1 + 4 = Life: 20th September

Joining in with the ever-wonderful Isabel who has taken over from Pip to host the ‘1+4=Life’ link-up. The idea is to post four photos to describe one week (this week’s link-up is here). Here goes….

1+4-20thSept-1

It was the week we got a new hamster (nothing has happened to Falcao, don’t worry – my daughter decided she wanted a hamster too…). She’s called Luz and is too cute! [She’s been missing since Friday night, following a ‘cage-break’ but I’m hopeful she will appear when she’s hungry, the little rascal!]

Processed with Moldiv

It was also the week I fell completely head over heels in love with Instagram (I’m iwillbloom over there)…a whole world of amazing images at one’s fingertips? Yes please!

1+4-20thSept-3

It was also the week I decided I have to actively make time for myself to ensure that I’m feeling well and strong and able, so I can get on with things (such as my writing) that have been set on the back burner for too long. Cue lots of pampering, walks, resting during the day and general ‘stress-less’ living…

1+4-20thSept4

And, finally, it was the week of the first homework from Big School! There was much excitement as she literally ran off the bus, trying to grab inside her school bag to get the homework out – and finish it – as quickly as possible!

It was also the week I was:

So proud of my son as he was voted Captain of his House at school [Proud Mum Moment Number 3456278 and counting]

Loving the fact that Ben Haenow won the X Factor UK 2014…..I cried literally almost all the way through and can’t wait to hear his album when it comes out! (I’m absolutely sure he was only using about 60% of his capabilities throughout the competition)…Here’s a little taster of his voice, ladies….Don’t ever accuse me of not providing decent eye candy on this blog 🙂 ….

Lost in Instagram….enough said….loving so many accounts…like art.of.nature.photography and a couple of guys who are aiming to travel to every country…(living vicariously, me?!)…and how utterly amazing is it that you can follow the Dalai Lama as he goes about his travels…?? [I kind of feel a bit like a cross between a child in a sweetshop and how my Gran must have felt when she was completely flabbergasted realising it was possible to speak on a cordless phone!]

Excited by the fact that I’ve just won a big contract with a research institute here, to help them with their editing needs. [Please let’s click virtual champagne glasses! All pats on the back gracefully received!]

Watching Everest at the cinema with my son. My goodness. Do go and see it if you can. Incredible stuff and Southpaw at home on the settee [Jake Gyllenhaal obsessed, moi?!]

So happy watching this video:

If only everyone could walk around with this song playing in their heads every morning, the world would be a much more wonderful place.

Right, I’ll “love you and leave you” (as my Gran always used to say)…there’s some fishing rods waiting to be used and a river to explore!

Have a great week everyone!

Helen xxx

24 thoughts on “1 + 4 = Life: 20th September

  1. Britney says:

    Those cheetah shoes are amazing!!! You’re a gal after my own heart!

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing these snapshots of your life – you write with such warmth and humour.

    And congratulations on the contract!

    Like

  3. blondeusk says:

    Love your posts! Ben is so fit!

    Like

  4. Carolyn says:

    *pop* champagne glasses are clinking! Well done! I like the idea of taking time out to nurture yourself and that sunshine looks perfect for reinvigorating you! So funny about homework excitement – I remember my girl being so excited to receive her first lot of homework – has sort of lost its appeal now that we have only just over a year left at school! Love the flash mob – brought a tear to my eye. I always feel quite envious of my kids who have both been in school orchestras and been part of creating huge sound. My duaghter plays flute so she gets the lovely delicate parts and my son was percussionist. Still miss seeing him on the timpani now that school days are done for him. Enjoy your week x

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh you, I feel for you…I appear to have blinked and my baby is somehow *9*….I’m scared of blinking again in case I turn round and he’s tootled off to University 😦 Thanks for the ‘clink’ 😉 Yep, you have a great week too (am def. hoping for a ‘jumbles’ recipe unless, of course, it’s a family secret!)

      Like

      • Carolyn says:

        Recipe is in my comments in my one + four post for you, Helen! Recipes are to be shared! Enjoy every moment with your lovely littlies! But they still love you when they’re big – he came out of his room this morning and said ‘Mum, a hug? We don’t have them as much anymore! Melts your heart!

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Hia Carolyn, ooh yummie! I shall pop over a little later tonight and take a look for the recipe (just checking my blog comments while the rice/chicken is cooking…..multi-tasker extraordinaire!)….oh, you melt my heart with that sweetness…..(and what a great way to ask you, so so so sweet!!!)….Helen xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Gill says:

    So glad to have found your blog, I’m definitely adding it to my feed reader. Loving the shoes and isn’t Ben just gorgeous! I was so glad he won, he was my favourite for weeks. Congrats on the contract 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Gill….yes, so glad we found each other! Oh yes, Ben was definitely my favourite, too….I can’t stop singing his ‘Thinking out Loud’ (which I feel was actually better than Ed Sheeran’s!)….thanks for the congrats (I was rather chuffed with myself!)….Helen xx

      Like

  6. Julie Kirk says:

    Big congratulations on the contract! I’m sure whatever it was you did to win it is just what you’ll need to get your other writing where you want it. You’re almost there! [Love the shoes!!]

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia….hah! Persistence, I think, and a big dollop of ‘right place right time’, definitely 🙂 [Thought you’d like the shoes; they’re FAB!!]…and thanks for the vote of confidence…H xxx

      Like

  7. Hello my Dear Helen!
    Oh that hamster is beyond cute!! And I’m loving getting our time together on instagram. So fun!
    I’m also happy to hear you’re taking better care of yourself, and time for yourself. So important my Friend!
    Sorry I keep being behind and will just catch up when I’m able…and in the mean time catch ya on IG. 😉
    Blessings. xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie, wonderful lovely Carrie! Yeah, the hamster is so cute (she appeared last night looking decidedly thin and ate her way through a whole pot of sunflower seeds, poor thing!)..yes, I agree: it is very very important to take care of ourselves, as Mamas, as carers…if we become exhausted, everything is so much worse for everyone 😦 [No trouble about catching up…when you can and I am definitely enjoying being able to ‘wave’ via IG!!!]…Helen xxx

      Like

  8. Sian says:

    There’s a lot of really great stuff in there! Many congrats all round..I hope there are lots more good things right round the corner.

    I’m carrying a blue bag almost identical to that one at the minute 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Oh Sian, yes, I’ve put in an order of ‘keep the good things coming’ so we shall see what happens on that front 🙂 Why am I totally unsurprised you have a similar bag??!!!

      Like

  9. First thing I did was find and follow you on Insta! Yay. Good for you for taking time dedicated to yourself, love your shoes too. Oh my cute little hamster, hope he is back in his cage by now.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Clare, yes, I saw you on IG before I had a chance to get here! Yay! We can connect better via IG! Hah, the shoes! My funky shoes! They’re *so* cool and very very comfy (like actually comfy not ‘willing to sacrifice my feet just to wear them because they’re cute’ sort of comfy!)….yes, the hamster gave himself up last night, appearing from the back of the settee hungry and thin 😦 And then proceeded to eat a whole pot of sunflower seeds….eat not stuff in cheeks…the poor thing must have been very hungry….[Will head over to your blog later tonight; I’m just replying to comments here while the rice cooks….]…Helen xx

      Like

  10. Rachel G says:

    I’m so happy for you about the new work contract, that’s great news!
    Angel and I plan to see Everest–I arranged my tutoring schedule so that I’m free on Wednesday afternoons, since that’s the day that ticket prices at the movie theater are discounted. Next Wednesday it is!
    Glad she was excited about homework…hopefully that kind of excitement will remain in years to come, to some extent anyway. 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Rachel, yes, it *is* good news and I’m very pleased with myself 🙂 Hah! We always try to go to the cinema on the ‘cheap’ day too: so little point not taking advantage of the deep discount! I’m sure you’ll love it….and, yes, let’s hope she will continue to be excited by the prospect of doing homework…..! Helen xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

