One + Four = Life (24th May)

Am back with 1+4 = Life, after a few weeks break….(I missed you, ladies!)….

It was a funny kind of week, busy and also full of tidying up, clearing spaces, feeling the need for fresh air and new. A week filled with many discussions about how ‘big school’ starts in just a few months (for my littlest little one), how my son will be nine in 13 days (yes, he does have a calendar on his wall, so he can count down the days!) and the week we started a piggy bank (all change dropped in to it every evening) for our home by the sea. [You’ve got to have a dream, people, got to have a dream!].

It was also the week when…

1plus4-25thMay

Painting came back in to fashion in our household; my red flowering plant decided to delight me with hundreds of beautiful blooms!; I ventured back in to my office, having become bored of working there whilst finishing a huge project in there for what seemed like forever; and the week when I decided a new vision board was in order (how much fun can cutting up magazines be? My enthusiastic answer: lots!) [I realise the ‘Built for Blahniks’ is rather tacky/90s Sex and the City-ish but it makes me smile every time I see it! I am built for Blahniks and ain’t no-one ever again gonna tell me otherwise!]

And the week I’ve been….

Reading Charles Bukowski Post office“Wow” (is all I can think to respond with at the moment. It’s incredibly – mind-blowingly?! – good!)

Wanting to read Oliver Sacks On The Move. A remarkable man. Can’t wait to read it.

Loving Susan Middleton’s photos of marine invertebrates….life’s beauty knows no bounds! And this tribute to Oliver Sacks, from Lawrence Weschler…what a joy! (The May 1982/July 1983 entries have had me in fits of laughter/deep thought since I read the piece)

Eating chia seeds left overnight in milk and yoghurt. Oh my. Heaven!

Pondering the idea of The Moral Bucket List (and the idea of eulogy virtues) from David Brooks. Do check it out – you won’t regret clicking through…

Enjoying memories from seeing The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel at the cinema this week. It’s a delight! I found myself laughing, crying, singing along and wanting to get up and dance as I was watching it, and I’ve been smiling as I remember it ever since I left the cinema! Such a tender and beautiful film, such an amazing cast! I came out of the cinema feeling, more than anything, privileged to have been able to see them all together on screen. Loved it. 

Laughing at my daughter who comes out with the funniest things! Ones this week include, “Mama, I really want to be a mermaid” (with the cutest, most excruciatingly ‘I really wish I could’ face), to which I replied, “But, my darling, you’re a human…”. Her reply? “Yes, Mama, I know that, but it doesn’t stop me wanting to be a mermaid”. I can’t argue with that perfect 5-year old’s logic!

Considering my responses to these three simple questions (from Trent at The Simple Dollar). Such a powerful exercise.

Looking forward to seeing Benedict Cumberbatch and Jonny Lee Miller in Frankenstein at the National Theatre…it’s only at the cinema, unfortunately, but I can’t wait to see it! And on my birthday too! What a treat!! [I’m actively refusing to let my yearnings for London theatre shows dampen my joy]

And “that’s that”(as they say)…my week last week…

Here’s to a great and lovely week for everyone this week….!

Helen xxx

17 thoughts on “One + Four = Life (24th May)

  1. Liane says:

    A dream is only a dream without a plan!

    I learnt that from you and I have it written on a posit note 🙂

    Like

  2. blondeusk says:

    Have missed you Iwillbloom 🙂 good to see you back

    Like

  3. Barbara says:

    Love these One + Four = Life posts of yours! Thanks for sharing…I haven’t tried this one yet…maybe soon?!

    Like

  4. Carrie Ann says:

    So glad you’re back…these posts are so much fun. I’ve wanted to see that movie, it looked good. I’ll have to see if it’s on DVD yet. I think I’ll read that book Post Office, the summer reading program is about to begin at our library. Hope you have a wonderful week ahead (since the weekend is basically over at this point) 🙂 xx

    Like

  5. Rachel G says:

    I didn’t even know there was going to be a second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel movie. Apparently I’m out of the loop. Have to put that on the to-watch list…

    Like

  6. Isabel says:

    Your daughter sounds like a real sweety, Helen. You should tell her that mermaids want to be human (remember Ariel from the Little Mermaid wanting to walk on land?) so we all want what we can’t have! Wish they were showing the Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel in China, I would totally go see it. Hope you enjoy Frankenstein! x

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Isabel, hah, yes, that would have been a good response but I’m afraid I was in ‘rushed Mama’ mode when she asked…..trying to get them both out the door to school/nursery….the topic’s come up a few times afterwards and we have discussed being happy with what you are/have etc…….parenting is a roller coaster….(which reminds me, I haven’t seen Pip’s post about your letter….off to explore….), Helen xx

      Like

  7. Welcome back! I love that you are all painting, nothing better than being creative and yes chopping up mags is the best! I want to see the second Marigold film and now I want to read Post Office. Thanks for the recommendation. I fancy soaking some chia seeds now.

    Like

  8. Chai Pudding?! Delicious! I have enjoyed a jar of the lovely stuff every morning this week! Have you tried with coconut yoghurt? Happy weekend! 🎉

    Like

  9. Carrie Ann says:

    I have enjoyed reading your blog, and have nominated you for a Liebster award!! Find more info here if you choose to accept: https://anniehow.wordpress.com/2015/06/04/liebster-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

