1+4 = Life: 13th September

Joining in with the ever-wonderful Isabel who has taken over from Pip to host the ‘1+4=Life’ link-up. The idea is to post four photos to describe one week (this week’s link-up is here). Here goes….

1+4IceCream

Nutella ice-cream. Yep, you heard that right….Nutella….ice-cream….need I say more?! (You weren’t expecting to see a full pot were you??!!)

1+4Sunflower

A  1.34m high sunflower, grown from a seed Falcao (our hamster) must have left in the plant pot when he escaped and burrowed down in to the soil!

1+4Scrapbook

Teaching my first ever scrapbooking class….I was very nervous but it went really well and I’m excited to do it again next Saturday. Lovely group of ladies, all eager to learn…I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

IMG_0517

Instagram…..my new love….(sorry Pinterest, I honestly don’t think it’s going to be a short torrid affair, I think it’s stolen my heart for good!)

It was also the week when I was….

Reading Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the end of the Lane….how have I never read any of his books before?

Listening to Radio 4 via the TuneIn Radio app…..oh my, I can listen to Woman’s Hour and The Archers every day….I think I must have died and gone to Heaven!

Enjoying the Humans of New York feed on Instagram….fantastic idea and so well executed. Love it.

Getting so much from the On Being a Writer discussion over at Kate Motaung’s blog. Can’t thank the organisers enough for helping me to organise my own thoughts about my writing.

Pondering this thought-provoking article about whether we’re taking too many photos….as the quite embarrassed owner of a selfie stick (which came free with a pack of Sharpies of all things), I’m thinking it might, actually, come in useful to enable me to get in the photo more often with my littles and I was pleasantly surprised to see this list of ’50 photos to take with your children’ when I did nip over to Pinterest this week (see, my old love, I haven’t forgotten you!)

Excited about the X-Factor UK 2014 final next weekend….don’t, please don’t, drop any hints about who might have won (yep, we are a whole year behind here)…I’m rooting for Ben…because he’s crazy talented and he reminds me of my brother [and I wish my brother would pluck up the courage to audition (singing bars in Sheff ain’t gonna cut it for much longer, babe: you’ve got to go for it…)]

…and that, my lovelies, was my week (in brief!)…

Here’s to a great week for everyone.

Post Signature

20 thoughts on “1+4 = Life: 13th September

  1. alexa says:

    The photo article was indeed thought-provoking, and I certainly think there is something in the view that we use cameras as an external memory hard drive but fail to interact and process in the moment. Delighted you can hear the Archers :). I’m on a catch-up day today with it. Oooh, tell us more about your scrapbooking class!

    Like

  2. iwillbloom says:

    Alexa, yes, I think it’s all part and parcel of us just moving through life unobservant, generally, failing to live mindfully. I do wonder where all of this is leading us, as a society. Oh absolutely, I’m also very very happy I’ll be able to listen to the Archers now! (And book at bedtime – yay!!)….I have to say that I also love the weekly repeat of the Archers (I used to always listen in on Sundays to the repeat – there’s something so calming about it, isn’t there?) The scrapbooking class…..I went over the basics with them and then helped them put a few LO’s together. It was great fun (I’d been very nervous beforehand, but it went fine!). Next week we’ll be doing some more advanced techniques (they’re interested in stamping) so I’ll show them some stamping techniques. It’s all very exciting for me, as its pushing me to do many things I’ve been wary of doing (meeting new people, putting myself ‘out there’ etc)…

    Like

  3. Julie K says:

    Good for you with the classes!! Another Archers listener here too – loving your recent new technology spurt … you’ll be needing a lie down to recover soon! [I will get round to Instagram as soon as I get a new phone!]

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia: yes, I was really proud of myself, actually (about the classes!)….I hadn’t realised just how lost/disconnected I had been without my iPhone….it just opens up such a world of possibilities….(Can’t wait until you’re IG-ing too!!!!)

      Like

  4. Your blog looks so lovely! And yay for instagram! Off to go find you, I have two instagrams, one is my personal one and one is more on self-care, body image. Just so you know, they’re both me! 🙂

    Like

  5. Carolyn says:

    Nutella ice cream! Won’t even raise that one here! We have had a Nutella shortage in Melbourne – supermarket shelves empty! – as there has been a craze for Nutella donuts! I’ve never done Pinterest – well, I’ve looked but then felt overwhelmed! – but IG is lovely. Enjoy your time over there! Well done on the scrapbooking class! I’m going to have to have a listen to the Woman’s Hour – I’ve just started listening to more podcasts during the day. Have a lovely week!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carolyn, oh yes, Nutella ice-cream…highly highly dangerous stuff! Nutella shortage? Oh my goodness….that’s not on! Definitely give Womans Hour a listen; it’s always entertaining and stimulates the old brain muscles…!

      Like

  6. Hannah Wood says:

    Congrats on your class Helen!! I totes want some of that nutella ice cream!! That sounds totes delish! I’ll look you up on Instagram!!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Hannah, thanks! It went really well, so that was a relief/pleasant surprise! [It *is* delicious! I’m trying to decide whether to see if I can make it at home, but think that will be just a little bit too dangerous, so I’m settling for Nutella muffins!

      Like

  7. Isabel says:

    Great post Helen! Love the empty pot of Nutella icecream. Oh my gosh, I’m glad they don’t have that in China otherwise I would put on about 100kg in a week. Resisting Nutella itself is hard enough! Instagram is great isn’t it, I’m glad you’re a convert, and that you also love the BBC Women’s Hour. My friend Liz and I were totally OBSESSED with UK X Factor when we lived in Bath…that was 10 years ago! So I can totally understand you not wanting to know who won. I love a good reality TV singing contest 🙂 x Isabel

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Isabel, it definitely feels like I’ve put on about 100kg…so am off for a run…NOW!!! Yes, IG is wonderful: my son has also totally fallen in love with it (he’s a budding filmographer). I am more than a little obsessed with X Factor …**I love it**….

      Like

  8. Nutella ice-cream – no wonder you have devoured every last ounce! Very naughty! Last years X Factor was ace – I’ll keep my mouth shut. I can’t get enough of Americas Next Top Model right now. I think we are a year late with that one. I was so delighted to see a boy win! I am also addicted to instagram! I’m off to try and find you!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      In my defence, we did *share* the tub 😉 Yes, I’ve really enjoyed the whole X Factor season….and I’m absolutely rooting for Ben…he’s such a sweetie, aside from his enormous talent. I haven’t ever really got in to ANTM but can see the appeal!!! (Writes she who spends far too many hours online swooning after anything fashion related!)….I see you found me on IG – LOVE your feed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aw Ben, he is such a sweetheart. The new series has just started here, we’re just passed the audition stage – such talented people out there waiting to be discovered. Yes Instagram, I do tend to photograph EVERYTHING! I do hope people won’t tire of my porridge pictures!! =)

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Isn’t he such a darling?! I’m seeing the videos for this new season popping up on YT but am resisting watching them….hah, I know…you do see lots of ‘daily life’ moments on IG but I think that’s the beauty (poetry?) of it – everyone’s own personal version of their ‘best moments’ or ‘beautiful things’…am *in love* with that idea!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Barbara says:

    So, you are teaching a scrapbooking class?! Well, if I were closer…and I love the looks of the projects! Are those mini albums?! I love creating different things! Also love your Instagram (I am not into that; but I AM into Pinterest). I don’t have a good enough phone for doing anything like that!

    I didn’t get into the On Being a Writer series; but I think I saved them to read later?!

    Finished several posts yesterday and today; Simple Woman’s Daybook and a couple of the Blog-tember posts; also the Tuesday @ Ten post from this week – a new one will be posted tomorrow!

    Always love to read what you are up to…and love that you have a selfie stick so you can take photos with your littles…would love to see that!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Barbara…yes, scrapbooking classes…I have an enormous amount of stash (from when I ran my business) and a lot of people had seen my albums and asked me about it, so I decided to start offering classes…really as a way of meeting more people and getting over some of my fears….it was really great, really enjoyable and they all had a great time, which was so *lovely*!! Hah, don’t worry: I am intending to scrap with you once we do manage to get to over for the ‘Disney trip’ 🙂 I will be checking your blog at the weekend: I have precious little time during the week and prefer to read everything calmly at the weekend….[Yes! the selfie stick! So funny! We were messing with it last night! I asked them what they thought we ought to take photos of and they said ‘Of you cooking’, ‘Of us dancing’…so quite a laughter-filled night ensued!!!!!]

      Like

  10. Hi Helen!
    I’ve been behind and slow to catch up, but here I am to say hello! 😉

    I LOVE the look of your blog. Great job – it’s so cool (& pretty).

    Nutella ice cream? Hello Lover! Holy yum!

    How awesome that you taught a scrapbooking class. Oh what fun we could have, were we in closer proximity and could scrap together. ::sigh::

    I’m so happy to see you on insta now too. I have such fun on there too. 🙂
    Blessings my Dear! xo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie! Yes, the blog looks much tidier doesn’t it? Not ideal yet, but getting there! (Thank you!)….oh yes, if we were closer, I’m sure we’d be over all the time, scrapping or baking or just chatting!!! (What a nice thought!)…Helen xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

