Five Minute Friday: Tomorrow

Welcome

Joining in with Five Minute Friday again: this week’s word Tomorrow.

Here goes…

Start

I don’t like tomorrow, I’ve decided. Or, rather, I don’t like tomorrows. In general. They’re the thiefs of happiness, the whole bunch of them. Stealthy little devils that come to steal your joy and strip your days of wonder. “I’ll do it tomorrow”….”Tomorrow I’ll be able to…”….tomorrow – that far off magical time when everything will be right with the world and conditions will be perfect to do x, y, z. I’ve known people who’ve never lived to see those kind of tomorrows. I know how cruel that is. Do yourself a favour, stop racing towards tomorrow and savour today. Not even today, really, but this moment. It’s all we ever have, when it boils down to it. Make the most of it. Live it fully. Give it all your attention. Enjoy it. It deserves it. That tiny bit of it, it’s your life. There, that momentary it…that’s your life. Don’t go wasting it.

End

14 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Tomorrow

  1. Barbara says:

    Beautiful, friend; just beautiful!! Why wait ’til tomorrow – mine was similar…great minds think alike!!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Gabriele says:

    I hear you. No mincing words today. I will, savor right now and tell you thank-you for sending these words.

    Like

  3. I completely agree Helen! Living in the present is the best place to be. No one gets a guarantee other than right now…this very moment…so it’s best to savor it and not put energies elsewhere.

    Like a song I love says: “…and the cares of tomorrow can wait, ’til this day is done.”

    happy weekend! xoxo

    Like

  4. What a great post. It’s hard to embrace today when we keep looking for tomorrow. Isn’t it funny how we think everything will be so great (even perfect!) tomorrow? I keep reminding myself that our choices today determine tomorrow. May we both live in this moment, with joy and being fully present. 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Absolutely….all of our choices today dictate everything about our lives…my Mum said to me the other day, ‘Helen, you make a poor choice once, it’s a mistake…repeat it several times, its a decision”. It really hit home hard (like only comments from one’s Mum can do….!)…have a lovely weekend, Helen xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. “…savour today. Not even today, really, but this moment.” This. – Sarah, stopping by from Five Minute Friday.

    Like

  6. Carrie Ann says:

    So well said. I am always thinking once this happens, then I can do this. Always thinking well tomorrow is another day, I can get it right then. Trying to live each day in the moment, but find it difficult sometimes. Need to look for “that momentary it” each day and enjoy it!!

    Like

  7. Just yes. Savor the moment 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

