I write because….

IWriteBecause

I write because I can’t not write. It’s something I’ve always done and always do. 

It’s part of me, part of who I am. It’s me.

I write for myself, I write for others.

I write here, I write elsewhere.

I write to remember. I write to understand. I write to grieve, to process. To comes to terms, to arrive, to find, to seek, to be.

I write to live.

[Words are my living, my sustenance, they’ve been my way through Hell, my way back out to life, again…]

They’re my constant companion, my ‘safe’, my refuge, my haven.

I write long-hand. I type. I write in the mornings. I write in the evenings. I write at home. I write on the bus. I write notes, I write books, I write, I write, I write…

I fill notebooks and scraps of paper

[…if I ever can’t find a scrap I’ve scribbled….it’s a part of me lost, somehow, somewhere].

I scribble, I jot, I make notes, sketch characters, write snippets of conversation as they come to me. And they always come to me. Forging themselves out of my thoughts, battling their way through, scrambling to be heard. Wanting, as we all do, to be noticed, to come alive, to become real, to be made whole, to be made full through the simple act of being acknowledged.

I’m never without a pen nor a bit of paper

[Heaven forbid if I’m ever caught without either, although I have been known to write on my hand….(arm, actually, when more space was required…)]

I write.

It’s who I am.

I’m a writer.

Words are my salvation, my refuge, my North, South, East and West.

My anchor.

My words are my most authentic me.

(There’s power in that)

[Composed in response to Karen Beth’s prompt, ‘I write because’…]

12 thoughts on “I write because….

  1. Sian says:

    I like the last line best of all

    Like

  2. And it’s such a blessing that you do – as I love to read what you write talented Gal. Thanks for peeks into your heart and soul..it’s a precious gift you share with all of us. xoxo

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    Beautiful words, my friend!! I will say again – I LOVE to read your heart; and this post shows so much of YOU!! Thank you for sharing – this one I am saving!

    Like

  4. Carrie Ann says:

    This made me think of the wise words of Sister Mary Clarence from Sister Act 2 – “If when you wake up in the morning, you can think of nothing but writing, then you’re a writer.” Check out the clip below, and keep writing, because I enjoy reading what you write.

    Like

  5. Lovvveeeeee it. Keep creating friend!

    Like

  6. Rachel G says:

    The random notebooks and scraps of paper–yes–I’m sitting at the computer desk right now and the drawer is filled with random scraps covered with notes that I need to/want to refer to at some future date. I periodically have to go through my note collection to see what makes sense and what doesn’t.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Rachel…ah, yes, therein lies the problem! Not all scribbles are legible!!!! Important to deal with them sooner rather than later otherwise the sense gets lost in time 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

