FMF – learn

Very busy week….no blogging time…but I get all ‘antsy’ if I miss doing Five Minute Friday….this week’s word is  Learn….here goes…

Welcome

START

Life throws us lessons sometimes, usually ones we knew we needed but that we weren’t willing to take the time, ourselves, to learn. They’re usually the uncomfortable lessons, the ones that don’t sit pretty with where we are, who we think we are, what we think we’re doing and why we do the things we do.

They’re the lessons that shake us so strongly, to our very core, that we end up learning many, many things all at once.

Those lessons that turn our world upside down, inside out, make it seem like there’s nothing familiar we can hang on to, that there’s no clear path out or fixed point of arrival.

They’re scary. Fearsome. Frightening in their scope, their capacity for destruction.

But they’re also necessary. And, in the long run, positive.

These lessons that hit us hard, so hard we’re left spinning in their wake, they’re the ones we needed. The ones that mould us that little bit closer to who we really are, what we’re really supposed to be doing.

We should, instead of fearing such lessons, embrace the learning opportunities they offer us. We should give thanks for these hardest of hard lessons, for they put us one step closer on the path to the full realisation of our best selves.

It’s when we listen to what life is trying to teach us that we really learn. Humbled before these lessons, we learn what it is we really need to learn and we come out the other side, chipped, sanded, polished, shining bright, that little bit fresher, newer, closer to our true selves.

Stripped of the things – habits, behaviours, thoughts – that weighed us down, blocked our vision, we arise, ready.

Ready to answer our call.

END

Wanted to let my readers know about the online discussion group Kate (the host of Five Minute Friday) is hosting  – entitled On Being a Writer – it starts on 17th August and all details can be found here. It looks like it’s going to be a really interesting set of discussions and I know it’ll be of interest to some of you….

Also – just a quick note…I’m not currently able to leave comments on blogger blogs (have no idea why)…I am visiting your blogs (Barbara! Carrie! Julie! Sian! Gabriele!)…I just can’t leave comments…hope to identify/sort the problem soon!

23 thoughts on “FMF – learn

  1. Barbara says:

    We do go throught those periods of learning – the hard things do not come easy at all!! In fact, I think we are almost always learning something in some ways, large and small!

    Good to hear you are “busy”; but also GREAT to see you bloggin’! I actually was going to look for the word for FMF before going to bed last night; but ended up not remembering to look – it is FOOTBALL season here, at least pre-season; and I was watching a game with my husband…when it ended, I was more than ready for bed!

    Thanks for sharing your post on “LEARN”!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Barbara, yes: learning is constant. I just read this line on a FMF post, which I thought was so great: “Not having the arrogance of the learned, but the humbleness to learn more”…(it is from this post – http://artisticfinger.com/2015/08/14/learn/#comment-6258). So “lovely” that you watched the football together!

      Like

      • Barbara says:

        Yes, football – we have a team here in Jacksonville (NFL Football – Jacksonville Jaguars!). We also watch the talent shows like America’s Got Talent and So You Think You Can Dance that we are into now; others that are on later!

        Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    Sounds like a very interesting course, I’m tempted to buy the book 😮

    Like

  3. Thank you for these words. Our world is upside down right now (I wrote about it earlier this week) and I feel that I must be learning something, I just don’t know what it is yet! I will be participating in the book study, so I’ll be seeing you next week! {Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving your thoughtful comment about marketing.}

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Ooh, I’ll look forward to seeing you at the book study next week! I only read your FMF post but have left your blog open to savour tomorrow…I can tell it will become a favourite! Thank YOU for stopping by and commenting! Helen

      Liked by 1 person

  4. blondeusk says:

    Love learning lessons – I normally learn them the hard way 🙂

    Like

  5. AliceWilliam says:

    Well said! The lessons shape us to our true selves.

    Like

  6. Gabriele says:

    “The ones that don’t sit pretty with the way we think things are”. I hate those lessons. Enough said. You said it well.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Thanks Gabriele! [I can’t leave comments on your blog as blogger is doing something silly and won’t let me leave a comment via my WordPress blog…..someone is looking in to it for me, so hopefully I can start leaving comments again soon – I *am* visiting and reading and loving your posts!]

      Like

  7. Charlotte says:

    Beautiful writing as always Helen x

    Like

  8. Beth Anne says:

    Those life lessons love to throw us for a loop!

    For blogger blogs I think what I had to do was go to blogger.com and create a profile/username thing all linked with my gmail address and google+

    Like

  9. Joy Lenton says:

    Wise words here, Helen:”It’s when we listen to what life is trying to teach us that we really learn. Humbled before these lessons, we learn what it is we really need to learn and we come out the other side, chipped, sanded, polished, shining bright, that little bit fresher, newer, closer to our true selves.” Amen! No matter how painful they are, life’s hard lessons are the ones that teach us the most about ourselves and about God. Thank you for this insightful word. Blessings to you and yours. 🙂 x

    Like

  10. Beautiful words Helen. And yes you are HERE! Keep listening to the good. Keep learning and working to block out those self doubt noises. Let the waves be beautiful sounds of peace and calm – not the negativity crashing in.
    I hear ya Lady – and just so happy you’re still visiting. Hope you can sort out the problem soon. But in the meantime I’ll know your presence is among my blog. Lol
    Blessings to you my Dear! xo

    Like

  11. alexa says:

    Your positivity and courage just sing out! Yes, if we’re not learning, we’re stagnating …

    Like

Leave a Reply

