Kindness Counts Friday

kindness counts

No regular Kindness Counts Friday this week and a debatable use of my blog to call for my readers to donate to the help the people of Nepal. I haven’t been able to read the news this week (too, too upsetting) but was just sent a link to a BBC article, which has me in tears….

8 million Nepalese have been affected by the quake (1/4 of the total population of Nepal).

3.5 million people are in need of food.

600,000 families have had their homes destroyed.

As the BBC article states (what I’ve been able to read of it, through my tears)….

“One of our teams that returned from Chautara in Sindhupalchok district reported that 90% of the homes are destroyed

The hospital has collapsed, and people are digging through the rubble with their hands in the hope that they might find family members who are still alive

and, it seems, the effects of this tragedy will have knock-on effects for the whole of Nepal, as the quake “…destroyed seed stocks for the mid-May rice sowing season, as well as grains kept dry in stone storage huts that have now been razed to the ground. If farmers miss this month’s planting season, they will be unable to harvest rice – Nepal’s staple food – until late 2016“.

It’s unimaginable, really, what some fellow humans are going through at the moment and what the tragedy will mean for Nepal as a whole as they move forwards after the quake.

I know many readers are going through tough times financially (as am I), but if you can spare anything, however little, do consider making a donation:

The Red Cross Nepal appeal

The Himalayan Trust

I have friends who work in development and in relief situations and they always tell me that people should just donate what they canhowever small – if everyone did this, those small amounts would add up. It doesn’t need  grand gesture (of hundreds of pounds)…..if we all chipped in whatever we could, this would make a difference…..

6 thoughts on “Kindness Counts Friday

  1. Sian says:

    I love how easy it is to donate now through text. A really positive use for a mobile phone!

    Like

  2. Julie Kirk says:

    I know just what you mean about a ‘debatable’ use of your blog. I donated earlier this week via the DEC and – when the ‘Share this on Facebook’ button came up after I paid my first thought was ‘Mmmm … should I really share that? Won’t people just think I’m bragging that I made a donation? That I’m trying to look like some sort of saint.’ Then I thought – ‘sod it!’ – if one person feels guilty enough to donate afterwards it’ll have been worth my mild British discomfort!

    Like

  3. blondeusk says:

    Kindness counts

    Like

Leave a Reply

