. says:

    A Prayer for Owen Meany – one of my favourite books. I absolutely loved the character of Owen Meany and his ultimate reason for being. Keep reading. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the Tom Hanks clip. I hadn’t seen it.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Susan, thanks for visiting and leaving me such a helpful comment! I’m enjoying the book now! The Tom Hanks clip is brilliant, isn’t it? I love James Corden [realise I’m slightly biased, as a British person :)]

      Like

  11. Ruthie says:

    Sounds like you have a creative little one… I hope she doesn’t get tired of creating! I just love how you threw together cookies like that, they look delicious. Thanks for sharing your week Helen, always a pleasure to read 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Ruthie….the cookies were so delicious, and I bet you if I tried I couldn’t replicate them 😉 If I do try and they taste just as good, I’ll make a note of the recipe and post it on here! Thanks for your lovely comment!!! Helen xxx

      Like

  12. Rachel G says:

    Your window garden is lovely! My family used to make some no-bake cookies which look and sound quite similar to yours–I never ate them much, as I’m not a huge fan of sweets, but the picture of those cookies brought back memories!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Rachel, we have plants all over the house. It’s an inheritance from my Gran, who was so green fingered….she’d sneak bits of plants from all over and grow them all over her home…I think I just kind of picked that trait up from her by osmosis…..I have to see green around me or I go crazy….I’m totally not a fan of green-less spaces…..[glad I made you remember some precious memories!]

      Like

Leave a Reply

