Three-day quote challenge: day one

In a delightful symphony of serendipity and coincidence (that only life could make up!), my friend Carrie emailed me earlier today to ask if I’d like to take part in the ‘Three Day Quote Challenge’: to post three separate quotes on my blog for three consecutive days. Of course, Carrie and thank you for nominating me! 

It was a delightful crash of coincidences (that made me chuckle) because a) I’d just been painting some quotes over the weekend (you know, as you do!) and had, in fact painted three of them, and b) one of the quotes I’d focused on is very apt for some thoughts I’ve been ruminating over recently about my writing life….

IMG_6589

I don’t know who said it but, like all good motivational quotes, it’s so true and gets stuck in your head, taunting you to move onwards, upwards, towards a better you. 

Ladies, remember: “If you have a head full of fears, there’s no room for dreams”…

Enough said…

And now down to the ‘business end’ of the deal….the rules:

• Thank the blogger, who nominated you (Thank you, Carrie!)

• Publish 3 quotes on 3 consecutive days in your blog [It can be your own, or from a book, movie or from anyone who inspires you]

• Nominate 3 more bloggers to carry on this endeavour…

…..my three nominees are…..

My Lady Liz…at Sandals and Sunnies

The Very Lovely Barbara at Barbara’s Blog…and….drum roll…

Kie at Wild Hearts & Green Tea

They’re all fellow quote lovers, so hoping they’ll join in and we can all ‘Ooh and Ah’ and sigh big soul-affirming sighs as we read something that just ‘aligns’ with us and, so doing, aligns us…

Helen xxx

26 thoughts on “Three-day quote challenge: day one

  1. It’s so goo to see you back, Helen!

    I’d be no good for a challenge like this…my favourite quote comes from no less a luminary than Keith Richards:

    “If you’re going to kick authority in the teeth, you may as well use both feet.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it Helen – and it’s so true!! 🙂
    Blessings xoxo

    Like

  3. Lizelle says:

    I Accept! Also I do admit that it is nice to see your name blooming in my bloglovin’ feed again 😀

    Like

  4. Shauna841505 says:

    Great quote!! So hard to sometimes remember but we must just make that first step towards our dreams right?!

    Like

  5. Carrie Ann says:

    🙂 I knew you would have great inspiration for this challenge…so glad you accepted (I know it is not much of a challenge for you, lol). I also love the delightful symphony of serendipity you saw in this. Love this quote and that you are painting them!! I look forward to the day I can start posting ones that I will be lettering myself.

    Like

  6. So fun! And what a great idea! Quotes are so fun. I save up all my “dreaming” for before I fall asleep so I don’t let the fears creep in. I dream about getting a puppy and having more windows and visiting Scotland. 😉

    Like

  7. blondeusk says:

    Love it – great quote!

    Like

  8. Rachel G says:

    Well that’s a pretty perfect coincidence. Beautiful job on the paintings. I’ve been delving into the world of inspirational quotes lately as part of a project to cheer up my little sister who just moved back to the USA and is starting college next week. Strangely, the quotes that align with me most are either the light/funny/sarcastic type (“never let schooling get in the way of your education”) or the really heart-wrenching type (“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard”). There doesn’t seem to be much in-between for me…at least my mood at this time…

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Rachel, oh my goodness, you must be so anxious for your little sister (whilst at the same time knowing she will be just fine once she’s found her rhythm!)…..(loved both quotes you mention, especially the second one! I’m not a big fan of traditional schooling, having seen how much it beats the creativity out of children)….

      Like

  9. Barbara says:

    Thanks for nominating me, Helen! As you know, I’ve been out of town – on a little vacation – and having a bit of trouble getting back into the writing (and especially, the reading!)…I will gladly select three others to nominate; and also post three quotes. Just give me a couple of days to decide whom I will nominate; and which of the many quotes I have saved on my computer that I want to share!

    Loved yours; and I also love that you are painting your quotes…

    Thanks again…I’ll be baaaaaccccckkkkk! Don’t remember who said that…

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh, Barbara, you were an obvious choice! Whenever you can: absolutely no rush whatsoever!

      Like

      • Barbara says:

        And…it’s already September 4th! I have a sheet of paper next to my computer – and it will eventually hold the three quotes! I already have an idea of the 3 ladies I’ll nominate!!

        Thanks again…so good to read your posts again!

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Barbara, I had to laugh…I didn’t know you could view stats in WordPress and as I stumbled upon it I found that someone had landed on my blog today typing the words ‘Great quotes of life for taunting friends’…..it made me laugh out loud!!!!!!!!! Can’t wait to see your quotes!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

