One + Four = Life (26th April)

1+ 4 = Life for this week (thanks Pip, for the idea, and for creating this amazing community!)

It was the week with a Veritable Mountain of Work (hence no blogging or visiting blogs; I’m slowly making my rounds, ladies!)…I’m so thankful to be able to work properly again (Yay for having time to work! Yay for all my wonderful clients who’ve stuck by me through thick and thin these last two years! Yay for being able to pay my bills properly next month!)….and the week when….

1plus426thApril

…my daughter’s art quite literally threatened to take over the whole house. I came out of the kitchen one afternoon to find art work everywhere and to find her (and her tiny 5-year old frame) standing on a high chair, singing out loud and dancing, sticking her artwork to the wall…aside from the other two walls that are dedicated to her art gallery we’ve therefore added another wall to display her art. I’m all for anything that promotes her creativity…keep ’em coming, girl, keep ’em coming…

It was also the week for my ‘desert rose’ plant to decide to flower. It’s basically a stick that flowers every six months or so; about thirty buds come out overnight, the flowers last about a day and then they’re gone….teaching many lessons about the frailty of life and the need to mindfully appreciate beauty whenever it appears before you!

It was also the week for catching tadpoles and fish at the local park….and bringing them home and letting them escape so I woke up to find snail trails all over the house on Wednesday! (I know now how my Mum used to feel when I’d be the one responsible for it! LOL!)

And, finally, the week for amazing skyscapes. Literally every time I got up from my desk to stretch my legs and get some fresh air from our balcony, the sky was doing amazing things. I felt so blessed!

It was also the week I was….

In awe of the ‘Love after love’ poem by Derek Walcott, discussed, and read, here – do go check it out…I’ve never read anything before that so succinctly manages to convey the fundamental importance and need for self-love, as a basis for any form of love. I’ll definitely be looking for opportunities to read more Walcott (and this makes me want to explore the work of all Nobel Prize winners….I was horrified as I digested the poem…what delights I must have been missing out on by not specifically seeking out and reading the work of Nobel Prize winners…)

Laughing at Jerry Lewis dancing to Count Basie Orchestra! I’d totally forgotten just how much I used to enjoy Jerry Lewis as a girl and we’ve had a brilliant week, me and the littles, watching snippets of his films on Youtube…

Eating homemade baked beans. After a bit of a meltdown, because he wanted to see his ‘Granmamma’ (my Mum, as he calls her), it was decided that the only possible course of action to put all of his maladies right again was to eat baked beans on toast with a fried egg and grated cheese….only problem? No baked beans. What’s a Mama supposed to do? Hope and pray she can somehow recreate Heinz baked beans. And you know? I think I did a pretty good job! They weren’t exactly Heinz standard – perhaps supermarket own brand, maybe?! – but they did the trick. His tears were gone and there was a smile on his face within a few mouthfuls. Oh, the power of a Mama. May it long last!

Listening to Sara Bareilles Brave (love the video!)

(Trying to) dance to King Africa’s Bomba – such a silly song but somehow so addictive! The littles have had endless bouts of laughter at me trying to dance to it!!

Reading A Thousand Splendid Suns from Khaled Hosseini. Loving it but not finding it totally satisfying, somehow. [I finished A Prayer for Owen Meany – thanks to everyone who told me to stick with it. “Wow! What a book!” is about all I can muster at the moment, as I’m still swooning under it’s influence!]

Thinking about when we’ll be able to return to England and how I’m going to eat my way through a whole mountain of cheddar cheese and Branston pickle sandwiches with Walkers cheese and onion crisps, swigged down with elderflower cordial (with sparkling water),  followed by Angel delight, M&S chocolate eclairs and cake, lots of cake…healthy, moi??!!

(Trying to) make matching mermaid tails for my daughter and her American Girl doll (don’t ask!). I’m using this pattern – daughter-sized – and trying to scale it down for the American Girl so it’ll end up looking something like this…..hopefully one of next week’s 1+4=Life photos will be of said tails….as I don’t think I can take another moment of frustration trying to sew them! I finish them today or they’re not finished at all (do you ever get that when you’re crafting? You just need to finish and be done or else?!!)

Enjoying free moments after I’ve finished work. Oh my goodness, it feels sooooo, sooooooo good to be able to be working properly again.

And that, ladies, was my week…

Hoping you all have a great one….

Can’t promise I’ll be able to blog much this week but am hoping to manage to blog at least once!

I’ll be back with a vengeance from next week onwards. Promise!

Helen xxxx

16 thoughts on “One + Four = Life (26th April)

  1. Liane says:

    Oh that’s so sad about your son and how upset he was but well done on trying to recreate beans! You can’t beat some beans on toast.. I’ve never tried it with a fried egg though! I’m going to have to try that tomorrow 🙂

    When you come back to England, we have to do a day trip to London!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Liane….baked beans on toast with a fried egg on top and then grilled cheddar on top of that? It’s delicious!!! Try it!!! The date in London (which will be a regular thing is scheduled in the ongoing ‘things to do when I’m back home’ diary I have running in my head at all times…..xxx

      Like

  2. Ruthie says:

    I saw a great idea for saving kids art work on Pinterest the other day that may interest you… if you need to clear some gallery space for new art. You can take a photo or scan of each piece and reduce it in size. Then create a collage of all the images, then print it and place in a frame. Such a lovely way to keep record of all the precious art projects don’t you think?

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Ruthie, yes, that’s a great idea! I may have to do this! I put a lot in our Project Life album (scrapbooking) but it’s literally taking over the house! Would love one of the collages you suggest, especially ordered by age…..thank you for the idea!

      Like

  3. alexa says:

    Wonderful to hear the energy and enthusiasm for daily living and creating back so strongly in your voice :). Oh, and exciting that you might be returning to the UK? I like your wishlist by the way! I haven’t seen Angel Delight in a while but I might not be looking in the right place – here’s hoping!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Alexa, yes, I’m feeling stronger….and creating (which is always a good sign, with me)…..medium-term plans may be afoot, yes…..my littlest talks about Angel Delight every day (she loved it when we were there!)….I’ve made her chocolate mousse/puddings etc but she says ‘No, Mama, it’s just NOT the same’ in such an adamant way!!! Bless her!!

      Like

  4. lali108 says:

    You finished Owen Meany already!? You are a fast reader! I am glad you liked it, and yes, a little beyond words, right? So sweet to hear of your daughter celebrating her art, beautiful! I love catching frogs when I was little. Heehee. It’s exciting to be a kid. Wishing you a wonderful week and look forward to seeing those mermaid tails!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….yes, it’s beyond words! Ooh, I never caught frogs (my immediate reaction was ‘yucked’ but then catching snail is pretty gross, too, when you think about it!)……thanks for your best wishes…you have a lovely one, too…..hah! I gave up on the tails last night but we’re going to have another go at them this afternoon!

      Like

  5. Sounds like another one of those crazy weeks in the life of a Mom! Lol I love your sharing of the photos of your beautiful kiddos, artwork, flowers and that amazing sky. They all went straight to my heart!

    I will need to check out the poem – and always have thought those old Jerry Lewis movies were a hoot! 😉

    And I especially loved your sharing of all of your favorite hometown items to eat when you go home! Lol They sound yummy & intriguing and gets me thinking if I were in similar shoes – I wonder what I would miss and couldn’t wait to have when I got home?
    Thanks for great food for thought! (pun intended!) Lol
    xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie Ann, yes, it was a crazy week…..definitely…! I wonder what you would miss? You cook such delicious things, I’m sure you’d miss a lot of them!!

      Like

  6. Sian says:

    Best of luck with the mermaid tails! I have a big girl here who would still love an American Girl (and let’s be honest, I’d pretty much love one for myself too).

    Angel Delight? When I was little we always had that Angel delight wannabe..Instant Whip! Not as nice and even more brightly coloured

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah, I find myself secretly wanting one too! They are *so cool*! We were watching youtube videos (perhaps dangerously) about all the accessories you can get for them…..excessive but so beautiful!

      Like

  7. Oh thats lovely – love the artwork. A friend laminates her kiddies art and makes placemats. Plus grandparents are always great to offload to I hear :):) Love your four shots x A

    Like

  8. Isabel says:

    Wow, what a week Helen! Such a great image of your daughter up on a chair, singing, dancing and sticking up her art, she sounds like a go-getter! And that’s beautiful about your desert rose that only flowers once a year for a few days. Indeed, it does remind one of the fragility of beauty, and of life. All that hibernation for only a few days of beauty makes those few days so special x

    Like

Leave a Reply

