1+4 = Life – 4th October

Joining in with the ever-wonderful Isabel who has taken over from Pip to host the ‘1+4=Life’ link-up. The idea is to post four photos to describe one week (this week’s link-up is here). Here goes….

1+4=4Oct1

I looked down to find a beautiful fluffy white feather at my feet!

1+4=4Oct2

We spent a lovely few hours by the river just near our house. The littles were very happy to catch some (tiny!) fish and tadpoles and I was very happy just watching them be happy! Wins all round!

1+4=4Oct3

We found a banana plantation less than two minutes walk away from our home. Who knew?!

1+4=4Oct4

Amazing what a five year old can do with some toilet roll insides, paint and scraps! [She spent an entire afternoon making a farm/zoo…so amazing to watch her create!]

And it was the week when I was….

– Bowled over by this BBC report about the people who make last wishes come true.

– Excited to hear about this conference that will be live-streamed: involving Brene Brown, Elizabeth Gilbert and others….

And I’ll leave it at that for now. It’s half term week here and we’re heading off to the zoo.

[I may take a little longer than usual to reply to comments/check out your blog posts this week (depending if I fall asleep when reading goodnight stories to the littles!)…].

Have an absolutely fantastic – great – week everyone!

Helen xxx

29 thoughts on “1+4 = Life – 4th October

  1. Carolyn says:

    This looks like a week of simple pleasures, Helen! The beauty of nature and wonderful creativity. Can`t ask for much more! Enjoy the half term break x

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Carolyn, yes, it was a week of simple enjoyable pleasures….! Definitely can’t ask for more, as you say: nature and creativity….a life-giving, life-enhancing, fulfilling pair! The littles have great plans/hopes for half term!!! Helen xxx

      Like

  2. Lizelle says:

    Today three out of four of theses pictures looks like they could have been taken on my home island, that freaked me out a little and lit my eyes up at the same time lol Love that!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hah! I thought that might be the case 🙂 Can’t wait until I can IG from your island! [It’s not so expensive, you know, to fly across to you….just saying 😉 ] …have a GREAT Sunday, Lady…Helen xxx

      Like

  3. Carrie Ann says:

    Love the first pic….the shoes!! So fabulous. Your daughter is very creative, so fun to create with things we normally throw away. Have a wonderful week!! xx

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia! The littles were on half term last week so this is the first time I’ve been on my laptop for 10 days….thanks! Yes, the shoes are fab, aren’t they?! I feel very foxy every time I wear them!! Hope you’re well (I will reply to your email shortly: I feel I need a month to catch up on everything after this 10 day break….)….Helen xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Barbara says:

    Don’t you just love those tiny treasures that you find right at your feet? In fact, they can be found right in front of your face, can’t they? Those special surprises or gifts that He leaves for us to find…and those special surprises or gifts our own “littles” leave for us! Such a precious creative gift!

    Enjoy those half term activities!!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Barbara, thanks so much….yes, the tiny treasures are the good ones aren’t they? We *did* have a fab half term, thank you…so much fun! And so necessary!

      Like

  5. Sian says:

    Have a great half term! I know how much you love a visit to the zoo

    Like

  6. alexa says:

    What wonderful shoes! Way to go … great tone to set for the week. And yes, the Dutch charity is wonderful, isn’t it? Good to learn about all the great things we can create, when so much of the news is of destruction and harm. And thank-you for that link – I’ve signed up :).

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Alexa, hello! Thinking of you…..yes, the work that charity (and the individuals involved) does is wonderful, simply wonderful. Indeed: it’s so good to hear about the good we can create…..(I’ve stopped reading the news, I just can’t anymore….)…..so great that you signed up for the conference….Liz Gilbert seems to be on quite a roll at the moment! Helen xxx

      Like

  7. Sounds like a lovely week, what a lovely picture of childhood: messing about in water, catching fish, making things with loo rolls … pretty great really. [Normal and lovely and what memories are made of]. x

    Like

  8. Gill says:

    That first pic is particularly awesome… the shoes… the feather (I love finding feathers!) You’re so lucky to have the river nearby, it must make for wonderful walks! I’m going to check out the link to the conference, Brene Brown and Elizabeth Gilbert have seen me through some tough times 🙂

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hi Gill, yes…it *is* so great to have a river nearby….I’m actually just waiting to go for a walk…it’s chucking it down, thankfully, but I do want to go for a walk so I’m giving it half an hour: if it’s not stopped, I’m going to brave it anyway….(tropical rain is not to be misjudged, I find!)…hope you did sign up for the conference, it looks to be a good one…Helen xxx

      Like

  9. Isabel says:

    Hey Helen! That river looks beautiful, and I love your leopard print shoes. Tres chic. Hope you had fun at the zoo! See you for One + Four next week x Isabel

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Isabel….the littles have been on half term so I haven’t been at my laptop for 10 days….I missed the link-up….sorry! Will be back for sure this Sunday…..we *did* have fun at the zoo….the lion was roaring, the flamingos were particularly pink and the jaguar slinked across to say hello….all in order!!! Helen xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Isabel says:

        No need to apologise Helen! This is a fun activity and not meant to make anyone feel guilty or anxious 🙂 Join in if and when you can x

        Like

      • iwillbloom says:

        Hia Isabel, I did manage to join in this week (missed it so much last week!)…..enjoy your hols!!!!! Helen xx

        Like

  10. I hope your trip to the zoo was fab and reading goodnight stories is the best thing in the world! I am reading Harry Potter to my 10 year old and I will be so sad when he doesn’t want to be read to anymore.
    There are lots of fluffy feathers around here at the minute too. The picture of the river looks like it is from a fantasy film! I wonder if they do ‘pick your own bananas’?!

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Clare, only just back to the laptop after a 10-day break for half term….oh yes, reading bedtime stories is *the best*!!! My son is 9 (I didn’t realise mine and yours were so similar in age!)…and he still sneaks in to my bed sometimes, after I’ve tucked them both in theirs, asking me to read him a Chapter of the book he’s reading….it’s **too cute**!!! [Not when he wants to talk for an hour afterwards, mind….!]….yes, the river does kind of have that feel….I always think Indiana Jones will come rushing down the river (if only – hah!)! Funnily enough, my son asked the same question about the bananas but, no, alas, the security guard who they belong to has a firm eye set on them at all times for his family! [He did bring us a couple yesterday, however: they were delicious fried with butter and cinnamon!]…

      Like

  11. Ifeoma Samuel says:

    Lovely Photos, friend
    Sweet Blessings to you

    Like

  12. Love those shoes Helen! And I love seeing the beautiful place where you live. Been absolutely loving following you on IG to see more of it!
    Gotta love when our kiddos get their wonderful imaginations flowing. I think your Little Gal and my Annie would get along beautifully! Lol 😉
    Blessings to you my Dear. xoxo

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Carrie! Haven’t been able to reply/head to your blog as the littles have been on half term….thank Heavens for IG!! Yes, it *is* pretty amazing to watch their imagination in full flow….oh now, wouldn’t that be lovely? My little one and Annie having a crafting afternoon and their Mums scrapping right alongside them?!!! Helen xx

      Like

  13. Rachel G says:

    Love the tp roll critter! My two 4-year-olds, the craft they ask for the most lately is for me to give them cereal boxes and scissors and just let them have at it. {I’ve done this several times in the past, mostly when I need to keep them occupied for a little while without too-close supervision}. Now it’s their favorite, but I haven’t been eating enough cereal lately to meet their demands. 😛

    Like

    • iwillbloom says:

      Hia Rachel…they’re *great* aren’t they?! My littlest really doesn’t like using scissors but projects like these help her face her dislike (sneaky Mama!)….you should print some scissor exercise sheets from the internet….or get them to cut sheets of printer paper to see who can make the longest thread…..(that one used to keep my son entertained for hours! and it’s quite a cool exercise in terms of abstract thinking skills!)….Helen xxx

      Like

  14. blondeusk says:

    Love your shoes 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

