FMF – Here

I’ve really missed my Five Minute Friday habit and have missed all my FMF ladies, too…

Can’t wait to hop around and see all of your responses to this week’s FMF prompt…..“Here”

[Congratulations, Kate, on your one year anniversary of hosting FMF!]

Here goes with mine (bad pun intended!)…five minutes of free thought word association around the word ‘Here’…

Welcome

START

Here I am. I’m here. Here in this physical place. Here in this moment. Here in this time and space. Here. Alive. Rejoicing at the beauty of life. The fullness of it all.

You know when you’re so sillily happy you can feel it in your chest? Like it’s about to burst out of you and spring forth to happy-fy everyone around you?

That’s how I feel today. That happy. And why? I don’t know. I honestly don’t know, but I’d like it to stay.

Please.

Life’s awful, downright horrible at times. Leading you down dark paths and round and round in spirals of negativity (Why, oh why, do our minds do this? Why?). But, you know, if you focus on the here, life’s pretty damn good.

I’m not where I’d like to be – in any sense of the concept – but I am here. I am alive. I’m healthy. I’m breathing. I can feel the wind on my cheeks and hear the birds singing outside and, you know, sometimes, sometimes, that’s enough.

I have this unrelenting desire to strip my life back to simple. Simple surroundings. Simple interactions. Simple tasks. Simple. It’d allow me to be more here than I am now. To appreciate the here, the now. Simple is calling me, calling me to clear my mind, to make space, for thinking, for reflection.

For big things that are coming. [I feel them coming, even if I can’t yet see their shape or feel their form].

We know what we need even before we realise it (our ‘deep’ me, she’s wise. Wise beyond words). These urges, these yearnings, in our bodies, in our chest, at the back of our minds, they speak volumes about how we should be handling our here, our now.

For what more do we ever have, really, than our here, our now? 

I listen, deep down listen, and I hear it. I hear the peace, the silence calling me, waves, waves of calming confidence, the sands (of remorse, of self-blame) slipping back, trickling, shimmying, dancing along in the waves, with the waves, being pushed out, out to sea.

“We don’t want you here” call the waves…my thoughts, my doubts, my fears, washed away, washed clean, brought back to me wholesome, fitting, full of hope (for hope is bigger than any fear). Big mountains become river stones with the passing of time. The shingle noise as I see bits of my fear-based thoughts gliding back to me, velvet soft the waves as they hand me back my thoughts, washed clean, returned, fresh, refreshed, sparking, ready to be used as fuel for onwards, upwards, to Better.

Here. Now. It’s all we have. All we can ever count on.

Savour. Delight. Turn down the complaints, the rancour, the negative.

Turn up the joy, the calm. Enjoy the sheer ‘here- and now-ness’ of it all.

Smile, dance, jump, jump around with joy (Let your joyful thoughts loose, even if it’s only in your head).

You’re alive, goddam it. You’re alive!

Let the sea enter, let it do its job and leave you refreshed.

Let it enter and wash you clean.

““If we could see the miracle of a single flower clearly, our whole life would change” – Buddha

END

26 thoughts on “FMF – Here

  1. Carrie Ann says:

    Your happiness just radiates from this post, and it’s contagious!! Thank you for this, I needed to hear this today!! 🙂 xx

    Like

  2. Being in the here and now is so much better than reliving yesterday or waiting around for tomorrow. I’m right there with you!
    Visiting from FMF!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Liz, thanks for taking the time to leave a comment on my post. In total agreement: yet it’s funny how few times we actually manage to live like this (even when we *know* it’s so beneficial in so many ways).

      Like

  3. Joy Lenton says:

    Wow, what a grand re-entry to blogging and FMF! Your words literally sing their way onto the page. How can you write so much so quickly?! I’m in awe.. of your sheer exuberant happiness and the deeper insights your time off is bringing you to. These words echo much that lies within my heart:”Simple is calling me, calling me to clear my mind, to make space, for thinking, for reflection.” as I’ve been slowly learning to rest more in God, listen better to my life and to Him most of all. And in doing so we discover the riches found by those who seek simplicity in life as they seek after God’s heart. Lovely post, my friend! Have a blessed weekend. 🙂 Xx

    Like

  4. blondeusk says:

    I have missed you 🙂

    Like

  5. Shauna841505 says:

    Glad to see you’re doing so well (from the sound of your writing!). 🙂 Happy Friday! 🙂

    Like

  6. denise says:

    write on.

    Like

  7. Love your attitude, LOVE the fact that you’re back.

    May I have the next dance? I even brought the music…

    Like

  8. Barbara says:

    YAY!! Wonderful!! Beautiful!! So good to read your heart again! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this post! And the silliness and the wonder of the “here and now”; the waves bringing back your thoughts, your ooubts and your fears, all washed clean!! How awesome is that?! I love to “hear” you so upbeat!

    Thank you for sharing your FMF…I have not done one in quite some time; it just comes on a Thursday evening when I am soooooo tired; and by Fri. morning I have forgotten to check what the word is…I am going to have to get back into it because I miss it too!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks Barbara….thank you so much! I’m having trouble leaving comments on blogger blogs (it keeps chucking me out)…..I *am* visiting, just can’t leave you comments 😦

      Like

  9. Gabriele says:

    So many of us at FMF wrote about the importance of the here and now. I did so enjoy your writing and the use of the sea as a literary device. I’m glad you are back.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Gabriele, thanks for your comment. I’m glad you’re glad I’m back (thank you!)…I am visiting your blog but I can’t leave comments for some reason (I can’t on any blogger blog)….will try to figure out what’s happening…

      Like

  10. Isabel says:

    So beautiful Helen, and so true. We are alive, here and now! How amazing is that?! I like that quote from the Dalai Lama: “There are only two days in the year that nothing can be done. One is called Yesterday and the other is called Tomorrow. Today is the right day to Love, Believe, Do and mostly Live.” Here’s to being in the here and now, today xxxx

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks Isabel…it *is* amazing and all the more amazing when we truly realise how amazing it is!! Love the quote: **thank you**!! [LOVING your photos recently…..!]

      Like

  11. So fun to have a true “Heleny” post back (yes I just made up that adjective and it’s just TRUE) and to feel the joy and energy through this post. Your words just almost visually create such beautiful images of the thoughts and ideas your sharing. Love that!
    Thanks for sharing it – and hope you have a wonderful week ahead. xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Yes, it was a ‘Helen-y’ post wasn’t it?! I have a bit more time on my hands from this week, as my biggest ‘little’ starts school on Wednesday and then my littlest starts ‘big school’ the week after, so I’ll have a bit more free time….hopefully meaning I can get back to a more regular blogging schedule!

      Like

  12. alexa says:

    Now there’s a hymn to joy! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

