1+4 = Life: 27th September

Joining in with the ever-wonderful Isabel who has taken over from Pip to host the ‘1+4=Life’ link-up. The idea is to post four photos to describe one week (this week’s link-up is here). Here goes….

Processed with Moldiv

It was a week of illness (for me): a horrible virus that sent me to my bed from Monday evening onwards. I’m still feeling decidedly iffy but am able to move around now so I’m happier

So, not many photos, unfortunately….just a few I snapped on a walk I took on Monday and a brief excursion to the local shops yesterday (as food supplies had whittled themselves down to ‘unsettling’ levels!)…apologies to those of you who might already have seen them on Instagram….

1+4-3

A beautiful patch of bamboo lit up by the morning sun. A welcome ‘Oh how wonderful’ moment in an up-to-that-point very drab day.

1+4-2

A pair of orchid flowers. The orchid had eighteen – yes, eighteen! – buds. Can’t wait to see it when all of them come in to flower! [Hoping no-one steals it before that happens: unfortunately people see stealing orchids as a way of life here]

1+4-4

A beautiful red flower. Species unknown (to me). Must find out what it is. The tree (little more than shrub height) was full of them. Amazing!

1+4-1

And one of those sunsets when you think ‘Ah, everything just might be well with the world’…..

I’m not feeling well enough to sit and write my usual list of ‘The week when I’ve been….’ items, but wanted to let my readers know about the challenge that my friend Julie has set for herself…to leave 300 comments on blogs in 30 days.

Love the sentiment behind it (“Let’s show our appreciation of the bloggers we read and enjoy!”), love her post about it and have really loved visiting the blogs she’s been posting on her Pinterest board. Can’t wait to join in myself from October (although, as many of you know, my comments might be posted in bulk over the weekends, due to time limitations during the week!)

Wishing you all a lovely week,

Helen xxx

P.S. Don’t forget to look out for tonight’s super moon eclipse….find the time it’ll be viewable for you here…! My son is wishing away his day so he’ll get to see it quicker and I’m praying for clear skies….

P.P.S. This quote just alighted in my Inbox (courtesy of Paul Jarvis) and I thought you might like to hear it too…

Begin taking action now, while being neurotic or imperfect, or a procrastinator, or unhealthy, or lazy, or any other label by which you inaccurately describe yourself. Go ahead and be the best imperfect person you can be and get started on those things you want to accomplish before you die” – Shoma Mortia.

[An anthem for all of us stalled creatives]

20 thoughts on “1+4 = Life: 27th September

  1. juliekirk says:

    Hope you’re feeling much better now. It was the Hamlet clip that really started you on the road to recovery wasn’t it?

    Thanks for the promotion! I’ve been doing lots of thinking throughout the commenting process – and reading the comments left for me has opened up a world of new thoughts – and I’m keeping a ‘things I’ve learned’ log along the way. I’m glad you’re enjoying some of the blogs I’m finding.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      You know, I *did* start feeling slightly better after seeing that clip!! So glad to hear it’s opening your eyes to a lot of things….one of my favourite places to blog hop is Five Minute Friday. There’s always but always something (several things/posts) that challenge me and force me to think differently. I absolutely love it (it’s one of the highlights of my week)….H xxx

      Like

  2. Carrie Ann says:

    Hope feeling better soon!! I had to smile at the orchid picture, it’s beautiful, that was the word for the Blogbattle this week, and I was doing all kinds of research on orchids, so it had definitely been on my mind.

    Hope to see the super moon eclipse too, I almost forgot about it, thanks for the reminder!! Hope you have a wonderful week ahead!! xx

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! Hah, what a coincidence…I *will* hop over to read your BlogBattle story..I love them all so much….! Oh yes, don’t forget about the eclipse: my son is bursting with excitement and, when you stop to think about it, it *is* a fairly monumental occurrence! Helen xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. alexa says:

    Hoping that you are feeling a LOT better by now, Helen … You’ve done well to take those photos when feeling under par.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Alexa, feeling maybe 75% well, which is a marked improvement, thankfully. This last week has been *hard*….{thanks for your lovely compliment about my photos; I feel so much more ‘me’ now I have my phone again, to be able to actually snap pics when I see them, rather than just ‘imagining’ the shots in my mind as I walk around!}….thinking of you…Helen xxx

      Like

  4. Barbara says:

    Sure hope you are feeling better…I’ve been away ALL DAY and am very tired…love your photos, and that you still seem to have something beautiful to see/photograph/write about even though you are feeling bad…

    Take care and thanks for sharing yur 1 + 4 today!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Barbara, so sorry to hear you’re tired….turn off the computer and do go and rest! Thank you: thanks to my friend Julie I definitely got excited about writing about her ‘300 in 30’ challenge, as I think it’s *such* an important discussion for us bloggers! Thank *you* for commenting, my lovely…Helen xxx

      Like

  5. Carolyn says:

    Hope the nasty bug is out of your system now. Lovely photos. The red flower looks a bit like a rhododendron – perhaps it is related? I love the sunset photo. Gorgeous sun flare! I’m intrigued by the mention of the Hamlet clip. Will have to pop over to see it. We went to see a production thus year – my daughter is doing it for school – and it was excellent!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carolyn, I’d say I’m about maybe 75% better….thank goodness…..yes, actually, it is quite like a rhododendron but the leaves aren’t at all like one, so I’m still in the dark. The Hamlet clip is this one (Benedict Cumberbatch at the National Theatre in London): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SxraXR_tfSA&feature=youtu.be – it’s a toss up, for me, between Hamlet and Henry V as to which is my favourite Shakespeare play…..wow, how cool that your daughter is getting to be part of a Shakespeare production at school: I’d have loved to have done that when I was at school! (Is that what the costume was for? No….it doesn’t seem to have been the right period (from memory))….Helen xx

      Like

  6. Isabel says:

    Hi Helen! How sweet that your son was wishing away his day so he could see the lunar eclipse. My brothers and I used to do that at Christmas! We would actually run round and round the back garden of my Grandparent’s place, to ‘tire ourselves out’ so we would go to sleep early which would mean Christmas morning would come faster (or so our small brains thought). Funny! That orchid is STUNNING. Gosh I love orchids. I hope no one steals them! xx thanks for joining in with One + Four = Life despite feeling ill, you’re a trooper

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Isabel, love the idea of you running around to tire yourselves out! Yes, the orchid is amazing, so so beautiful! Am feeling slightly better this morning so am off for a walk to see if all the buds are flowering….how could I NOT join in with 1+4? I love it! Helen xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You certainly get some lovely flowers where you live! We were all very excited about the superman/bloodmoon/eclipse especially as it was all going to be happening at a reasonable time so the boys could see it too. Well, I am sure it was fabulous, but we had so much cloud cover, no moon was see at all. Only about 15 years to wait for the next one!!
    300 comments in 30 days is a great idea, I am the worst commenter on blogs, and I am not proud of it, I should join in!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Clare, only just had a chance to reply….yes, there are lots of lovely flowers (and lots of green!)…we couldn’t see the moon either. My son was very upset, especially as he’d heard somewhere there won’t be another one to see until he’s 27 (?)….oh definitely join in Julie’s challenge….here’s to a GREAT ‘rest of the week’. Helen xx

      Like

  8. Ha, ha ha, I wrote superman, I meant superman!! I am not sure I can blame auto correct either…..Doh

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah!! You made me laugh! The autocorrect I *really* don’t like is the one on my phone….it’s so so annoying…even worse because I write in English and Spanish on my phone and so I think it gets very confused about what I’m actually wanting to say in either language!!!!

      Like

  9. Gill says:

    Hope you are feeling much better! That orchid is absolutely gorgeous. So sad that you didn’t get to see the eclipse, we saw it and it was beautiful, although quite a lot smaller than I had imagined it would be, considering it was a super-moon.

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Gill, oh yes, much better, thanks! Thank goodness! The orchid is beautiful: it’s raining, unfortunately (very hard) so I haven’t been able to go and see if it’s all in flower, now…tomorrow, hopefully. So glad you got to see the super moon! Helen

      Like

Leave a Reply

