One + Four = Life (April 19th)

Life is wonderful, isn’t it? Its beauty takes me by surprise most days, usually when I’m least expecting it. A kind word from someone, or to someone, a butterfly flittering through my field of vision, cuddles from my littles, a ‘Love you Mama’ shouted just as the lift closes (and hearing him continuing to shout it as the lift goes down), a delicious tomato….it doesn’t take much, does it, to feel happy?

This week’s been hard but fulfilling…you know when you’ve worked so hard, you’re dog tired but it’s kind of exhilarating at the same time, because you know you’ve done good and that you’ve proved you can go beyond the limits you set yourself? It was that kind of week for me this week.

Here’s my photos for this week’s ‘1+4=Life’ link-up via Pip’s Meet Me At Mikes….don’t be scared by the Ginormous Iguana…..

1Plus4-18April

….for this was the week we were joined, during our picnic in the park, by a 2m-long iguana! He decided he rather liked our crisps and my hat (which he promptly sat on and refused to move away from!). I tried not to get scared, so the littles wouldn’t get scared, but when he started running towards me (eyeing the sandwich I had in my hand, I think), even I let out a little scream! They’re a scary-looking animal and their whip-like tail? “Shudder, shudder”!

It was the week of visits to the park. Laying on the picnic blanket and just filling with happiness. Watching the light come through the trees and breathing in life. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

And the week when I was startled to find this colourful leaf shining back at me from one of my plant pots. I didn’t plant this plant but am overjoyed every time I see it’s colourful leaves! I feel so lucky a seed decided to float in to my little bit of soil! Each leaf looks like its been hand painted, so delicately. Its been a real joy to see it: every time I notice the light shining through the leaves I’m taken aback.

And the week when we watched a pair of black ibises building their nest (at the local park). Amazing. Such care and attention and dedication to making a home for their young. It really touched my heart and caused a few little tears to be squeezed out. We’ll be back to visit them again this week.

And the week when I was…..

Loving this, from The Independent, about the time a guy asked Live Chat operators philosophical questions….made me chuckle!

Being amazed by these words from Van Gogh….(found via Maria at Brainpickings):

“In the springtime a bird in a cage knows very well that there’s something he’d be good for; he feels very clearly that there’s something to be done but he can’t do it; what it is he can’t clearly remember,and he has vague ideas and says to himself, “the others are building their nests and making their little ones and raising the brood,” and he bangs his head against the bars of his cage. And then the cage stays there and the bird is mad with suffering. “Look, there’s an idler,” says another passing bird — that fellow’s a sort of man of leisure. And yet the prisoner lives and doesn’t die; nothing of what’s going on within shows outside, he’s in good health, he’s rather cheerful in the sunshine. But then comes the season of migration. A bout of melancholy — but, say the children who look after him, he’s got everything that he needs in his cage, after all — but he looks at the sky outside, heavy with storm clouds, and within himself feels a rebellion against fate. I’m in a cage, I’m in a cage, and so I lack for nothing, you fools! Me, I have everything I need! Ah, for pity’s sake, freedom, to be a bird like other birds! An idle man like that resembles an idle bird like that…..You may not always be able to say what it is that confines, that immures, that seems to bury, and yet you feel [the] bars…”

Listening to this Tony Bennett duet with Maria Gadu, a Brazilian singer. Cannot hear her first note without bursting in to tears of joy for the beauty of life….the whole song is so tender….it’s my ‘You’re about to go to bed, Helen, the day was good and life is good’ song….her voice?….incredible. I’ve promised myself I will go to see her sing live in a small, intimate, venue….

Eating mozzarella sandwiches with blackcurrant and balsamic jam (recipe here). Oh my. They’re so good!

Wishing I could see my brother….am missing him a lot. 

Admiring this Dad……I dare you to look at these photos and not cry at the amazing love of this father for his son and the vision he has of his son’s condition. I’ve been thinking about it, often, over the last few days. We need more people like this in the world.

Anyway….that was my week…..

Here’s to a great one for us all!

Helen xxx

10 thoughts on “One + Four = Life (April 19th)

  1. doris says:

    wow! that iguana is so cool!

    Like

  2. From City to Suburbs says:

    Life certainly is wonderful Helen. I so enjoyed reading your post and all about your week. Fantastic photos. Can’t wait to try your recipe. Thanks for posting. Have a good week X

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi….so glad you enjoyed the post! Off to read yours…..(haven’t had a minute all day and its normally my day to catch up on BlogLand…! At least for an hour or so, but not today!)…….have a good week too xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. alexa says:

    My goodness, that’s quite an iguana! How’s your hat? Thank-you for the intro to Maria Gadu (don’t their voices blend well? I had no idea Tony Bennett was still singing …) and I have just nipped off and bought her first album before popping back :).

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Alexa…yes, indeed. Quite an iguana! The hat sort of survived, with a few threads having come loose! I literally daren’t try to move it from under the monster! Yes, Tony Bennett is still singing – he’s done some fantastic albums recently (Duets, Viva Duets and one with Lady Gaga, which is JUST SENSATIONAL…..I had no idea Lady Gaga was such a ‘workhorse/powerhouse of a musician….I’d kind of just avoided her apart from being in awe of her dresses and she’s just this amazing, amazing, powerful woman with this really incredibly powerful voice…I’d definitely recommend that CD……hope you’ll like the Maria Gadu CD – some of her work is more contemporary, not jazz-oriented, so I hope it’ll be to your liking….she did a concert with Caetano Veloso that’s available on Amazon….incredible, just incredible…I think the video’s up on youtube…I’d definitely recommend that album….their voices just seem to bounce beauty off one another somehow……(oh, music, how I have missed you! I’m *so* enjoying listening to music again…….!)…..have a lovely week, Alexa xxx

      Like

  4. I was rather hoping for a photo of the iguana wearing your hat!!! I love the ibis photo, aren’t birds just the best. Everything is growing here and the leaves are all so gorgeous, especially when the sun shines through them.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Clare, I’m a scrapbooker so half of me was thinking ‘I can get some *really* cool photos’ and the other half was thinking ‘OMG….it’s so enormous, it’s like a killing machine’……and then I started chuckling to myself because, yes,I was imagining it with a lovely hat, too!!!!!! So glad the leaves are gorgeous…..!!!

      Like

  5. lali108 says:

    Ha, I totally know what you mean about getting scared by small animals, or reptiles. We should know better but when they run at us it is just creepy! Thanks for sharing your beautiful images! They brightened my day.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! It wasn’t small! It was like 2m long (it’s tail alone was almost as long as the picnic bench 😦 !!!!!! Thank YOU for your lovely comment!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

